I have turned against Musharraf

It has never been so bad for Pakistan. We have had dictators before. But none of them, even Zia ul-Haq, the man responsible for much of the woes of Pakistan including the Taleban and jihadism, had not made criticizing him a capital offense. Musharraf has done that. How can criticizing an individual and his policies be treason? We have heard of this only in communist dictatorships. Now we hear it from a man, marketed by the leading democracies of the world as the savior to bring us pure democracy.

Four men — three politicians and a labor leader — are now in jail, charged with treason. Treason is not criticizing dictatorship. It is destroying the constitutional institutions of a nation and using a position of trust — that of the chief of the forces given the job of defending the nation’s sovereignty at an annual cost of billions of taxpayers’ money — to enslave the same taxpayers and seal their mouths shut.

If there is to be a trial for treason, we Pakistanis know who should be in the dock.

Re: I have turned against Musharraf

mushy zindabad :jhanda:

bhaio aur pyari raaj dulari behno…don’t fight…kiss and make up [me watching]… :stuck_out_tongue: :halo: :AID:

PBH - where is the halwa? :hoonh: :emmy: :asa:

I have some brownies

wht r brownies? i call desis brownies :halo:

Good you have seen through the antics of the dictator. It is pathetic that you can attack the state of Pakistan and get away with it but not our beloved dictator. He is above the law and is supreme, we must bow before him.

Im afraid that mushy has much damaged the institution of army during his dictatorial tenure. In my knowledge never our army was much hated by the people of pakistan or as much vulnerable to attacks ever before in our history than it is today. Its a shame.

Its never too late.

Pakistani activists face death over treason charges

Philippe Naughton, and agencies in Islamabad

Three Pakistani politicians and a union leader were charged with treason today for making anti-government speeches in the southern port city of Karachi, a court official said.

The men were the first to be reported charged with treason, which carries a maximum sentence of death, since President Musharraf declared a state of emergency and suspended Pakistan’s constitution at the weekend. Eight lawyers were also being sought in Karachi for allegedly distributing anti-Musharraf leaflets.

The four in custody – three from small left-wing political parties and a union leader – were arrested Monday after making speeches against General Musharraf at the Karachi Press Club during a meeting of civil society groups about how best to protest the emergency.

They were interrogated by police before being brought to court and formally charged today, said a court official, who did not want to be named.
Related Links

Two of the men belonged to the National Party, whose spokesman, Jan Buledi, confirmed the treason charges.

Meanwhile, General Musharraf’s attorney-general said that the Government would hold elections in February and lift the state of emergency within one or two months.

The statement came after President Bush telephoned General Musharraf for the first time since Saturday’s declaration of emergency rule to urge him to keep to January’s original election timetable and quit as army chief.

“Elections will be held in February, it has been decided,” Malik Mohammad Qayyum, the attorney-general, told AFP. “The emergency will be lifted in one or two months."

The military ruler is also under pressure from the former prime minister Benazir Bhutto, who has pledged to rally supporters in Rawalpindi tomorrow and stage a “long march” next week if he does not restore the constitution and hold polls.

Officials had given warning that the vote, seen as the key step in nuclear-armed Pakistan’s transition to civilian democracy, could be delayed by up to a year, although the government said it wanted them held as soon as possible.

General Musharraf imposed the state of emergency because what he said was growing Islamic militancy and an interfering judiciary. He suspended the constitution, sacked the chief justice and clamped curbs on the media.

Meanwhile police cautioned that suicide bombers had infiltrated Rawalpindi, a garrison town near Islamabad that has been hit by several recent blasts, ahead of Ms Bhutto’s protest. “We have very specific intelligence reports that up to eight suicide bombers have entered Rawalpindi,” said the city’s police chief, Saud Aziz. “Naturally they will target big public meetings like what you have seen in Karachi.”

Twin suicide bombings killed 139 people in Karachi on October 18 at Ms Bhutto’s homecoming parade after eight years in self-imposed exile. Mr Aziz said police would prevent Bhutto staging the rally, and her Pakistan People’s Party said that around 400 of its activists had been picked up overnight across Punjab province, Pakistan’s political heartland.

“Police have launched a crackdown against our party workers at village, town and city level,” it Punjab provincial secretary general, Ghulam Abbas, told AFP.

Police confirmed up to 50 arrests, but a government official denied that any crackdown had been ordered against the party.

[

As if that makes any difference](“http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=269169”)

No, it does matters. If supporters like him are against him now it shows no one is supporting his stupid actions.

Zia is the same best, who actually made Taliban and Co to raise out of no where. ISI and CIA gave their blessings. Dollars flying into the country and Economy boost was imaginary. I see a reincarnation of Zia in this man and we all It's end.

Good to see educated and intelligent people like you finally getting off the Mush bandwagon.

And lol what great scenes we have been witnessing over the last few days....baton-wielding jaahil police jokers laathi charging educated lawyers who were all demonstrating peacefully. This is Mush's great and wonderful idea of enforcing law and order by law enforcement agencies!......andhon ka qaanoon hai iss mulk mein.

No wonder Bush thinks we muslims are an 'uncivilised' lot.

welcome to the club.

You sure have your right to choose what you want and what you support. That is call democracy :). Aap ko aap kee ‘new choice’ mumarak hou and I hope that you stay happy in your new choice. :slight_smile:

As for what you wrote I also heard that on GEO, but I have heard many funny things on GEO and read many funny things in Pakistani Newspaper, even after Emergency, that I found nothing but blatant lies. If you want to, I have article published in not from obscure news media like ‘Times on line’ full of fabricated propagandas, but from so-called eminent newspaper ‘DAWN’ where the article is published with full of obvious lies, on 7th Nov 2007, much after emergency.

As for charges of treason just because someone criticized President, it is really funny that of all known people openly criticizing Musharraf and present government, government would crack down on some unknown entities of some unknown political parties. How much truth or fiction is there in this news is obvious that the paper quoted the incidence did not even bother to quote their name. And which party they belong to? According to newspaper, party is National party and whose spokesman is Jan Buledi.

Not surprisingly that many Pakistan known print media did not heard of this important news, as if there was truth in it, most print media had covered it.

If unknown entities get charged of treason in Pakistan, it is great thing as they could become political hero. Only big political entities are normally charged on treason. In Pakistan, to get charged of treason, one have to be something big, not lalu, panju dagga, and ullu. Most big boys in politics, that include names like Shaikh Rashid, Javed Hashmi, and many others have served Jail sentence on charges of treason, and even BB, NS and almost all top leaders are charged or labelled with treason in Pakistan.
Just for curiosity, can you please let me know the names of these new elites that got charged of treason?

I am sure that you must be thinking that National party is probably the one of the known opposition party and their spokesman Jan Buledi is Pakistani famous politician :). But then how sad, it is my ignorance that I have not heard of the party or their spokesman ever :blush:.

Bhai, do you think that government of Pakistan has so much time to go for unknown entities and charge them of treason when so many known entities are running around and impact of charging them of treason could be felt? As for unknown entities if they are really true entities, the one mentioned in ‘News on line’, are to be punished for some unknown reason, Pakistan government punish them without any charges. :smiley:

Anyhow, let wait and see, please keep all of us abreast with the news, about what happens to these 4 eminent bodies of ‘National Party’ charged with treason, as obviously I do not expect their news and the result of their treason charges to come in any known media, but maybe your source would know. :smiley:

I am waiting for the day when any person in Pakistan would get death penalty on treason charges, as what I know this is the most politicised charge in Pakistan and only reserved for big political personalities. As for unknown entities, government do not bother about them and let them bark whatever they like. :smiley:

FYI, 3 of them are Baloch nationalists, the other a communist leader.

I still support Gen.Musharraf ..because he is atleast sincere to Pakistan. If people think he is power hungry....
my question is Who isnt? ......All these leaders like BB ,NS and other Chunu Munu.....what are they after......???

One bad decision cant over shadows his good work and loyalty for the welfare of Pakistan.

sincere and power hungry are contradictory emotions, brother.

2 Likes

Not really.....
Others are power hungry cuz they wanna fill up their bank accounts just the way they did it in the past.....in his case.....he likes powers for a good cause....which is Pakistan......

I think he's power hungry because he wants to fill up his bank accounts and others are power hungry because they want to serve pakistan. Proved.

Dolat or paisa aysa nasha hai jo kabhi nahin uttarta
Previous leaders......filled up their banks accounts and now they want more n more......
he likes power cuz hez been in comanding power on a lower level but now its on world level so he just got the feel of it and he likes it.
the difference between him and others is they are not sincere to our land but he is.So there goes my vote for him just being sincere to our land.