“I got married because my parents need someone to look after them.” Do people still say this? ![]()
Why did YOU marry?
Love, security or something else..
“I got married because my parents need someone to look after them.” Do people still say this? ![]()
Why did YOU marry?
Love, security or something else..
Re: "I got married because..
I got married because I couldn't live without her. Still can't. That simple.
to get laid. quite a high price to pay for that ..i know :/
because I wanted a wife to fix my closet and my bed. It was a chore for me.
Because I was missing my other half and needed him to complete me - he says the same about me too ![]()
Because it was the only way I knew to get my Mothers family off my back; or at least that's how it seemed. Reality was they are evil and still won't let me live in peace.
Heard it so many times I feel like saying “bro go marry a maid!”. How’s about sons and daughters look after their OWN parents rather than relying on DILs/SILs to do it? Oh the shocking concept. I bet that would go down like a led balloon!
Coz I needed someone to buy me all the designer lawn suits and it worked ![]()
Well, I finally pushed for the wedding b/c I wanted his parents to stop trying to break us up! Life has been a lot less stressful since the wedding day.
But we both agree that getting married legally was a horrible financial decision. :hinna:
Heard it so many times I feel like saying "bro go marry a maid!". How's about sons and daughters look after their OWN parents rather than relying on DILs/SILs to do it? Oh the shocking concept. I bet that would go down like a led balloon!
lol so true.. I remember seeing some shaadi.com show, where many prospective candidates gets asked what they want from their soon to be bride.. "Hum chahtey hain, woh humaray waladeen ke khayal rakhay.." etc.. What do they expect? This will attract girls to them? What they really are looking for is a maid!
If you see it happening in your family and find it the norm then it's not a problem if everyone is aware of the situ so the fact the bloke is being quite open about it is IMHO a good thing.
In my paternal family the daughters and sons look after their parents (my Dada/Dadi). When it comes to Hospital appointments my Chacha can't get to because of work etc my oldest Aunts son takes them as his work is flexi. We all pitch in; and don't rely on my Chachi's etc-so I am of that thought. I will be helping my Mother InshAllah when time comes-I don't expect others to care for my parent.
Isn't it a good thing that they're being honest? After all, it would be horrible for the girl if the guy's family hid this and told her AFTER the nikah that this is what they expect out of their bahu.
As Paheli mentioned, isn't it better that they were honest? Also, if the girls who heard this comment from the guys were uncompromisingly averse to the idea.....how many of them do you think told the guys how they truly felt about it? And if those guys would be living with their parents, it's understandable for them to be concerned. And the quoted comment can mean different things to different people...it could even mean something as simple as being courteous, providing company, etc.
In homes that have maids, does that not significantly reduce the household chores as I've seen with my cousins (marrried and otherwise) that are well-to-do and have that luxury. But even if there are no servants and even if you don't have to live with in-laws.....you'd still have to do the cooking, cleaning, laundry, etc. So let's say the guys never make the comment of taking care of his parents, even THEN you can't assume that you will never have to do the tasks which you feel are those to be done by a maid. The responsibilities will still be there regardless of whether the "khayal rakhna" comment is made or not. Rishtay are always connected, they're not isolated. For example, as much as your parents love you and can lay down their life for you.....they will not be pleased with you disrespecting your khalas/mamus/tayas/chachas/phoopis even though u have a greater obligation toward the parents than the other relations. Your ill behavior with them can put a strain on the relationship with your parents. Being considerate of the various rishtay is more helpful in maintaining peace than doing otherwise. The latter can even have domino-falling effect.
But vy? :0
Well you get married to start a family, something you can very much do without marriage if you’re of the opinion that marriage is nothing but “a bunch of old people giving you their permission to sleep with someone”. ![]()
Marriage is pretty sacred for a lot of people and it’s the right way to be with someone you love.
Because mera dimagh kharab tha ... Ab thikanay aa gya hai but it's too late
kyun k ami abu ne bola tha :)
Because taxes have been killing us since then!
It also limited our ability to contribute to certain financial/health tax deductible accounts. ![]()
That’s interesting, I was under the impression that getting married is generally beneficial in terms of taxes. I’m single now and I get killed by taxes. ![]()
^ Ha…I thought I was getting killed before and then I got married and realized how good I had it before! It all actually depends on the tax bracket you fall under. How much you and your spouse make separately versus what the total is if you combine your salaries together. I know for us…financially we “lost” quite a bit just by checking the “married” box. :hinna: