Re: “I fell in love with someone online”

[quote="“khattichic, post:3800, topic:306547"”]

phir kya huwaa? :phil:
phir jhumkaa giraa re Lahore ke bajaar meN! :stuck_out_tongue:

who the hell is he? :hmmm: nope, i’m the ‘King of Tragedies’ :smiley:

[quote="“khawateen, post:3804, topic:306547"”]

lol khatti…

im gonna start an R rated thread on something NO way a man could have any idea about.. and see just HOW KKF is able to respond in it.. i bet he will.. i know he will… :hinna:

are you challenging me? lol … open the thread and just watch me! :smiley:

[quote="“Le_Pakistan, post:3834, topic:306547"”]

Did she know about it too?
she was a Pakistani, i dunno if she was related to you…you better find out and lemme know! :smiley:

Ooohhh…yay tho Veer Zaara waala love story lagraha hai…pleej elaborate :khatti:

lol…wait till you read all about it in Khawateen’s upcoming R-rated thread…but, she should hurry up before the mod-free month is over!..Theek?

btw, your smily is shooo cute!!!, masha Allah :slight_smile:

Re: "I fell in love with someone online"

^ no surprise she made an end to the relationship.

yaaraa, ek aaNsoo waalaa smiley hii banaa dete. :(

I find it also astonishing how people fall in love with each other and do stupid things like suicide. The most worthy of your love is your parents.

Its not about falling in love. Its about understanding and companionship. While the world is as big as it has ever been it is far more isolated than it was before. People spend more time at work, at home and less time finding and establishing lasting relationships. I have my friends who I have known for like 15 to 20 years and I have people I meet daily, work with and socialize with but they aren't friends. Its all about connections is what I am saying.

If you feel connected why does it matter what the medium is? As long as it is honest, true and based on honesty and respect it shouldn't matter if its the internet or in person.

this one time in cafe, i fall the in love with jhanjhajhariya.

I know many people who met online and got married...

or girl.

What X2 and Zafra have said.

In some cases, two people who speak to each other online may know each other better than two people in a very strict arranged marriage setting.

Whether or not the sentiments you have can be called "love" would be better determined after marriage when two people are living under the same roof...and have to deal with life's ups and downs in a more direct and up-close way than they would have even if they had been dating for a significant time.

Online has its drawbacks...such as the person many not be honest about themselves and one has more time edit their messages and therefore impressions. But provided that there is a consistency in the information that's shared.....a deep connection....at the very least can take place. For it to have more worth than just deep connection and for it to be considered love in the real sense....it has to go beyond the virtual world. (Meeting in person, etc)

I don't think it's so easy to determine the validity of "love" ...especially nowadays when so many marriages are resulting in divorce even after a significant amount of offline/real life dating and getting-to-know-you. If one uses marriage as the real measure of love....then all relationships prior to that experience...even the offline ones....are less than love. I know of several marriages that started online. I guess it boils down to qismat.

PCG I have a feeling that as soon as u realize ur actually falling for someone ur going to find some way to sabotage it, by ur preconceived notions (of how life is supposed to be and should be or has to fit into some cookie cutter of ur own making) and also because u might be too embarrassed to accept to urself that u could actually like a guy and despite his short comings and not checking all the boxes on ur list (just being realistic) things can still work out for the best. And also because of how u believe u r, that u r too strong to give that much power to another human being, that ur life would to be too entwined with someone else and thus too dependant and not in ur control, something that u have decided to never let happen. That u r independent and ambitious and how all this stuff is just crap... I'm just doing it to be socially acceptable and it's the direction my life is supposed to go in (atleast that's what society tells us), u might be surprised to find that life can be good and is good either way.
P.S sorry for all the run-ons but this post was just written as a train of thought. I might have it all wrong but just an analysis on my part.

Not all online relationships are based on just a "bunch of text messages". If you think about it, people who meet their spouse on matrimonial websites are also in an online relationship (for some time at least). May not work for you, but it has worked for loads of people.

Well I met my husband online. This surely can happen, I have seen many couple happily Married Alhamdulillah, who initially met online.

Like I don’t believe on Love at fight sight, but my younger sister got married to a guy who just saw her at the friend’s birthday party. Very next day his parents contacted my mom and rishta was finalize within a week, wedding next month. This was purely Love at first sight, They never met, talk or knew each other before. He actually met her officially only at the Nikkah ceremony. I still feel gross about it. But they are one Happy Couple Mashallah.

Sooo,

The love is anything which comes with an individual experience, you cannot have someone else’s experience.

Most of the posters are talking about 'meeting' someone online and later meeting in person leading to a relationship which is perfectly fine.

I think what OP said is people 'falling in love' without ever meeting in person and continuing such a 'relationship'. This is true and is disturbing and mostly people act this way out of desperation. Numerous con stories where girls fell in love with a guy online and sent him all her savings over western union are a testimony.

relationships can be started online but their fate is connected to reality in the end!

This and this.

Know 2 stories, one never met because each was in a different continent and actually had a proxy nikah, and went over to the in laws for 10 days after the wedding and then flew to the US and met her husband. 14 years still going strong with 2 kids. They didn't even have skype in those days, so they saw only photographs of each other and talked to each other on the phone multiple times a day. They were over 25 years old.

Case 2, also met online and saw each other a few days before the nikah. 8 years still going strong.