I feel clean for the first time

Once a pious Muslim brother got a job in a restaurant. He took with himself a container for water so that he can use it for toilet purposes. So, everytime he goes to the toilet, he fills the container with water and takes it with him. One day, a Christian man, who also works there, saw him taking water and asked him about the reason for it. The Muslim brother told him that after doing our work in the washroom, we should clean that place and that cleanliness is a major part of Islam.

The man said that why not use the toilet papers? The brother asked him that if such dirty thing touched his hands, would he use a toilet paper to wipe it off or use water?

The man understood and said that he would use water. The next day, the Christian man brought a container for himself and used it during relieving himself. When he came out of the toilet, he was crying and tears were rolling down his cheeks. The Muslim brother asked him about why he is crying. The Christian man said that “For the first time in my life, I feel completely clean.” Thereafter, he accepted Islam and became a devouted Muslim.

Re: I feel clean for the first time

Yaar, ok this is the stupidest story ever. Some guy wiped his ass with water, and that compelled him to convert to Islam? If this small thing made him convert to Islam, then some other small thing will make him convert back.

Do you honestly think people discuss wiping asses at work?

I beleive everything is possible.

When Allah wants to guide you to the right path, a little sign or hint as such is sufficient.

Path = washroom. Sign = smelly poo poo. Hint = muslim guy wiping poo poo with hand.

good message...not so good example

To be quite frank, I find this little story offensive to Islam.

TDW.............not so stupid bhai sahib .............when you consider what made another very prominent scholar convert to Islam..........and I quote this scholar in his own words..............

**This scholar was visiting Egypt where he encountered two men having an argument...........

there was this older (60- 70 yr old) person verbally abusing this young and physically strong person. the old guy was demanding the return of some money he had loaned the young guy...........

after some time the old guy left..............

So this scholar asked the young man why he took so much abuse from the older guy whom he could have easily beat up...........

Young Man answered that his religion did not allow him to be disrespectful of Old folks.............

The scholar inquired what religion was that?

Young Man replied..................Islam!

The scholar states in the preface of his translation of the Holy Quran....that is what influenced him to further study and convert to Islam.............

This Scholar's name....................Marmaduke William Pickthall!

**So Y'All thinks that personal hygiene is offensive........................:(

I would say lack of personal hygiene is much more offensive............:D

Personal hygiene has nothing to do with it. But if you want to equate your religion to crap (literally), that's your prerogative. I see Islam in quite a different light.

(and wiping your bum doesn't change your perception of god. this story is hogwash).

Btw, this post belongs in religion. Submission to Peace, I've noticed that you post a lot of these "Islamic," parables in the wrong forums. Please keep religion in the religion forums. Thanks :)

Yeah, I think I got that email forward too. I also have another email forward about how Bill Gates wants to give everyone money.

^ LOL!
yeah apparently im getting a lot of it :rolleyes:

**No e-mail she mail Bhai Sahib.....................

Just pick up Pickthall's translation of the Holy Quran like I said.........

and you find this in his own writing.........part of the preface..........

ofcourse if you want to belittle your own religion that is your perogative..:biggthumb

How am I belittling my own religion by saying that a text you posted is from an email forward?

As far as many knowledge goes washing is not mandatory but preferred. I googled and found a resource:

"Any impurity should be **washed or wiped **three times or an odd number of times greater than three, according to whatever is needed to cleanse it, because ‘Aa’ishah (may Allaah be pleased with her) reported that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) used to wash his posterior three times. Ibn ‘Umar said: “We did this too and found it to be healing and cleansing.” (Reported by Ibn Maajah, 350; see also Saheeh al-Jaami’, 4993). Abu Hurayrah (may Allaah be pleased with him) reported that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “When anyone of you cleans himself (with stones or similar material) let him use an odd number.” (Reported by Imaam Ahmad; classed as hasan in Saheeh al-Jaami’, 375).

He should not use bones or dung to clean himself or wipe away the impurity, rather, he should use tissue, stones, and the like."

Resource: http://sweetness-light.com/archive/lets-ask-the-imam-muslim-bathroom-etiquette

I think STP's idea of posting such stuff in life is because he doesnt seperate religion from being implemented in every day life.

Ofcourse i could be wrong but this is how i interpret his posts in Life forums as compared to Religion.

^JazakAllah khair sister, for understanding it correctly.

Well, when I learned the hadiths mentioned above, I was told that washing **is **mandatory but it is preferred to first clean with a tissue, stone…etc before washing, as it makes washing easy.

The reason for washing being mendatory can be the same as mentioned in the story

^ Logical reasoning in story, but is there a source where it is mentioned clearly that it is mandatory to wash?

P.S: I am not implying here that one shouldn't wash, just sharing what I have read.

have lota will travel

Exactly..........or a paper cup will work too....just borrow one before going to the rest room..:)