"I don't want to get married for the sake of getting married"

What does that even mean?

Was talking to an unmarried friend who just turned 30. We were talking about marriage and I asked how come she hasn’t got married yet (she’s been introduced to a lot of guys, but she or her parents always found a flaw).

Is it just an excuse for people not wanting to get married?

Is is just so they can find Mr/Miss Perfect?

Re: “I don’t want to get married for the sake of getting married”

It actually mean that I do not want o get married for the sake of getting married.

Re: "I don't want to get married for the sake of getting married"

I've heard this from loads of people. I guess they just wanna meet the right person rather than just jump right in

Wasnt it obvious why she hasnt gotten married yet :silly::wink:

Perhaps your friend prefers to having a marriage as opposed to a wedding.
;)

Agreed, I think that makes the most sense. One doesn't get married because they have to/its part of life/the next step. One should get married when they feel they have found the right person and are getting married to them because they want to not because they should.

these are the people who live in dreamland chasing a mirage...but...forget one fact that once you cross that threshold of age, rishtas stop coming and the person finds it even harder to find that 'MR/Miss Perfect'...shaadii ke mo'aamile meN ham na jaane kiuN aasmaanoN par baiTh kar zameenii laRkiyoN kii taraf dekhte haiN...agar aisaa hii hai to phir kisii aasmaanii farishta-shakl aur farishta-sifat hii talaash kar leN. :)

i guess it means they dont wanna get married due to pressure ... be it anything .. in this case maybe the age?

This..

I've used the phrase the OP is talking about and this is what I meant.. I don't want a marriage where I'm just going thru the motions, being with someone just for the sake of it..

She would have to settle eventually. Funny that she's 30 and still believes in the Disney movies she saw when she was 6.

^Yeah, it’s very Disney-like and unrealistic wanting to marry someone you actually really like :rolleyes:

It means 'I don't want to stop buying all the shoes in the world cos il have to think of what 'it' will think of me spending 'it's' monies'.

I don’t believe that after going through all the rishta proposals there hasn’t been one she hasn’t liked at all. She wants perfection. That is a fairy tale.

I don't want to get married for the sake of getting married.

I guess what she means is she doesn't want to marry someone she might not get along with...just to please people.

No one really wants to be unattached when we live in a world where being attached is the ultimate goal. Everyone wants to have a partner. If you're single, no one lets you forget it.

She's thirty and still single by choice? Who does this upstart think she is? The nerve of some people.

LOL… the main GS page read:

"I don’t want to get married for the sake of getting…](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-and-relationships/559732-i-dont-want-to-get-married-for-the-sake-of-getting-married-post8918028.html#post8918028)chaibiskutJ

To each his/her own - why other people bother reading their thoughts ?

Many of us actually look for the companionship and the friendly bond - where one can at-least try to read your thoughts and without asking act as per the given scenario. I mean the feel of **knowing you **comes into the picture .

Marriage is not all about getting laid every second day - getting your clothes washed and ironed - your meal cooked and served !

Why is the word "right" here thought to mean "perfect"? Why do some people find this notion to be unreasonable?

I know of girls who got married for the sake of getting married and to shut people up........and some of these girls (AND THEIR PARENTS) did not end a rishta/engagement/nikkah EVEN when major red flags started to surface......for fear that people will "talk" and they put societal expectations before their own sanity/happiness/safety. And then they found themselves in a miserable "union", realizing not only that there's HUGE incompatibility between them but also that Mommy and Daddy, their well-intentioned relos, and their know-it-all single and hitched friends were wrong in saying that love will definitely develop after marriage or that popping out a handful of babies will smooth out everything. LOL, frankly speaking.....this sort of thinking seems more "Disney" to me.

"Right" doesn't necessarily mean "perfect." For example, I know that I'm not perfect.....I know that any guy out there will not be perfect. I know a person can't find everything they want in another. But despite his flaws....if we really click and if there's a mutual attraction and if there is overall more good than bad.....then he's not perfect in the literal sense.......but he'll be " perfectly right" for me.

i totally agree with redvelvet, we are not living in the old age when man and woman feared from Allah and tried to fullfill their duties and promises as husband and wife. Nothing is real now, its hard to find someone sincere and whats the use of marrying in your early 20 age and and up looking like 50 with worries and a broken heart in your 25 and trying to still compromise cause you have kids now. Becuase of this one mistake the babies that are born have no charm in life and who you hold responsible for all that, just think about it, one mistake than another than another and you end up all your life as a mistake. I feel its all like gambling, take the step and then see if you find happiness or not

In addition, yes, there are some guys and girls who are very nit-picky and closed off........and maybe it's** this** example that comes to mind when some posters assume that the individual is looking for someone who is literally "perfect." But that doesn't have to be the case for everyone who is single.

You say that this girl had looked at several rishtas. SO? If you weren't present during those rishta meets, then you don't know the details about why she or even her parents didn't feel a connection for the rishta. It could even be that...some of those rishtas rejected her but she doesn't want to share that with you. You meet numerous people throughout your life.....do you become friends with every single one of them? I doubt it. And this isn't a friendship....where you see your friend once in a while. It's a marriage...where you'll be spending the rest of your life with that person. It's a bigger deal....it deserves more discrimination. *******Now the extent of that discrimination may be reasonable or unreasonable....but that's a subjective matter. Yes, rishtas dwindle as you age...especially for Desi girls....and yes there are consequences for your actions (both rejecting and accepting a rishta). We all vary in what "flaws" we can move past and those we can't overlook. The way I see it...if it's just not working for a person...then let it go. It's better than entering something you're not into and ruining your life and somebody else's.