I don't want my kids growing up in Pakistan...

Re: I don't want my kids growing up in Pakistan...

i'd want my kids to be raised either in pakistan or the middle east ..so they dont get desensitized to immoral behaviour put on public display in the west :)but yeah for university education..they are free to attend the best the west has got to offer along with occasional family vacations to america,europe etc!

I want to see Pakistanis give more ahmiyyat to shoes than mobile phones ... to roof tops more than TV sets ... to the roads more than the nuclear industry ... to parks and greenery more than concrete ... to drainage and sewage management more than music and singing ... to applied free education more than the academies ... to develop a museum culture to replace the poondi culture ... until then I can't have my kids roaming the streets of Pakistan ...

^hareem I actually really admire you for home schooling your kids MashAllah :) ...but just wondering doesn't it make things a little hard for you ..managing everything. Also wouldnt the kids be an outcast when they suddenly get into the midst of school life at a sensitive age - the bullying etc would still be there and wouldnt that make the children more vulnerable?

How about teaching your kids to go and help Pakistanis do those things? Are you guys waiting for angels to descend from heavens and improve the situation?

fair enough psyah bhai :) agreed..these were one of the few things I was going to add in my western lifestyle vs pakistani lifestyle thread :D

As for cultural values - I believe Pakistan is fast losing its Pakistani culture and creating a new one instead ...

how about those already in Pakistan like us do something to improve the situation first - that could then make the expats think of sending their kids back home too.

Yes. It is everyone's responsibility. I am just asking everyone to accept that WE and our elders did wrong to the country, not divine intervention.

Bullying only happens in schools with less strict discipline and moral behaviour...there are some good schools and in fact some good Islamic schools in London, I know few people who went to Yusuf Islam's school and have really good characters. Homeschooling is hard but a lot of parents are doing it and it becomes easier with time. I think the age of 11 when they start high school is a good age to start schooling, you can also train your kid by sending them to martial arts classes.

And now this new government has allowed parents and teachers to set up their own schools where they don't have to follow the National curriculum, and these are called free schools, some of them are opening this September.

The culture will change eventually, but might take few decades before it. I think it's already changing, there are more women taking jobs, people are giving more importance to education, but yeah parents want the best for their kids so like you wouldn't wanna take your family to Wazirastan I wouldn't take mine to Pak (at this stage) on perma basis.

Peace kakaballi

Believe I have said this many a time ... And forget my kids ... I am involved in activities inshaAllah to make changes in Pakistan ... however there is an upward struggle ... People who were "kal-ke-freshies" my cousins ex-pats living in the UK told me - if you go to Pakistan to correct them they will end up making you like them instead ... Another cousin said to me in Pakistan if a person ran over someone in a car instead of getting out to look how he is he will reverse back over him to make sure he has done the job properly ... Life is cheap and the value of certain core principles in Islam have disintegrated such as alcohol, smoking, gambling, fraud ... etc

We need to rid the street of gangs and political warfare - no more forced voting and no more tolerance for schools and colleges run by political party supporters .... Judgements and sentencing needs to be issued by the Judges in courts ... The police need to be strongly against bribery.

I don't think it is necessary for me to live in Pakistan to positively influence it. If Altaf can do it for his ends then why can't anybody else? The UK is my home and I believe my being here is part of the Divine plan ... I am glad that I have a Pakistani legacy and I feel we are amongst the most talented in the world of all ethnic groups ...

I am not advocating actually physically going to Pakistan to do something. I also believe expats help Pakistanis more than residents. I only get irritated when we talk about troubles in the country as if some 'third' person did it all. It would be nice to accept that we and our elders are responsible for the mess the country is in either by indulging in crimes or by being silent about them. Yes, we all know WHAT is wrong with the country and pointing that our a million times would not make any difference. About time we move on from problems to solutions.

BTW, I only know one person in Pakistan who drinks. A few who smoke. None who gambles. None who ran over another person. None who was run over twice by same car. I believe I know quiet a few people there. Doesn't mean its all good. Only means that a minority is exploiting a majority of people and about time that majority stops cribbing and does something about it.

Re: I don’t want my kids growing up in Pakistan…

My main concerns about living in Pakistan are bomb blasts and general lawlessness on the streets. Unless, you’re very well-off, the lifestyle and standard of living isn’t that great.

The highlighted part of your post has enough potential to be the most pathetic, unreal and ridiculous POTM if not POTY (Post of the year) Srs!

Maybe your cousins need solid excuses to help them be away from Pakistan, and thus they're making all this up and sadly some people are clearly falling for it too? because lets us be real, in the 2 decades I've lived in Pakistan, nothing of the sort has ever occurred there..

p.s. Tell your cousins, Pakistan says thankyou for leaving it. Srs!

I think people who never got out of Lahore city will have a different perception to someone who've been to both sides of the fence.

Those problems started with the creation of Pakistan and got worse, just look at our national tv, you won't find many decent people there these days. People have forgotten how to speak Urdu properly and someone here said something about teaching Urdu to British borns. lol

I likey!!!

Interesting. I don't even live in Pakistan and I know of a lot of people who drink, from people in the army to med school students. And smoking? I know of girls who smoke and do weed, let alone the guys. My cousin's uncle was run over and the person who did it didn't even stop to see what he had done, he died before reaching the hospital.

lol Milly.