i dont know what to do :-(

ever since i have started working i’m not myself…ive become soooo moody n grumpy :frowning:

i never used to be like this i hate myself :crying:

i reason with myself everyday n tell myself i am gona get used to the reality n be mature but i just cant seem to help it :frowning:

i hateeeee the long working hours and sitting in the office from morning to night and when i come home in the evening i feel like a witch honestly n i dont wana talk to anyone i just wana go to the room n cry :crying:

i havent even called my friends in ages…i dono whats wrong with me

i wana go to K-2 for a hike n then jump off from the top or something :teary2:

:teary3:

take some time out and relax ... you need a break ...

:crying:

yaar…i just started working…aik hafta bhee nai hua hae…and already i feel like this…theres something wrong with my attitude…i am being really ungrateful i think…lekin i am trying n i just cant seem to snap out of this

i think i need do zor kee chaperein n someone to knock some sense into me n my mom is not here either :crying:

sigh

time to go n get ready for work yaar

thanks for ur advice :hug:

i’ll ttyl inshallah mere lyay dua karna :teary3:

:wave:

you are not used to it ... thats all ... :p ... find a way to relax .... or ask yourself is it just the work or your attitude thats causing all this or is it something else?

how many hours are u working irem???

Irem, you just started working. I'm really surprised at your response.

What exactly is it other than the hours that you do not like about the job? The people? The pay? I'm assuming you are working 9-5.

Is this your first job?

Stop deleting my posts left and right and you will start feeling better.

Re: i dont know what to do :frowning:

Welcome to real life. You need coping skills. :smiley:

This is all a learning process. Youll get used to it and be assimilated in the rat race of the real world. Say goodbye to college days already. :D

I worked as a teacher, the working hours are supposedly less for teachers. At my first school the hours didn’t bother me and had only 8 students, so i use to be totally free at home but I hated the job, simply because the kids were totally dunno whats the right word. I just use to wait for the chutti ki bell more than the kids even.

At the 2nd school it was much better. Except the last period or last two, rest of the day was fine. But I remember I use to get tired of everything and just wanted to go home.

The third school was kinda like from 7:20 till 1:45. But what I hated about that was early morning and after school duties. Even if it was not my duty day, I had to stay at school for extra hours, kabhi meeting, kabhi kuch. I even told the principal that Why do you make us stay after school, when they aren’t our working hours. Anyways, I only ended up making her angry :smiley: Not that I regret it. :smokin: The work load there was the most. Like I was teaching four classes and I had to do things like make charts, time tables, progress reports, preparing students for weekl presentations and all! Every month they had exam like tests. So the first 2 weeks were spend compiling result of last month’s tests and the next two making new papers. Then checking your own four sets and then rechecking someone else’s 4-5 sets. I didn’t get enough time to even prepare my lecture, which was unfair to kids. So after couple of months I decided enough is enough! I don’t need RS 4000 for working like a khota, with no appreciation if you do something good but criticism on slightest mistake. Hence, I left.

Sometimes I do think that may be am a lazy bum and I didn’t manage my time and activities right. If I had done that I didn’t have to quit. But the thing is I am not ready to work like a khota for RS 4000 and not get any appreciation either.

The thing is working does get on your nerves at times, too much work, working late hours, having to do work even when you are home makes on think is it really worth it?

It’s true that when you get out to work, there are days when you have to work late hours or there is more work than usual but if everyday is that day than you really have to ask yourself Is this job really worth it?

Another thing I observed being a girl is that we are expected to socilise in the family. If you are tired or whatever you are expected to entertain guests, go to parties and all, even if you don’t feel like or are too tired to go. Where as no one expects my brother to go any where :snooty:

Having said all that I think if you want to work you HAVE to work and balance everything else. Tell you what you will soon realise the real joys of a weekend and that is a great blessing in itself :slight_smile:

Dunno if i made any sense and I think am posting with the wrong nick :bummer:

Going to k2 is gonna take a lot of time and effort.
Why don't u chal maring from your mundair?

Irem, maybe something is just missing from your life? Maybe you need to talk to your family or a friend who truly understands you and will not judge your situation. I agree that going from college to the work world will probably be a big change, but it sounds like there is something more than work that is bothering you.

I hate being working women too :bummer:

i know i am lazy and ppl hate lazy women , yeh so what :rolleyes:

Irem chanda shade kar loo , bachay paloo and Tv dekhoo :smiley: haha

Irem, I have been a working girl for 7 years now. When I first started working, I absolutely loved it and was thrilled with my job. I would eagerly await the following day to go into work because 1) I was the youngest member, fresh out of college, in my department...which was an ego-booster for me, and 2) I enjoyed my responsibilities. I changed jobs to where I am currently, almost 4 years ago because I was asked to head the Human Resources department for this company at its headquarters. I really enjoy my work despite the usual office politics that go on from time to time. Insh'allah though, I am completing my MBA in May and am starting to look for work elsewhere now in addition to getting information from entrepreneurial friends and from books on how to start my own business.

My advice is: Don't feel grouchy all the time when you come home. Make it a habit to perhaps exercise, read books, watch TV, talk to family members, or do something else to relax yourself. The way you feel right now is uncommon because usually people entering the workforce for the first time are eager to do so unless they are forced to (which I'm sure is not your case). I hope my advice helps a little bit.

*Originally posted by batameez: *
you are not used to it ... thats all ... :p ... find a way to relax .... or ask yourself is it just the work or your attitude thats causing all this or is it something else?

I agree with Batameez.

Nilu :slight_smile:

digitalsurgeon :hoonh:

sweetpie…thanks so much :slight_smile:
hmmm, i was thinking about things today after writing this post and i think there are many things which have changed for me, i guess its not just the job, but many things have changed, everything in my life has changed pretty much, and all those thoughts are at the back of my mind and theres no outlet like in college i used to hang out with friends everyday or discuss what was bothering me with them everyday so it was like i could start fresh the next day…i think thats also been missing and thats why i’ve been feeling like this i think…
plus my mom is not here these days so i think i am missing her too…usually you know moms just know whats wrong and you can talk to them about everything…i am glad she is coming back this weekend :slight_smile:
best of luck for your MBA…inshallah…

mehroo aapi :smiley: that is not in my hands, wo Allah kee marzi hae
and jahan tak lazy honay kee baat hae, aap muj se zaada lazy naheen ho sakti…
i dont believe u r lazy…aap ne apnay ghar kee pics post kee theen…poora ghar mashallah se cham cham chamak rha tha…plus ur kids mashallah are always well groomed…which means u r not lazy at all so dont even say that :hug:

anhandi…you are right…i’ll repeat what i said to sweetpie above:
i was thinking about things today after writing this post and i think there are many things which have changed for me, i guess its not just the job, but many things have changed, everything in my life has changed pretty much, and all those thoughts are at the back of my mind and theres no outlet like in college i used to hang out with friends everyday or discuss what was bothering me with them everyday so it was like i could start fresh the next day…i think thats also been missing and thats why i’ve been feeling like this i think…
plus my mom is not here these days so i think i am missing her too…usually you know moms just know whats wrong and you can talk to them about everything…i am glad she is coming back this weekend :slight_smile:

SAJAL :hehe: :stuck_out_tongue:

Kaki-Atom Bum - oye r u fantastic1? :smiley:
yaar thanks for ur reply :slight_smile:
hmmm…tumhari story bhee meri tarha kee lag rai hae..i also quit my first job mashallah se…
i guess its all about forcing urself to adjust yaar…
yah i feel like yaar mein ne parha hay itnay saal and instead of sitting at home doig nothing and basically wasting my time, i shud atleast do a job…thats my thought…
but i am considering applying for masters too…
u r so right abt the weekends…they r such a big blessing…for sure…
thanks again for ur reply :slight_smile:

5Abi i prefer my dream world lol…n i cant get myself to say goodbye to college, i am going back to school inshallah lol…n this time plan to stay as long as i can maybe do a phd n then become a prof in the same dept… lets c what Allah has in store :slight_smile:

LuxuryItem thankU and sigh yeah i know…i need coping skills big time…

funguy lol

MehnazQ yup its my first job…
ppl r nice..pay is nice..alhamdulillah…everything is good..
its just me…ive turned into a chronic complainer..sigh
i guess its just all a huge change for me…new lifestyle, new job, new work, new surroundings, moving back to pak, mom is not in the country these days too so missing her as well, plus a lot of other stuff going on…i need to take it easy…inshallah

CorruptAngel 9 to 6 yaar lekin usually ends up being 9 to 7

batameez yup u r right :slight_smile: i think it’ll take some time and i also need to be more firm with myself…
thanks for ur advices really appreciate it :slight_smile:

spend a day away from the tv, computer, etc. go out and eat, relax, read -- or do something a little crazier.

make sure you get a decent amount of sleep. at least 8 hrs. regularly. that makes the biggest difference for me.

hope this helps.

thanks Sahar :-) will try those things

Cheer up, Irem dearest :flower1: