i dont believe.

im losing my religion. i just see nothing. how do i know allah is here. wheres the light to show me. i wish i knew.i wish i had that faith in him.

Re: i dont believe.

I was going to start a thread similar to this the other day.. Lately I feel a bit strange when I think about all this.. I’m not an atheist but I’m questioning a lot of things and it’s worrying me not knowing the answers.. My problem is more about some of the rulings tho (I already mentioned a couple of them in the religion forum the other day)

I’m spiritual rather than practising but it’s still bothering me.. I had a talk about it with my dad a while bk and he just said ‘don’t overthink’ which didn’t help much either..

yeh i get same replies - dont think, dont ask, or the shock horror on their faces whenni raise concerns doesnt help

jb app hr chez ko logic aur mind se samjne ki try krte hain to aisa hota hai, insan buht chota hai Allah ki qudrat ko samjne k liye

Nadzz to believe , you just need to think out of box. I strongly recommend you read tafseer of Surah Kahf , and try to understand it, how things work in mystical ways yet we cannot see from that eye.

What kind of concerns share please.

What kind of rulings Deeba? May be you have heard the horror version?

thing is, reading surahs etc, for me its like reading a novel, book story etc, it doesnt make me worried/alert/motivated/fearful etc, just make me thing `oh really? is this true? nahhh or just nothing. i get bored reading.

sorry, i cant say these things to my parents whol think im one step away from converting to hinduism and bringing statues home. so its best not to say these thing sout loud. but i feel nothing when reading religious text.

so ???

i dont believe.

You have blessings in your life that has made you so comfortable that now not getting your way a tiny bit makes u question faith!! If atheist have nothing to believe in.. Fine!! They probably think its crazy on our part to actually believe in something. There really is no answer to why people should or should not believe in god. Only opinons!!! Everyone has their view but the reason you should still hold onto ur faith IMO is because there are people in far worse situation trudging along because they still feel like they have been blessed plenty. You have to count the little blessing and be happy and thankful or those. I am not bashing agnos or athies or believers here so keep ur chaddis on!!!

I have something similar going on. It’s been almost an year and a half since I just stopped believing. I cold turkey quit praying, in Ramzan 2011. After that I just couldn’t get myself to believe. Right now I just try to avoid thinking about it. I’m not very spiritual, but I liked the religious principles. Finding flaws in those ruined it for me. It stopped making sense.

I can’t talk about it with anyone. Mom just feels puzzled why her kid who used to pray 5 times a day, doesn’t even go for Jumma. But that’s all she’s worried about, me not praying.

So yeah not sure…

Does your guy know about these faith issues you’re having? What does he think?

velcum to the dark side.

Not too long ago, I just couldn’t fathom one of the signs of qayamat i.e. Islam will gradually disappear and one day there will be no one left on earth saying la ilaha illallah… but now it doesn’t seem too unrealistic, we’ll get there soon enough.

Sorry, nadz, I doubt the internet is going to help you. And the reason I say this is because I don’t think the words of random strangers in the virtual world matter that much to any of us. You’re going to have to get off the net and meet a trusted scholar in person if you’re genuinely seeking answers. Perhaps look for one in the UK who you can relate to better than some molvi in Pakistan. Then decide for yourself if the scholar makes sense or not. If not, oh well, Allah guides whom He wills.

You’re not losing anything, you’re just questioning things. There’s nothing wrong with that. The fact is that no one knows what awaits us after we die, but that’s where faith comes into the equation. People just choose to believe what they want.

I don’t think you can find faith, you just have to want to believe. I would say I’m an agnostic theist. I believe there’s something out there. What I’m skeptical about is whether our religions are actually the word of God. But you know what, it doesn’t matter if they are or not. Do you like the principles of Islam? While there are things I disagree with, I think most religions preach a good lifestyle. You can believe in a higher power, be skeptical of a religion, and still follow its rituals as a pathway to spirituality. While I’m not the most devout Muslim, whatever rituals I do follow are more to do with a feeling of community than spirituality. And as I get older, I could certainly see myself becoming a “better” Muslim, yet still have debates with people about Islam possibly being man made. The religion is something I choose to follow, it’s a pathway to spirituality.

Like people have said, if you post your specific questions you might be able to get a more varied response than simply to “not think too much”.

if such thoughts cross my mind, I ask myself if I die in an hour, my night today and thereafter until day of judgement will be spent in a dark cold grave and the first few questions that I’ll be asked would be "mun rabbuka? mun rasooluka?"and about namaz… I won’t be spared at any cost no matter whatever reasons I think I have. so I better stop questioning about the complicated things that confuse me, start following the simple, do the fardh’s and this will build up imaan gradually. we forget that we’ll be called back ANYTIME. there’s no fixed age that is guaranteed to us so WHY do we wait for the “right time”? right time is NOW !

The** Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Faith wears out in the heart of any one of you just as clothes wear out, so ask Allaah to renew the faith in your hearts.”** (Reported by al-Haakim in al-Mustadrak, 1/4;. Al-Haythami said in Majma al-Zawaaid, 1/52, It was reported by al-Tabaraani in al-Kabeer and its isnaad is saheeh.)

Given the above, it’s normal for this to have happened. However, take the advice of the Prophet (SAW) and ask Allah to renew your faith and I’m sure it’ll come back. If not, then go and see an imam like Huma has suggested.

Also, the fact that you’ve admitted this and are clearly troubled by it shows that there is some belief in you - all is not lost, so keep faith and ask him to bring you closer.

Imams have nothing interesting to talk about. Not convincing at all. Tablighis can be extremely boring too. Besides, all that talk about destroying Amrika BS, irks me, always has. No one talks about the social problems, the economy, health care. It’s just Surah’s, Tasbihs, and how to hide your women. Why not use your numbers to do something positive. I just don’t get Imams.

^ Not all of them are like that. You just need to find someone who doesn’t confuse/bore/impose beliefs on you. I think alot of the time these people are pushing others away and they don’t even realise it - it’s sad.

a lot of the signs of qayamat dont seem too unimaginable anymore… :hinna:

Which is why I recommended a trusted scholar who actually has some credible qualifications in religious studies, theology, Islamic sciences etc. The “western world’s most influential Islamic scholar” isn’t some arab mullah or desi tablighi but an American scholar, Hamza Hanson. He has more credibility in the eyes of western Muslims because (a) he isn’t an outsider, he was raised in the same culture that they were, (b) he isn’t biased towards Islam because he was born and raised as a Muslim but he is a convert who made an independent decision in his adulthood and (c) he definitely doesn’t detest Amreeka or support taliban’s idea of Islam.

“Many people in the west do not realise how oppressive some Muslim states are – both for men and for women. This is a cultural issue, not an Islamic one. I would rather live as a Muslim in the west than in most of the Muslim countries, because I think the way Muslims are allowed to live in the west is closer to the Muslim way. A lot of Muslim immigrants feel the same way, which is why they are here.”

You don’t expect a neurologist to give advice on fashion so why do you want a religious scholar to discuss economics etc? Sure he should be an intellectual individual and there are plenty of them around at least in the western world. Hamza Hanson, for example, holds many prestigious positions across the globe, advocates social justice and has actually played a huge role in innovating teaching methodologies. He has received some criticism from extremists on both ends of the spectrum but I think he and others like him are trustworthy scholars and these are the kind of people who nadz should be talking to.