Anwar to Andy is so sad but I do get it. :hinna: When I order pizza, I say my name is Maria…because I dont feel like dealing with a 3 second pause and then a timid little “can you spell that please?”. Nope, I just want my pizza. I dont want to explain the meaning or ethnicity behind my name nor do I want to talk about where my parents got it from. So much work just for a name.
People get so frustrated when their names get butchered left, right and center. I mean, my name is 3 simple syllables. But people butcher it ALL the time! Its so annoying and now I simply hang up on anyone who says it wrong. If you make an effort, you can say it right. I know plenty of white, black, etc people who do say it right in the first go. So, its not impossible…people are just lazy.
It may seem like people are ashamed of it but I think it has to do with limited opportunities when your name is hard also. If you have a convenience store, it will be easier for people to relate to Sam versus Samiullah. You get more customer loyalty, interest, blah blah blah. Now, does that mean you’re ashamed?
Another common one: "Beta, raat ko soney sey pehley teeth brush kerkey sona ok?" Personally, I studied Urdu till class 2, being in Saudi and in english medium school, we were taught easy arabic...so no urdu. I used to read the Naunehaal Digest and random urdu stuff. Later when I moved to Pak, I was told that Olevels in Urdu is must, and i did give it but i took Urdu as a second language because the paper of Urdu as a first language was too hard for me...all that tashreeh of shairs and what not. But at home we always spoke only urdu, never english. So my spoken urdu is absolutely fine. My parents regret it that we don't know urdu as much as they do, judging by the whole bookcase full of urdu islamic literature and history...and well...i find it hard to read urdu books...i get stuck often on difficult words which takes out the enjoyment of reading
Okay, what is wrong with that sentence? I mean, everyone does it and they do it more out of habit than anything else. It doesn't mean they have an inferiority complex. I find myself mixing English with Urdu all the time, it is just the way our generation talks now.
I also took urdu as a second language in my IGCSE's since we learned arabic in Saudi :p. My spoken urdu is perfectly fine as well as my punjabi, my parents talk in punjabi with each other and the relatives and talk in urdu with us. I never understood why it is that way but all the punjabi parents I know talk in urdu with their kids. Anyway the point is I'm not ashamed of talking in Urdu.. or Punjabi for that matter (although I never do) but I have seen people who will always talk in Urdu and pretend they don't understand Punjabi even though they do.
Okay, what is wrong with that sentence? I mean, everyone does it and they do it more out of habit than anything else. It doesn't mean they have an inferiority complex. I find myself mixing English with Urdu all the time, it is just the way our generation talks now.
I also took urdu as a second language in my IGCSE's since we learned arabic in Saudi :p. My spoken urdu is perfectly fine as well as my punjabi, my parents talk in punjabi with each other and the relatives and talk in urdu with us. I never understood why it is that way but all the punjabi parents I know talk in urdu with their kids. Anyway the point is I'm not ashamed of talking in Urdu.. or Punjabi for that matter (although I never do) but I have seen people who will always talk in Urdu and pretend they don't understand Punjabi** even though they do.**
Nothing's wrong... just the stress was on Teeth...instead of the usual 'daanth brush kerlena'. I mix urdu and english too but that is done subconsciously!
ohh i remember IG's in Saudi... I had a BIG collection of all subjects pastpapers. Here in pak are the GCE's.
Nothing's wrong... just the stress was on Teeth...instead of the usual 'daanth brush kerlena'. I mix urdu and english too but that is done subconsciously!
ohh i remember IG's in Saudi... I had a BIG collection of all subjects pastpapers. Here in pak are the GCE's.
As for the bold part... How do you know they do?
Anyone who's grown up in Lahore can't deny they speak/understand Punjabi. And yeah I remember my huge past paper collection too, my sister managed to utilise that, can't say she used them as well as I did heheh.
^ Thats a first. Ive never heard of that. Why do you think that is?
It's because in modern Lahore, conversing in punjabi is often seen as paindoo. You'd better be speaking your English Urdu mix to mingle with the hip crowd. As for our parents choosing to speak in Urdu with us kids, I have no idea why, I guess it's one of those evolutionary things.
I'm so surprised! I really have never heard of such a thing. Or maybe I live under a rock. Yes, I love Urdu but I also think Punjabi is so adorable and fun! If its your language, why would you not want to know it?
I agree. when i talk with people here i try to use pure Urdu and i still get english replies.
I was talking to an aged aunty at a friend’s and i used pure urdu, and she kept on replying me in her GOOD english though she was talking to other people in the room in urdu
It gets very annoying when you speak urdu and people reply you in english
I was sitting at Al-nakhal the other day and there were bunches of girls wearing hannah montana style (atleast they tried their best) speaking in english in loud voices and i was wearing this loose shalwar kameez with this huge shawl on me, i suddenly felt like a paindoooo
It gets very annoying when you speak urdu and people reply you in english
Yes indeed it is very annoying..!
Punjabi is so adorable and fun! If its your language, why would you not want to know it?
Even though punjabi is not my language but i still like it...it's fun...better than Sindhi which seems to me like a serious-tone language....
One should def know their own language. It helps a LOT! Wish i knew mine even a little! :(
Here, it is punjabi vs urdu.
It is shocking how many (parhay likhay) people look down at punjabi.
Aunties bragging about the fact that their children cannot speak/understand punjabi
“Meri beti ko tau Punjabi ati nahiN na” (followed by a giggle).
Why on earth would you be proud of that??
A girl at a party:
“Mujhay woh channel bilkul passand nahiN hai. WahaN punjabi meiN baat karte haiN, itna ajeeb ajeeb sa lagta hai nai?”
Stupid girl, ab tumhare liye log apni zubaan badal leiN, only because you have issues in your head?
A close family member to my brother, after bhai said something in punjabi. (waise all were talking in Punjabi, but my brother said ‘thallay’ (neeche) and apparenly ‘thallay’ was too ‘paindu’ for that familymember:
" X (my bro), mainu lagdae teri jaan pehchaan ziadatar painduaN naal ae" (i think you hang around woth paindus mostly) Like wth!
A woman we know had once a huge arguement with her brother-in-law, because he had talked in punjabi to her son. Calling him jaahil and all
And the list goes on and on and on…
It is very pathetic and saddening.
^^^Exactly. It's just not the parhay likhay's language anymore. Which is sad because there is nothing more fun than a punjabi joke, and there's nothing like venting your anger/frustration in Punjabi...lol.
LOL.. I can so relate to the punjabi-syndrome, because I had it too while growing up. Every desi child is trained to speak urdu outside the house. When other kids used to ask me what we speak at home, I would lie and say it was urdu and if someone asked me where I was from I would lie again and name the nearest big city. Now, looking back at it, it was more than just stupid, but what the heck, I was just a kid. I grew out of this syndrome quite quickly. At university one of my friends from Lahore was like "mujhe toh punjabi aati nahin, when I try to speak, it hurts in my stomach" so I just laughed back at her and was like "then you're speaking it wrongly dear". Same friend once screamed up "haye isne mujhe chondi wadi" I am sorry, but I am quite sure chondi wadi is not an urdu phrase, seems like you do know some punjabi after all lol.
Came back from Lahore like a week ago. All my cousins insisted on speaking English with me, even though I was talking in Urdu and Punjabi. Even when I went outside and stuff. Few people that I met. I really hate this. Oh and OMG what is up with girls attitude. I heard girls talk in like English with western clothing and showing so much nakhre and stuff in Defence and Liberty. Jeez. Come back down to EARTH.
even in my family…the ‘Moms’ of today insist that their chidren speak everything in English…although themselves don’t know english much…and the use of english by the so called ‘educated’ people is also lilmited to using nouns for everyday simple things…not like some complex thing which you can’t find a ready urdu word for…
and yes…all the ‘moms’ are like vicious and upto your neck if you speak with their kid in punjabi or teach them some urdu word..
like my niece…her mom insists her to use words such as “vermicelli”, “guava”,“watermelon”,“mango”…and the rest of the sentence is in urde…
Of course not all girls are like that, I went to Fortress and saw some really nice mannered girls talking IN PUNJABI. But yeah tere nakhre haye ni tere nakhre!!!! Not only guys, the girls were behaving like this with other friends, with shop keepers etc etc
I have Punjabi friends but they actually all speak the language at home. I think when you're here, parents get paranoid about their children losing their language and spend a lot of time making sure kids learn it. I know that was my parents' fear.
It bothers me when people are ashamed of their roots. Be proud...this is what Allah swt made you!
^ yeh it makes me really sad when I see Sikh people and even the 5 year old kids are speaking punjabi. In my family and social circle no one in my generation speaks punjabi. They can speak it and understand it but Urdu is just the language they automatically speak. Only the older generation ie my parents etc will speak punjabi to each other. Even my cousins in Lahore speak Urdu over punjabi. I don't think its them that's personally ashamed of the language as such but at one point punjabi was thought to be paindu and Urdu was the more sophisticated language so I guess everyone just started speaking urdu instead. I only know a few families from Sialkot who's kids speak punjabi and that's coz they're largy remove from what's considered ' modern' society.
Even my parents spoke urdu with us at home even though my dad loves to find someone he can speak to in punjabi. The Sikhs are great with this stuff, I remember my friends parents used to send her to punjabi school to make sure she wouldn't lose the language coz they spoke a lot of English at home. Now I barely know how to speak it and I'm married to an Urdu speaking guy so it's sad my kids will never know it either.