I do not like Urdu

Re: I do not like Urdu

Quite a pathetic and nonsensical argumnet. How can you accuse someone of stealing the language when the language is imposed on them by the invaders? Should I also call Urdu a stolen language since awful lot of its vocab came from much older languages, it was a mixture of languages that made this language, what has Urdu given back to those languages besides ‘holding onto’ their vocab, writing style?

It is one thing if some one do not speak urdu because they think it is inferior language somehow, but it is completely different if people have sort of hybrid language. There is nothing wrong or funny about our hybrid language and it is quite natural that certain words become a part of our regular language. Its natural if you learn diffrent languages to use it in conversation also.
Like the word sorry.....do you say "main mazrat khawa" hoon or please ya "Bara-e-mahrabani".
Very quick to make fun of aunties.....next time dont use words like underwear (zer-jama) light (roshni), pen (qalam) or juice(mashroob) etc.

Okay, the hybrid language I understand. Everyone does it. Fine, it sounds funny but nothing wrong with it.

The issue I think is more along the lines of Urdu being considered inferior to English in some way. I cannot imagine why anyone would not want to own it when they're Urdu speaking...its so polite and...just nice!

I really hope I can teach my kids Urdu, Inshallah.

I was about to say the same as reha and bebo. I speak 3 languages and there are some words that I end up using regardless of which language i'm speaking.

Urdu (khaalis urdu) is a beautiful language. I wonder if there are any finishing schools that teach tehzeeb in Pakistan or India?

Grandparents: Spoke Pakhto more than Urdu.

Parents: Speak Urdu more than Pakhto.

I: I speak English more than Urdu.

Call it evolution/change of times but the reality is that we are effected by environment more than we care to admit.

Urdu (khaalis urdu) is a beautiful language. I wonder if there are any finishing schools that teach tehzeeb in Pakistan or India?

Grandparents: Spoke Pakhto more than Urdu.

Parents: Speak Urdu more than Pakhto.

I: I speak English more than Urdu.

Call it evolution/change of times but the reality is that we are effected by environment more than we care to admit.

well milk pee lain aur door bund kerain is ok. yehan rehtay we do mix urdu/ eng a lot. ab bhari urdu words are replaced by simple english words and i don’t feel anything bad abt it. haan close close ho ker baithain seems funny :slight_smile:

ooo i truly hateee ppl who act liek they dont know urdu and have the fobbiest accent ever..
come on!! get a life. Love who u r so others can love u 2..

issue is not using hybrid or something......thing is people make an effort to do this.....first the urdu word comes into their head...then they say to themselves' oh..english bolni thi'.....and then they use the english word instead...its this pathetic mindset that is being criticized..

Another common one: “Beta, raat ko soney sey pehley teeth brush kerkey sona ok?”

Personally, I studied Urdu till class 2, being in Saudi and in english medium school, we were taught easy arabic…so no urdu. I used to read the Naunehaal Digest and random urdu stuff. Later when I moved to Pak, I was told that Olevels in Urdu is must, and i did give it but i took Urdu as a second language because the paper of Urdu as a first language was too hard for me…all that tashreeh of shairs and what not. But at home we always spoke only urdu, never english. So my spoken urdu is absolutely fine. My parents regret it that we don’t know urdu as much as they do, judging by the whole bookcase full of urdu islamic literature and history…and well…i find it hard to read urdu books…i get stuck often on difficult words which takes out the enjoyment of reading :bummer:
My point being, I like urdu. I feel embarassed/ashamed that being a pakistani I am supposed to have a headstrong hold of the language as opposed to ..

UGH! That’s just pathetic! This inferiority complex has taken over so much…it is nauseating…
English is taken as a sign of being more educated, never mind how terrible it is spoken. You speak english…you ‘para likha’ !!

And how do we judge that someone is intentionally avoiding urdu words or are just use to speaking like that.
I supose somtimes it can be obvious but not like some of the examples given here.

its quite obvious.....really

Double post!

Urdu as a language stinks. None of the four provinces consider it as their own and seems artificially imposed. It should be abolished from the Pakistani curriculum and instead students should be taught English from day one. If a secondary language is necessary then Arabic should be emphasized so the country can atleast understand what they say during namazes five times a day - instead of narrating like parrots.

Dont get me wrong, the language is suited best for sher-o-shairi and tickles the fancy of a small segment of the population. But this fascination is not shared by all - infact if it was abolished today most in Pakistan wont even know the difference. Especially the folks in west shoul encourage kids to learn english and arabic. Teaching them urdu so they can some day read half-witted drunks like Ghalib - is pointless in this day and age.

^^ and here we gona start urdu V/S other domestic languages debate .. for heaven sake mate !

forget urdu, people even change their names, theres these people we know who went from ANWAR to ANDY...?? i asked him why he was calling himself andy, he said .

"thats my name....
i said " er no its not, its anwar......is it that difficult to pronounce ur real name, or did you think by westernising ur name, ur face would also look english`...

he said its so the english people can pronounce it better,....

"rightttttttttt `..i just laughed at him. luckily he didnt mind, maybe he did. who cares.

another thing. my daughters name is fatima. pronounced faaaatima.....elongate the a.however alot of people pronounce it fatima..elongated thefat`....now all the gorey i told her name to, i ppronounced it faaatima, they repeated it the way i said it. but then these stupid desis who pretend they cant say faaaaatima, say FATima....

so annoying.i had to say to my own aunties who say it like this, indirectly`punjabi to log sai jahil wali mbholti hai, lekin faatima nahi keh sakti..yaha pe angraizi bi bole, even though my gorey friends can say it properly, .

another thing-in school we had choice of languages we could study, my uncle was like dont pick urdu, whats the point?...so i asked him whats the point of picking french/spanish...he said cos one day u may go to france and spain and can speak it there..

right.

his daughters are now 15, 18 and 21. i asked him why he doesnt send his daughters to france/spain, since thats what they picked at school, and because hes a typcial paki man who doesnt send daughters alone anywhere even to the corner shop, didnt say anything...

ANWAR to ANDY??????

Come on Anwar buddy, get your identity straight!

I don't see anything wrong in that. If you are a Pakistani, you will eventually learn Urdu in one way or another (unless you are a Mirpuri). But familiarising yourself with the language completely different from yours is a big bonus and it just makes you put that extra effort into learning. People who know a thing or two about Europe would tell you that French is a pretty useful language to learn. Besides, you don't have to go to France or Spain to speak their national languages, most companies in the UK appreciate if their employees could speak European language.

Or you could go work in Quebec lol