^ agree! If you rebel now then ur chances of gettin’ freedom will get lesser and lesser and in the matters of girls masha’allah desi parents tend to make their daughters get married earlier in that case. Sara you watch out then since u r already in pak…it wouldn’t be a prob to ur phamily Play along my child and NEVER let your inner thoughts about having fun revealed infront of ur parents…they will trust u more then :halo:
alot of u said...gain ur parents trust...get a good job...good grades & they wud trust u more & they r doing it for ur own good...& etc.
I know watever they r doing is for our own good. But this is the age to have fun with ur frenz...go out..stay out late. So once this phrase passes ...even if we are allowed to do all those stuffs we wanted to do before...we wudnt wanna do it now. Har cheez ka ek waqt hota hai & agar us time pe nahin mile...then its no use getting it later.
Like...all my frenz had a pager...i never had one, i practically begged my folks for it but they never allowed me to have one. And now dat i am allowed to have one...i dont want it. Similarly with alot of other things. So maybe by the time u gain their trust..& u wait...maybe then it will be too late.
^ I think she's old enough and mature enough to know what would be a "regrettable" action and it's consequences. Anyway what may be regrettable for one, may not be so for another.
I feel parents put restrictions most of the time cos they feel their kids want to do certain things more for the heck of doing it and cos they're being 'forbidden' from doing it, than actually 'wanting' to do it. Try telling them that you wish to have dinner with your friends at dinner time and not at evening tea time. Tell em these are friends they themselves know and can trust; moreover they're working so they can't meet you earlier than that. Tell em you wish to do a course because you are interested in and wish to pursue the subject it involves and not because the timing is convenient for anyone. What's the point in doing it then? It's not easy but it's all about creating a right balance of winning their trust and at the same time communicating effectively the message that you have infact grown up and matured mentally (an ongoing process) and that thanks to the values instilled in you by them, you know how to look out for yourself.
BECAUSE (in the words of Adam Sandler) my @$$ will wiggle for a week if I ate one. Unlike my brother who can eat two, burp and no one would notice the difference.
Umm, my parents have never told me that I cant hang out with friends and stuff as long as they know where I am, who I am with and what I am doing. Which I have no problem telling them either. My parents Mashallah trust me and know that I wouldnt go out and party and drink and take advantage of the freedom that they have granted me. But the thing is that my nature itself is pretty conservative, and even with all my freedom, I’ve never actually had the urge to go do something rebellious or whatever.
Right now, I am not living at home but if I had a choice I’d rather stay at home. I know a lot of kids always say, Icant wait to get out of here(parents house), but for some reason I’ve never felt like that, cuz it always comes down to the cliche, ‘there’s no place like home’.
Also Ssara, I think the reason you have so many restrictions on you is bcoz you were raised in the US. And parents usually dont know how to handle situations when it comes to their daughters. I dint go to high school in america, went straight to college here and my parents havent had any problems with me hanging out or doing what I want. But my sis did go to high school here and my mom has a lot more trouble giving her permission to do stuff with her friends. I dont know what the reason is. I think she thinks that my sis is prolly alot more rebellious bcoz of her schooling, which to tell you the truth she really isnt.
Sara, I think the best thing for you would be to transfer to a school where commuting back n forth from home everyday would be a prob and therefore you can move closer to campus and live on your own for a while. That way you can have your independence, and you can learn to live on your own like you want to.
Sara, maybe you can talk to your brother. from reading your first post it seems like your brother went thru the same stages as you are. He should be able to understand what you are feeling, and maybe he can talk to your parents that they need to trust you a little more.
Seems like your parents are just afraid...talk to your mother, let her know that you are old enough to know the difference between wrong and right and would never do anything to hurt them.
Also i wonder if your parents are so protective since you live in N.Y??? We have always lived in a small town so my parents have never been so protective of us. i'm sure they would be more protective if we lived in N.Y.