I am not a happy camper these days [split]

Re: I am not a happy camper these days [split]

Okay.....so vitamins, sweet potatoes are good for hair?

Btw, Im using the Obagi Clarifying Serum...did you peel when you used it? Dry flakey skin at all? HOw did you get past it?

quote=B

?

Aaaw man, my post disappeared. I had posted a long response and it went away.

How long have you been using the Obagi clarifying serum? My dermatologist told me that everyone reacts differently to this particular system. She said some people will have light peeling and others will have none. In the beginning I had mild peeling and then it stopped. Only apply the serum to your spots. Wash your face, apply the serum, let it absorb, and then apply your moisturizer. If you’ll be going out during the day time, make sure to apply sunscreen. Give it a few weeks to fade out the spots. Your acne marks are actually composed of several skin layers…so they’re pretty deep and it will take some time to fade them out.

I’ve noticed that you’ve been eating yogurt. Has that helped in reducing your break outs? Yogurt and cranberry juice helped prevent my breakouts considerably. And sweet potatoes are considered the most nutritious vegetable because they have exactly the nutrients your skin and hair depend upon (vitmain A, C, E, B, zinc, iron, potassium, fiber). And they provide energy for working out/weight lifting. And I just read on a website that sweet potatoes are a celebrity secret for healthy hair. But check this link below.

The Top 10 Beauty Foods- Diet Blog
The #1 Food Secret for Beautiful Skin

Reha, have you heard from Mina? When is her wedding to take place? It's been a while and I hope she's doing okay.

Aisha,

My serum came a week ago and have been using it everyday for a week now…so far Ive noticed some peeling and dry skin so I need some serious moisturizing. I went and got some Aveeno…its heavy but not cakey. I just want to make sure it was normal, thats all. Hopefully, it will help take away my scars…my face also feels tighter when I use it. Yours? I do use a high SPF when I leave the house…SPF 40 because Ive got sensitive skin. That and Im drinking a lot more water…

Im going to look into sweet potatoes…dnt know if I will like them but I will try to. :slight_smile: Ive had sweet potato fries before with salt and pepper and they were pretty good. How do you make your sweet potato? Do you bake it? Or fry it? :frowning: LOL.

I have been eating yogurt, yes and so far (knock on wood) my breakouts have been under control! That was a GREAT tip and seems to be working not only on that front but it also helps me eat lesser during the day if I have some yogurt before my meal. Kwim? Yeah, I like it a lot. Thank you for the suggestion Aisha :hug: it helped a ton!

I know she is getting married this weekend…Inshallah everything will go well. Im not sure if its this Saturday or Sunday but its this weekend for sure. She is probably nervous and I dont blame her. But knowing her, she will pull everything off divinely. I have a feeling it will go well!!! Im just dying to see her pictures!!! I cant waaaaaaaaaaaiit! LOL.

Aisha you will LOVE Sense and Sensibility. Its got the same problem though…might take a few pages to get into but you WILL like it. I saw Persuasion somewhere in my house too…might pick that one up. I havent it. Let me know how you like it? :slight_smile:

Hmmm, Reha, the clarifying serum didn't make my face tight. Did you only buy the serum? Did your dermatologist only prescribe the serum?

So, in a few words, what the hell is this thread about?

It's about anything that interests you. This thread is a break from the usual troubles plaguing desi society. You can discuss books, movies, hobbies, events, likes and dislikes, funny stories, etc.

Has anyone read Salman Rushdie’s satanic verses? There was a documentry on the BBC about him last week… i’m keen to see for myself what the deal was with it… :hmmm:

He received a lot of criticism for it from Muslims. Salman Rushdie looks scary. Especially his upturned eyebrows......creepy looking.

I know he received a lot of criticism......i lived through it! Ayatolla Khomeini of Iran even issued a fatwa agianst him..... i'm just curious as i never got the chance to pick up the book and read it. Just wanted to know if anyone has actually read it....

he is scary looking... looks like my Chemistry teacher i had in the early 90's... man the trouble that guy got because of the similarity between him and Rushdie :CareBear:

So, here's a random thought.......i think cleft chins (chin with line/dimple in it) are really hot on guys. Um....not so much if the guy is also sporting a double chin, lol. But a nice well defined and lean jaw with a cleft chin......is hot! Anyone else notice that? Anyone? Reha?

Okay so I tried baked sweet potato with chaat masala and it was alright. And today I tried baked sweet potato with maple syrup which isn't bad. The problem is.....I don't like mushy foods. They make me gag not because of taste....but mostly because of the texture. I would never eat oatmeal.....cuz its too mushy. And sweet potatoes are a bit dry and mushy. They say that eating a sweet potato provides u with energy for up to 3 hours. And i think it's true because after I had one yesterday....I felt more energized during my eveneing jog. I want to include them in my diet because they are soo healthy....but how do I get rid of the mushiness? I don't want to fry them cuz it's not as healthy. Any ideas would be welcome!

I only bought the serum because I have a good cleanse, Ive got the sunscreen so all I really needed was the serum. But Im finding some peeling happening and was wondering if you went through that and if you did, what did you use to moisturize? Should I just get the Obaji moisturizer? My derm prescribed the whole system but I picked up only the serum.

I call them butt-chins and I find them HOT! lol.

I dont know how to make a sweet potato at all...maybe this is a good thread for Household? There have got to be some good recipes out there for sweet potatoes!

Reha,

I used the moisturizer from the system because I bought the entire thing. Later on I found out that many people just buy the the product that they need instead of buying the whole kit (to save money). That's why i suggested you buy the clarifying serum to save you the money.

You can buy the exfoliating lotion and the night cream. They both also contain hydroquinione. You can skip the Obagi sunscreen because it makes sanwli skin look chalky. If you're satisfied with your glycolic wash cleanser...then you can choose to skip the Obagi cleanser.

If you buy the lotion and the cream, this is how your routine will go. You will wash your face with your cleanser, then apply the serum to spot/dark areas. Then you will apply the exfoliating lotion. This lotion is only used during the day time. And since its purpose is to exfoliate the skin.....you might experiene some peeling. The peeling is actually a good thing because your skin needs to shed old skin to get new fresher brighter skin. Some people peel whereas others don't. It's a system that you have to use consistently and inshAllah you'll see fading of spots and brightening of complexion.

At night, wash face with cleanser, and apply the night cream.

The products are supposed to lighten marks, even skin tone, make it more radiant and smooth, and reduce appearence of fine lines. My cousin had some dark spots around her mouth area and she used only a couple of the Obagi products a few weeks before her wedding and the result was amazing. Her skin was so luminous. I hope it will work for you as well.

I'm kinda liking this thread where people posts such enormously huge posts....Red velvet surely takes the cake!

thanks for the cake if you are offering
we will share

nahi share kia tu main thongay mar loon gha

bahut achche!