I am new here and need a style check!

Kasam Khuda ki yar! :CareBear:

Re: I am new here and need a style check!

heheeh

I'm slightly taller ... 5' 7-8"

I'm a uk size 12 ... I was a US 4/5 ... not sure what that is here in the UK, I think 8 ish ... but gained alot of weight after I had my son. Over the years I have lost it gradually ... thought i joined the gym to loose the last piling pounds But it didnt work .. i would just end up eating more however, i did tone up qutie well.. Now I dont have time for gym cuz of work ... however I'm always watching what I eat.. Soon as i start munching, i start gaining weight =(

if u feel okay in short kameezes, then thats fine!! just leave it ... it was just something i didnt like on myself ... and just something for u to think about .. everyone is different with different body shapes ... just try to learn wat works for u :)

ya ... dont make the shirts too tight .. alot of women make them skin tight thinking the look skinner when its the opposite! but dont be like my sis and look as though ur wearing a bag :p

what are capris? boot cut trousers with a sensible length kameez will look nice perhaps ...

yes, if u dont have very wide hips or no hips at all ... u could keep the wdith of the bottom of ur kameez slightly smaller ... soo ur kameez will almost look like a 'V' ... but it shouldnt be noticeable if u know what i mean ... or if u like to wear a round kameez .. make it more oval/egg shape and not soo round ... so it gives it 'length' and it looks longer .. which will make u look longer ... :)

if i think of other things i will let u know .. good luck :)

cmon... u dunno what is a capri pant? its so common these days. stylobabe also recommended it. search it up on google. I am definitely gona get some capri with kameez stitiched. No, my dresses are not too baggy. they are loose, atleast 2-3 inches from waist and same for chest but I dunno think its baggy. I infact, can never be confident and happy in a bit fitting shalwar kameez. you know i am all for fitting clothes but it just beats me... why do overweight, fat or obese woman are so adamant abt wearing fittin clothes when their flesh, bulges, layers of fat can be seen on the whole body.... I mean are they blind, cant they see their clothes are literally ripping off... its that tight. Thaz the only prb with paki women... they wear fitting, even if they look fat in it. Its so disgusting really!

^^hehehe as my frnd says some of the ladies like showing of the flesh (with due respect to anyone who would mind wot am saying) but really mall they would wear sleevless or deep necks anything to look vulgar.......btw i will hafto find a magazine i once read a really good article on body shapes and dresses in an indian mag named femina india u could easily get tht in dubai :D haina?

oh, no wonder i dont know about them … i dont like showing my legs :halo:

but i do remember buying a pair from pak and didnt understand why they were short embarrassed

well i would get a hormone checkup with the doctor cuz the fat distribution sounds like you have excess cortisol (stress hormone). this hormone also promotes weight gain around the waist, and indirectly might cause you to have excess hair.

^^hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

lol @ precious princess

showing flesh is one thing but showing fat is another. I mean, you know you have unnecessary and definitely unappealing fat on your arm, stomach or etc, why show it off and end up looking preg! displaying flesh on hips and right places is always ok... atleast it is tasteful.

Mall

are you excercising? I only read some of the above replies so not sure whether you have already mentioned this.

Mall, I'd reccomend that you workout on the "target" key area's first and as jalebi said get u're hormones checked as well.

Lawn actually sticks in all the "wrong" places and gives a fleshier look than soft,flowy fabric such as chiffon. If u're upper body is heavy then you shud opt for 2 seperate colors (top & bottom) to give u a balanced look. More importantly it's abt the necklines, collars and cuts of the outfits u get made.

A square "gala" will make u appear broader and a well defined "sweetheart gala" will make u look curvy in all the right places. Stay away from anarkali's and "A-line" kameez'es.

And for anymore information contact me, i'm an image consultant AND based in Dubai. Hope u try the above mentioned tricks! The rest I can give once i've either seen u or a pic.

what's a "sweetheart gala" gina?

Sajal, if you read the subject of my post.... i need a style check not weight check :P No, right now I am not exercising but I plan to Inshallah.... but that is not the whole point. I am interested in knowing what would suit me according to my body type only :)

Thanks Gina... I know you are from Dubai. I have been reading the forums since 2 months. I agree with whatever you said. I dont like square gala either. What is a sweetheart gala and "A-line" kameez. Would really appreciate if you could post some pics of both. I have never tried anarkali or even very long kameez with capris or pants for that matter. I will definitely make one dress. The only prob is I have to wait till Dec before I go to Pak cus I dont like either the cloth or the tailors here in Dubai.
I wanted to ask you all, would a sherwani gala, collar style look gud on me. I have tried collar style but not sherwani. I would really love if you could posr sherwani gala pics and tell me how much should it be in size. I have seen both normal and big size sherwani gala.
Thanks again Gina for the help. Much appreciated.

Sorry I had over looked that. In that case you got some good advice from Gina. Good luck with everything. :)

Hey all,
*Here are a few tips I found over the internet. I found them particularly interesting and useful for my body type. *

Hey all,
Here are a few tips I found over the internet. I found them particularly interesting
and useful for my body type.

ü Avoid Organza or any stiff cloth if you want to look slimmer.
ü Don't choose clothes that are too tight. Clothes that fit well will make you appear slimmer while tight clothes will only add pounds. (That is what I keep saying, but everyone here insists I wear a lil fitting or Ill look baggy... well heres to you)
ü Wear tops or dresses that have a scoop neckline with half or long sleeves to hide heavy arms and draw attention to the face and neck.
ü To lengthen your legs wear slim, straight leg pants.
ü Long sleeves should hit just at the wrist bone.
ü Pleats add pounds. If you want to look larger through the hips, wear pleats. If you don't, avoid pleats! · If clothes don't fit, have them altered. If they don't fit, they'll remain in the closet.

Almost all these points have already been mentioned by you all. I wanted to talk about the last point. I think I would need some pleats on hips, cus I have flat hips. I have seen pics of pleats on google but it didn’t make sense to me. How and where will they pleats on my kameez to make my hips look fuller? If the pics that I have seen on google will be put on hips... i think itll be very weird???? Please advise!

I found a great site where you can see different kinds of dresses and necklines.

Gina, Stylobabe, precious princess, all the stylish ladies out there: I NEED YOUR ADVICE..... NOW! :)

Hey all,
*Here are a few tips I found over the internet. I found them particularly interesting and useful for my body type. *
Avoid Organza or any stiff cloth if you want to look slimmer.
Don't choose clothes that are too tight. Clothes that fit well will make you appear slimmer while tight clothes will only add pounds.
Wear tops or dresses that have a scoop neckline with half or long sleeves to hide heavy arms and draw attention to the face and neck.
Clothes in solid colours with simple lines will make you appear taller.
To lengthen your legs wear slim, straight leg pants.
Long sleeves should hit just at the wrist bone.
Pleats add pounds. If you want to look larger through the hips, wear pleats. If you don't, avoid pleats! · If clothes don't fit, have them altered. If they don't fit, they'll remain in the closet.
Almost all these points have already been mentioned by you all. I wanted to talk about the last point. I think I would need some pleats on hips, cus I have flat hips. I have seen pics of pleats on google but it didn’t make sense to me. How and where will they pleats on my kameez to make my hips look fuller? Please advise!
Gina, Stylobabe, precious princess, all the stylish ladies out there: I NEED YOUR ADVICE!!! J

nice tips u got above yesterday i saw really nice tips on a site too but they were for western dressing acha abt pleats in our desi kameez the pleats are at the back just above ur hips e.g in this pic… this is the back of a shirt bold black is the zip and the red lines are the pleats…all the tailors in pak know abt it so dun worry

here i found another pic of pleats on the back

^Stylo, pleats on the back will draw attention to her back and that she doesn't want =)

marwah, i'm looking for an example of a "sweetheart gala"

Mall, an A-line kameez is tapered at the top and flares out at the bottom. If u have a heavy bust this wudn't look flattering at all. I'd try and incorporate diff styles of damans and sleeves into u're outfits to draw attention away from u're upper body.

Once again chose soft fabrics that drape well and contour u're body-type rathar than the "clinging" lawns!

If you don't have heavy hips and thighs you can def opt for capri's, but if you do they'll make u're hips appear larger.

Embelish u're outfits with sequins and adorn them with pretty laces around the sleeves and daman of the kameez, wil def work for you.

Stay clear of large prints and select small prints and pair it with a single color shalwar/capri.