I am new here and need a style check!

hi guys! I am new and very excited to be part of the forum. For many months now, I have been reading posts on fashion and latest trends.

Let me introduce myself a bit. I am 25 year old female, married since 2 1/2 years (no kids) and working in UAE. I think in all honesty, I didnt dress decently, let alone, fashionably, before marriage. But after marriage I have become this shoes and purse obsessed person and obviously you cant do much with these unless you have good clothes so I started taking keen interest in my clothes (I mostly bought lawn clothes) and started matching them perfectly with shoes, purse, jewerelly etc. But no one is perfect and I am still learning… thanks to you guys! (I love the pics some of you guys post of your dresses!!)

The problem is I am a bit overweight. I am 5’6 and very broad. The lower part of my body is ok but just the upper portion (I have really broad shoulders have ALOT of flesh on the upper back area (where you put bra strap). . It is so embarassing I cant tell you. I literally look like Salman Khan!!! (I am being very blunt and honest so when I tell you, I really mean it). Sigh… in addition to THAT, I have a big tummy, I look atleast 4-5 months preg :frowning: Because of this I have to make sure my kameez is loose from chest and waist (I put atleast 2-3 inches loose). People ask me why I dont wear fitting clothes. How the hell do I tell them I look like a pakka Salman Khan if I do. Cmon, who would like to see a woman having broad shoulders and a 32 inch waist, really? Anyway, do you guys have any ideas, cus my weight doesnt stop me from trying to look pretty… I want to look stylish and fasionable, always. Maybe you guys can guide me as to what would suit on me. Please dont say the so common sentence, wear V neck. I hate V necks!

I am just loving being here and wish to keep in touch with all of you thru this wonderful forum!

Love and kisses!!

LOL @ salman khan.
thats soo funny.

Anyway, thats the one issue I've had to deal with after my first when I had gained alot of weight as well.I HATED it . Sadly , you'd have to loose some weight for that to go away, no easy way out :(

hahaha! I know, people get really amused when I say I have a body like Salman Khan.... it makes me laugh too when I think about it! :P I guess yea, theres no way out than to lose weight. The problem is whenever I gain weight, I gain weight in the upper back area first and face, neck etc. Its sooooo sickening!

Re: I am new here and need a style check!

hey u r just 25 i think u should start excercising and a lil bit attention of ur diet would do u good a lot of fat is not good for ur health u might be knowing that so plz iether consult a dietician or u urself can do sumthing abt it ....

abt clothes i think u should wear dark colour clothes ...black makes u look thinner ....wear verticle stripes ...if u have heavy arms dun wear sleevless or really short sleeves.....if u dun like V necks wear U shaped necks ...dont wear dhoti shalwars and short shirts........ok heres my tip try a black dress wid long black shirt n straight pants or capris :D i know u would look good and ofcourse dont forget a good haircut and nice makeup

with all honesty .. first of all , stop making fun of yourself. That is bad for self esteem. And if you hurt your own self esteem, you are going to pull your self away from any success, be it health or anything else

Agree with what TLK said. If you feel beautiful you look beautiful. Now coming to how you dress yourself.. avoid loose clothing. It wont hide your problem areas… itll make you look fat and shapeless :smack: Play around with different colors.. but go with a monochromatic look… umm oh yeah be careful with accessories… nothing too chunky around your neck… go for longer necklaces, thinner belts.. oh yeah accentuate the good assets (im sure you have one area you love) to draw attention away from problem areas and final thing.. posture! It makes a world of a difference! Good luck :slight_smile:

Oh cmon! I dont think I made FUN of myself and trust me, my self esteem is NOT low at the moment! I guess, you call this being 'brutally honest', nothing else. I am sure I didnt sound desperate too! So there. Anyway, I have a positive approach to life. I believe one should be able to laugh at themselves, take things in a light way... as it is, there are alot of problems in life.

I apologize, my intention was not to give you any lecture, just to add my two cents worth :)

visit some plus size fashion ware websites. That will give you good idea of whats in and whats not

i agree and tht shows how confident u r about urself .....lafing at ur ownself dusnt show low self esteem......btw am quite skinny and now tht am gaining weight guess wot i tell ppl i look like yeah a pregnant lady my tummy looks so ugly...k dun ask.....btw i agree wid someone above who said abt posture ......

:hmmm: Awareness of own’s short coming and laughing on it are 2 different things. I dont know how the later would help improving anything

Gosh stylo, I have seen some of your dress pics. You have a good style sense. I really want to see your engagement pics... (you arent married yet, are you). Is there any way I can see them???
After following the forums for more than 2 months, I can say, undoubtedly you are one of the most stylish peeps here! Keep it up! :)

Hey hey, it is good to know your short comings and it is even better if you laugh it off (dont take that literally, read any mag, self help book and they say that). laughing it off means you are aware of the thing and you are taking it lightly. If i start becoming ultra sensitive to people’s comments about my weight, its gonna make me feel all the more depressed. So just have a smile on your face, be confident, know you are pretty and dress according to your body type. That is what I do and I have been successful in proving myself a fashionasta! :slight_smile: I rest my case.

Can we stop talking about the laughing matter now please. Thanks

point well taken ... okie dokie .. no more talk about laughing ..'

I am waise bhi, bohut serious guy

Is baat se hi andaza laga lo bhaiya, that if i was not confident why on earth would I pass comments or make hilarious comparisons with Salman Khan? I mean, I know my body type, I know my weakness, and I am admitting it. I just need you guys help, thaz all. Otherwise, achi bhali surat hia kasam se. I just have to kick my ass and get down to some exercising!

heyyyy my pix were up in the wedding section twice and i made the mods take them off :bummer: … :CareBear: so now maybe i can email them to u or something no am not married yet…hey thanks loads for all the appreciation btw seeing the above post am sensing u r a fashion godess too :slight_smile: …i love it when ppl think like tht “So just have a smile on your face, be confident, know you are pretty and dress according to your body type”

Ji aap ne sahi kahaa .. exercise might be the best solution ..

Inshallah it will do ..

waise our food is also a killer .. I cant name one healthy desi food. and then you live in dubai .. and I cant name one healthy Middle Eastern food either ..

But exercise should do .. swimming, bicycling, jogging .. all are good stuff

hey malll ... i think we have the same body shape but i dont look pregnant ... i have a more of less flat tummy ... so im not sure how my suggestions will work for u .... but they are wat i used to follow or avoid. good luck!

I will suggest what other ppl have done so here ... there is no easy way out ... exercise and diet is the best way to loose that excess fat!

But i Know thats not wat u asked :)

Soo .. some tips ...

try not to wear ur clothes too baggy ... i understand about being comfortable but do remember to give your outfits 'shape' ... even if its just to accentuate ur waiste ... thats what i mainly go for. or perhaps adding pleates to the front and back? that didnt used to work for me before but since Iv lost some weight, they actually make me look thinner now than wider. i think u just need to mess around with different styles and shapes and see what works for ya ...

vertical lines or prints will make u look thinner and horizontal will most likely make u look wider.

dark colors make u look thinner ... i love black ... its my fav color and the fact tht i always look thinner is an added bonus :D

i try always have deep necklines ... not to deep though, do need to be careful ... but iv noticed if my neckline is too high, then i look chubbier ...

always opt for longer kameez than shorter ...

kameez with a round kayrah makes me look chubbier ...

if ur gonna wear short sleeves ... i make sure the arms are at least go up just above my elbows ... though im getting shorter and shorter with them as im loosing the weight ...

if ur shoulders are broader than ur hips .. then you can try making the bottom of ur kameez slightly smaller width ... i know alot of women will keep the width of the bottom of the kameez the same as the top ... but that doesnt have to be the case ... this one prolly sounds confusing so let me know if u want me to clarify further ... both my sis and i do this cuz we dont have much hips and skinner legs compared to the rest of our body.

iv only started wearing belts now ... i used to avoid the completely before cuz belts will only make u look wider ...

I've just mentioned asian clothes .. if u need advice on western clothes, let me know (im getting late for work, will need to do that in another post) ... and if u need any help on choosing what exercises to do aswell, i'm here to help :)

Couldnt agree more. Our food is a killer... but middle eastern is not that bad I tell you, esp lebanese food, i.e, taboouleh, fatoush, grilled tikkas etc. YUM!

Wowww! that was extremely helpful... so kind of you! Congrats on losing weigh? How much did you lose and how much do you weigh now, whats your height? Do share your secret on losing weight :) I do wear short sleeves but they are a bit above the elbow. Infact I used to wear alot of shrt sleeves and I thot I looked slim in them! :P But now I wear quarter sleeves in almost all my clothes. I tried wearing short kameez too, but I dunno if it made me look fat or not. But i will definitely stop that and start wearing medium or long shirts. I am gonna try capris or pants too. I think you mean we should keep our kameez daaman smaller.. will that make me look slim? I dont wear belts or anything. On 32 inch waist, i dun think so! duh! I rarely wear western clothes. Only on picnics, office or when I am out shopping. For formal parties I only wear shalwar kameez. So I am not very bothered about western. It is a bit embarassing for me. I look good in jeans but the upper portion makes me look so manly... i hate it!!! that is why I do not wear tight clothes... i get your point that loose clothes do not accentuate your figure. But then whats the point thora tight kapray pehannay ka when my tummy is gonna come out. I tried that, I made from waist a bit tighter but then I would look preg with the big bulges! so I make loose from that area too. Anyway, even if i want to, I cant make waist area too tight cus then my shoulders will b prominent and again, sigh, I will end up looking like SALLU bhai! :D I am sure you get it now!

^oai yaar waisay salu bhai bhe hum sai acha hai atleast he doesnt have a pregnat looking stomach :CareBear: