I am a U.S Citizen

Re: I am a U.S Citizen

Jab hamaarey chaacha ko Amreeki citizenship mili thi to woh Amreeka ka Qaumi-Taraanah parrney ke bajaaey “Paak Sar Zameen Shaadbaad, Khishwar-e-Haseen Shaadbaad” gaaey jaa rahey the, we always have a chuckle about that… It’s not that he doesn’t appreciate America, he just didn’t know the American one so he sang “Pak Sar Zameen…” for both countries.

Ham khud Britanvi hain, Amreeki naheen.. :snooty:

Lekin sach bataaen to Angrezon ne kabhi Inglistani mehsoos naheen honey diya, I like this country lekin apnapun sa naheen hota, I don’t feel the same jazba on hearing “God save the Queen” as I do when I hear “Paak Sar Zameen”, I’m born here but I spent a bit of my childhood in Pak and that’s the part that’s crystal clear like yesterday, my childhood in this country even though 5 times longer is a blur…

By the way Mubaarak ho..

Trust me, this is very fast. You have to have the green card for at least 5 years (employment based green cards) before you can even apply for Citizenship. I got mine back in in 2002.

I withdrew from my canadian immigration when my Green Card went thru. This was back in 2001 when I had the Canadian Immigration but I never landed. Some of my friends were living in windsor and working in Detroit. It sounded like a good idea since I was working in Detroit anyway. I applied and got it but my GC was near anyway so I gave up on it.

I know what you are saying. Your price goes up high in the shadi market back home once you have a blue passport.

How are you feeling now? Did you get it all checked? :wink:

Thanks for asking bhai, I feel slightly better after Dr. Nescio and Sehar said it sounds treatable..

Appointment is tomorrow, abhi abhi ghusal-khaaney se hajaamat kar ke aaya houn.. Dua keejiyey ga, meri to tuttiyaan nikley ja rahi hain..

wat is US citizenship mean to u? (btw congratz)

^ being citizen, we can now really call it a home

^ y u bothered to have this feeling? (n ya congratz to u aswell)

when u know

Your Christ is Jewish
Your car is Japanese
Your pizza is Italian

And your couscous Algerian
Your democracy is Greek
Your coffee is Brazilian
Your watch is Swiss
Your shirt is Indian
Your radio is Korean
Your holidays are Turkish
Tunisian or Moroccan
Your numerals are Arabic
Your writing is Latin
And … you accuse your neighbor of being foreign.

From an Anti-Racism poster that appeared on the streets of Berlin in 1994

mujhe kabhi samj nehe ai…
y is it such a big deal to be a citizen or the united states???
y is it such a “milestone”

honestly… is it really gonna change ur life in a huge way?
i mean yea congrats… laikin if given the choice, i would be much more proud to call my self a Pakistani than a US citizen…
it wasnt such a big deal with i did it… am i wierd? :bummer:

That’s the beauty… and btw my shirt is not Indian :hoonh:

It is “important” to have it, it carries advantages as you don’t need ‘visa’ for many countries whereas with Pakistani passport you need visas to anywhere. Its not like I will be a billionaire suddenly or I will become anti-religious or full-religious after this. Its just one milestone of “my” plans, not a “milestone” of some “achievement”.

BTW, having this citizenship doesn’t mean I am not proud of Pakistani, I still am :jhanda:

INSHA ALLAH u will accomplish what ever u plan
i wasnt talking abt just u… i meant over all
desi’s (and mexicans) think its suck a big deal to be a US citizen… i never understood y… just cuz u dont wanna get deported???
well u wont get deported if u dont enter illegaly and come up with some lame story to make ur self stay. the government is tired of providing tissues for all these sob stories.

u dont need a visa?.. now that ur gonna hold a US passport… ur going to need a visa to get into PAKISTAN!.. doesnt that make u feel a bit akward?

again.. im not attacking u, just using u as an example while stating my opinion and making a general statement

n b4 everyone starts to bash on me...
that "mexican" statement was partially joke and parcially a valid comment

thank you and have a nice day :)

No, I don't need a visa to Pakistan because I still have my Pakistani passport :)

^ i thought u dont need ny visa if u hold blue/red passport, despite u have pakistani or not :konfused:

ya ya i know it is MADE IN CHINA :cb:

Congratulations! :hula:

you do need a visa, these kind of issues “need a visa” are usually ‘bilateral’ ie. if a Pakistani needs a visa for US then a US citizen would need a Pakistani visa to visit Pakistan.

Congratz to both of you. It will be interesting to see who you both vote for in the next Presidential election. Last night I was watching the democratic debate and it featured a new U.S citizen...I have seen most of them go Democrat.