i accept i am wrong but it doesn't help

i am 24 years old. i didn’t have a very good childhood because i lived in a joint family system and my mom had fights with my grandmother and she used to take her anger out on me and then it become her habit. i sorta know she loves me but she didn’t treat me very well when i was younger and even now. then i was told my all my family that i am not very pretty (and that was somehow my fault) uptill i was 15 years old i was under a horrible case of inferior complex but ALHAMDULILAH i over came that.
i had a very unhappy childhood because of all that.
right now i am in college and i feel like this is so far the best time of my life because i don’t stay at home as much so i don’t have to deal with all the drama at home.

i always wished that my life would get better when i will get married. ever since i was kid i imagined my self getting married at the age of 18 and get away from my family and live with my husband who would love and care for me. (despite the fact i am not pretty)

but i am 24 and unmarried because there hasn’t been a decent proposal. :frowning:

the problem is that i get very jealous and unhappy when i see happy people. friends, family, and even the people i don’t know like if i read a news about a tv actor getting marry or something.

one of my friends just got married, she is a year younger than me and the youngest sister so she is very ladli. i have always envied her, and now she has gotten married so that is constantly making me depressed.

it’s not that i don’t want her to be happy, i wish her a happy life. and i also know that ALLATHALA has different plans for everyone and when my time will come i will be married and happy. but i still get depressed and constantly feel unhappy.

i hate my self, i hate being such a horrible person, but i just can’t help feeling sad.

what should i do?

Re: i accept i am wrong but it doesn't help

get your self busy with job, hobbies. Empty mind is devil's factory (working over time that is).

Are you into some sports? like playing sports?

Re: i accept i am wrong but it doesn’t help

Wow, welcome to my world.

I have a similar history, although not quite as extreme. My mom has called me names when I was growing up and Dad made a comment once about how I was too skinny and he was getting comments about that from his friends. :rolleyes: Both of my parents have really outgrown that and are much more supportive now, and I probably take better care of my appearance now than I did in the past. Well, only for work. If I’m not at work, I don’t care about putting on make-up or doing my hair so I look as I look, and I don’t give a *%$#.

Here are some suggestions:

1. Write out 10 great qualities about yourself and remind yourself of those qualities.

2. Get some hobbies.

3. Go out with friends who DO compliment you and your appearance.

4. Focus on developing yourself as a human being, and work on accomplishing things at school and in your career - you can generate a great deal of self-esteem through that.

5. Appearances are whatever. Not one of us women looks amazing without some make-up or grooming. There are a few who look gorgeous when they get out of bed, but they still take good care of their skin and grooming overall to look like that (moisturizing, waxing, plucking, facials, manicures/pedicures, etc). So work on those things.

6. Excercise and eat healthy - that alone can make your skin glow. When I fixed my diet and exercise, my acne goes away, scars heal faster, I sleep better and my face looks more relaxed - and your natural beauty just shines. If you’re not eating right/not working out/ not doing normal routine grooming / are not rested - you will look your worst.

7. Make-Up. It does wonders.

Re: i accept i am wrong but it doesn’t help

what do u think marriage will solve all ur problems???shadi k baad jese baray kisi ne bitha k laddu khilanay hain na:snooty:..aisi hee hoti hai shaadi bhi

dude, i am a full time engineering student. trust me i do not have free time. but just other day i was sitting in my class and during lecture i started thinking about all that and it happens a lot. it doesn't matter how busy i am, i still manage to feel lost, depressed and a LOSER :(

And the fact that you haven't met anyone yet - it might have more to do with you not being outgoing enough, or just not being in the right place at the right time.

I now look good, am happy, and doing good for myself, and I am nearly 27. Still no Rishtaa. Join the club.

What your mother did wasn't right. Parents do things which we'll never understand but you must forgive her. Everyone makes mistakes. Also, you're right, Allah has different plans for everyone. Getting married isn't the only thing in this world. I honestly thought for a long time that it was. But, there is so much to life. Love yourself and surround yourself with things that make you happy. Try new things, do what you've always wanted. Don't be jealous of anyone, wish the best for them because happiness truly lies in seeing others happy as well. When it's your turn, Allah will find you someone that truly loves you and thinks your beautiful, and inshAllah that's when you'll see yourself through his eyes. I honestly wish you well.

sorry for being personal but r u outgoing now and do u have a bf now??

you are one brave girl but don't let yourself indulge in self-pity or self-hate, they can be very destructive traits. my advice would be not to put all your faith and hopes in a marriage to fix all your problems, your expectations are too high, no one can fix our problems for us or take them away, only we have the ability to do so.

i know its easier said than done, but its important to find peace and happiness within yourself first, build self-confidence and have faith in your personal strengths and abilities before moving on. good luck.

…well i thought marriage will solve my problem when i was 12 years old and just had a argument with mother and i thought about my cousin’s wife who had just gotten married at the age of 18 and how happy she was and how everyone was spoiling her (she is now mother of 4 kids, still very pretty but had gain ton of weight, and she fights with her MIL 24/7) but that idea sort of got stuck in my mind and i thought i can’t really have messed up life twice, if i have a bad childhood i must have a good married life.
or what ever, at that time i just wanted to get away from my family.

but now i really do want to get married, one by one i have lost all my good friends to marriage cuz now they all are so busy with their husband and kids, and don’t have time for me :frowning:

thank so much for all the suggestion. as i said before i did over come my inferior complex after i truned 17 i guess.
it’s not that i feel ugly anymore it’s just that i don’t feel needed and wanted. and not getting a decent proposal has just increased those feeling.

right now i am just not liking my feelings toward the people who are happy and more successful in life. like my friend who just got married. i am so jealous of her that just looking at her wedding picture brought tears in my eyes.
i don’t want to be that way.

Good suggestions above, but, none of those will work unless you get yourself into a different frame of mind. Which is to like yourself. Stop viewing yourself based upon other peoples comments or behavior.

i don't have anything against her in my heart anymore. but i still feel bad about losing my childhood.
and just because i get jealous of my friends doesn't mean i want bad for them, sometimes when i feel jealous i ask my self would i be happy if they don't have what is making me jealous and ALHAMDULILAH i never wish bad for them. but it just those stupid feelings that won't go away, the more i see successful happy people i more i feel my self as a loser :(

it's all right i don't mind it at all.

well, i guess i am outgoing but due to religious reasons i don't have a boyfriends and i don't hang around with guys also. i do have guys in my class but i don't really communicate with them more then what is needed for the class purposes.
i don't want to go around dating guys in order to find a husband. i don't want to do a sunnah (marriage) by going through gunnah.

you are right, i do rely on marriage to much to have my problems fixed. i try not to but at the times of complete darkness around me, i see marriage as the only way out and then i can't help not expecting too much from it. i guess maybe it's just the easy way out for me, and sometimes i get scared that what if marriage doesn't exactly turn out to be what i have been expecting from it. and i think if that happens i will be completely devastated.
but INSHALLAH i hoping to fix my self because god forbid anything like this happens.

It's normal to get the jealous/envy feelings when you feel like something is missing in your life. And I think all of us go through it at some point or the other. The best way for you to overcome it is to imagine those who are less fortunate than you. Just two days ago, I watched a documentary on this woman who has two daughters with severe cases of osteoporosis- a very, very poor family who earn barely 4-5,000 a month. The father has sold his blood many times to provide for his children. I have seen Depilex (salon in Pakistan) videos where women, burnt with acid by their family/husbands, work. Stuff like that makes me shiver, we are so blessed, really.

Look around you, count your blessings. It's a cruel world out there, people are suffering in much worse ways than you can imagine. You have a shelter, you have food, you have clothes to wear. Think of the homeless, the needy who have to spend nights on the streets, dig garbage for food, don't even have money to afford clothes. What you're describing are valid issues, yes, but not big enough to take over your mind and life.

I have been through my share of envying people, and at one point I felt as if maybe I didn't have all that because I was so busy whining about what I don't have that I forgot to be grateful for everything Allah swt has blessed me with. And I'm scared of being ungrateful because I feel that I will realize it's worth only when I lose what I have. The biggest lesson I have learnt in life is that the best is yet to come. There is a time and place for everything, and you will have what you want.. in due time. Take your life as it comes. The grass may look greener on the other side but everyone has problems. If you keep on thinking others have it all, you will never be happy with your own life, and will waste your time and energy. Instead, focus on the positive things in your life and be very, very grateful. Anytime you have these jealousy/envy feelings, read duas and wish to be happy for those people instead of being sad. Wish well for them, and just say shukr alhumdulillah for what you have.

^^ nice words:)

:hayaa:

wow PCG this is very much RV’s class advise!!! Good job

salam there i dont mean to say anything that hurts u buts u cant even imagine what relation i had gone through with my parents ..........but at the end they are our parents i had many anger and bombs lol in me that u cant even imagine same is the case with my sis too as a result she became a wild person but i just kept on telling her not to worry Allah is there ......all deeds have to answerable ...think positive u know i just thought that my mom never grewed she is her self a childish person...i just made my mind that nothing to take on my self.so dont worry but again marrige is no key plz plz dont think that marring will get u out of it ur the one who has to go through out i thought of the same that i will get married and move away but u know i got so possasive as i always want my hubby to be with me and thats wrong he has has his own works..his job his family so the thing chnged me totallly so there is no going away just u are the one to help u .....as other says let ur self to be bizyyyyyyyy as i did and i studied a lot to kepp me away from all the mess.
so Allah bless u and calm down and another thing which i though my self that is i have nothing to be worried of as if i see other people situation there is a lot more bad in there lifes and mine is nothing.:)

and dont worry about it inshAllah u will get a lovely husband trust on Allah and say ur prayers and make dua a lot........trust life can be more easy and when negative comes recites suras ,darud-e-shareef .and u will feel more more better.
regards

How do you know for certain that life will get BETTER once you get married? Why do you deem marriage as the solution to all your problems? That is neither a reasonable nor a healthy outlook.

I'm not saying that you will have a bad marriage. I sincerely hope that your marriage is a successful one. But......there ARE girls who got married at an age that desi society would highly approve of..............and they're miserable.

Only a couple of days ago, I was talking to a friend of mine who said that marriage is not all that. She has a good marriage and would not dream of leaving her husband and child.....but what she meant was that marriage is hard work and it has its responsibilities. I have a friend who got married at 18 to a guy who was 7 years older than her and she converted to Islam. They've been married for maybe 10 years or more and have 3 children. She loves her husband......she wouldn't want to leave him or the kids.......but even she had said that society has made marriage over-rated or glamorous.....when in actuality it has its mundane ups and downs like every relationship. Yes, marriage has its PLUS POINTS...................but it's certainly not the be-all/end-all cure to life's problems.

****And keep in mind that it's human nature to desire what we don't have........and then when we achieve what desired...........we'll sometimes wish things were different or we'll miss our previous state.

The issue with you is not that you're single or that you find yourself to be unattractive. Rather, your problem is lack of self-confidence. Even if the most good looking person had zero confidence...........he or she will turn off others. An average looking person might even appear attractive to others if he/she exudes a healthy amount of confidence and displays a positive attitude. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

The people who have the audacity to tell you to your face that you're unattractive..................who the HELL do they think THEY THEMSELVES are? Some sort of hoor-paris? What does that say about their characters? Forgive me for saying this sweetheart, but your mother is a weak woman. Whenever she gets into spats with your grandmother.......she takes it out on you. A stronger/sensible person would be better able to control their emotions and reflect over the damage that they're doing. And she hasn't learned from that. Perhaps your mom feels INSECURE about her own self..........and her criticism of YOU is only a reflection of her own self-doubts and insecurities. And people who frequently criticize others openly................usually do it because they are jealous and because they are not secure about themselves. This may not appear obvious to you because they can manage to put on a fake exterior of confidence.....when their insides are very flimsy. Think about that.

If you're concerned about your looks..............a few simple changes can make a difference. Such as wearing shape/cut/style of clothing that flatters your figure...........cutting your hair in a style that flatters your face.......even accessories (jewelry and purse) can add a bit of flair. Make up techniques that play up your positive features. For example......if you don't like your nose, but have attractive eyes........enhance the eyes. And in my opinion even makeup won't be able to help you out much if you don't eat healthy, sleep well, exercise, and reduce stress, etc. So, the basics have to be in place, for the other things to help enhance the overall appearance.

^These are just some tips...........but even they won't do much for you if you don't have confidence. Marriage will require a lot of strength and confidence from you.........to be able to stand up for yourself...........to know what your rights are........to maintain your own individual identity while learning to compromise with another person. And if you don't have confidence now when you're single...........it will be challenging in a marriage.

Your mom is perhaps 40-50-60 something years old. She has had that many years of being the person that she is. It will be very tough for her to change her ways. She probably learned all her criticism from her own mother (your nani) and is repeating it with you. You can lecture her that what she's doing is wrong and hurtful till the cows come home...........but it won't make much of a difference unless she herself chooses to snap out of it. Sometimes when people tell us we're ugly/stupid/inadequate (due to their own insecurities).........we end up believing their words. So, stand taller, walk taller, focus on your positive qualities. And the next time someone puts you down, try standing up for yourself. Be confident. Don't just focus on your looks. Develop your character and mind and other areas of your personality. You're not only going to need your looks in a relationship, you'll also need your mind and personality.

And lastly, you'll get married when Allah wills it. We don't have control over everything in life. So, seek peace and help by praying to Him. It's better to get married later in life to the RIGHT person rather than getting married at "18" or in your early 20's to the WRONG person. Marry someone whom you find compatible..............don't settle for someone you don't like that much just to fulfill desi society's standards and to appease pressuring family members.

Oh dont worry your only 24 years old, Thats nothing these days to get married. Also i had the worst relationship with my mum growing up, Fights everyday, and i'm talking Fist fights. This was school days, I used to get extreme racism in school, By White people also had issues with Pakistanis because i'm mixed race. They wud call me things, about my RACE. And i wud always not like my mum (because she was white) I know it was wrong. But she would always say its MY fault too. (Because how i was always in trouble) So she never believed me.

However i picked up on this that they only chatted sh*t about my race. I started to embrace my mixed race. And once i got to college the amount of people that wanted me (Not being big headed) But it turned once i embarced my self. I had confidence. I love being mixed race. And i love being with white and pakistani people. Doesnt bother me. Even people in school wanna get to know me now (Which i jus totally disregard)

The fact is you ARE pretty in your own little way. Dont think your not pretty because what siblings have said. Means nothing. Siblings say that. Again your only 24 years old. A good rishta will come along. And if you dont get married, whats the big deal? Marriage aint the be all and end all. As i said in my other thread.

Pleaseeeee dont stress about things. OH and btw because of how **** my school days were i wanted to get married at 17. NOW i'm 20 and im SO glad i'm not. And believe me i have NO intention whats so EVER to get married. At all!

Be happy darling xxx

A close relative went through the same situation, she wanted to get away from her family so she got married to the first proposal that came to her. After 6 months she got divorced, they had too many differences. Just pray to Allah and ask him to do whatever is best for you.