Husbands and their food....

Re: Husbands and their food....

I don't know what you have been putting in your salan...

Re: Husbands and their food…

no divorce i guess :bummer:

No, something like this DOES warrant censure and divorce.

I wonder what the male equivalent would be of "oh god he wants me to cook everyday"?

"oh god she wants me to take her out after i get home from work..like everyday...cuz u know...she is bored"

:-]

^Do all wives do that? In the case of Cute Ainee....I can sort of understand...because I lived in KSA for many years and women cannot drive, so she is dependent upon him in that regard. But both partners needs to be flexible toward one another. Are there other ways to work around a situation...such as frying up an evening snack/making a dessert/serving the meal differently somehow such as playing with the ingredients or adding a side dish.....or is it absolutely mandatory that two dishes be made daily? I personally think that it need not be be an everyday, rigid requirement. Again, flexibility from both sides. Haaw haai, RV!

oh gawd she wants yet one more pair of shoes and jewelry to match with her new clothes that she just bought, which she will wear 3 times before it will go out of style, or too many people have seen her wear it, so it will not be used again.

WOW. My parents, MashAllah, have a good marriage. Both of them know how to cook...but it's my mom who usually makes the food. Sometime (doesn't happen often) she doesn't cook anything because she wasn't feeling well, or felt tired/lazy (we ALL have those days and yes, she's a housewife), or just couldn't figure out what to make......and my dad doesn't keep score or remind her of the things he bought her or of other favors. The situation is worked around...pizza might be ordered....an omelet might be made (heck I think the other day, they BOTH made the omelet), etc. Not so black and white all the time....there has to be some tolerance flexibility toward one another.

Seriously, a wife's worth is not measured by how many times she cooks FRESH food for her husband and not wanting to cook TWO meals everyday doesn't make her an ungrateful, lazy wife! Doesn't nadz have two kids under 2? Regardless of how long it takes to make two meals, I am sure she has a million other things that she can do instead of cooking a second fresh meal for the day.

This is absurd. Who needs two fresh meals a day?? There is more to life than cooking! Desi men need to take it easy on the salan! No wonder they have a huge pregnant belly by the time they're 40! They should eat salads more often!

^You try to reciprocate/have consideration for one another....and then also understand that there will be inconsistencies in relationships and human nature and you develop some tolerance for those times....and have compassion for one another. Turning everything into an equivalent or keeping score of who did what for whom all the time (which, I KNOW, we all have done at times in relationships...and can also discuss for argument's sake)...would hurt the relationship.

These replies helped me regain my faith in humanity.

:rotfl: Best practical advice.

And pork and bacon smell heavenly. :@:

Please don’t go.

one should develop the strenght to eat outside food............ no need to depend on wyf for food.....

the give and take and balance and all that is fine.
the point is that if the dude is asking for two fresh meals a day
why is it an issue? try..i mean really try when you can, and when you can't, you can't
so out of 7 days or 14 meals, there are 2 or 3 he has to repeat.
but vilify him for asking to be fed well, its a simple pleasure of life
Not quite sure when cooking became such a huge chore..

thats actually a good compromise, if not pleased with food at home eat out and that then comes out of shopping budget ;)
hahahah that would rock
ladies would be cooking up a freaking storm

That's awesome. Since the shopping budget hasn't been specified....then it can argued that fewer groceries would be bought...hence not enough to make the additional salan anyway. ;)

If going to cook then how will get time to complain about hubby on GS? :confused:

Generalizations, much?

I too love to cook, as is painfully evident in just about every thread I’ve ever posted on GS (including my own sticky of recipes). And that is my favorite way to show my love for my husband… through my cooking. I work full time outside the house, have 3 kids under the age of 8 and still cook **fresh **food almost everyday…or like X2 said, rework whatever gosht/kheema/chicken etc I’ve prepared the day before…so please, stop assuming we are showing nakhray or acting na-shukra…

As you can tell from my very first post in this thread, I was tareefing my husband by telling Nadz, that not all men/husbands mind reheated salans. And the funny thing is that 99.9% of the time I prefer to make a new dish, and my husband is the one who will say “Kyoon pareshan karahi ho apnay aap ko…jo hai fridge main, pehle wo khatam karlain, phir kal/parson kuch aur banalay na…” He’s forever telling me “rizk zaya karna kisi gunah sai kam nahin”

***That *** that is the point that me and the others were trying to make. Wasting a perfectly good salan because you don’t like to eat the same thing twice in one day is ridiculous and to me, very na-shukra. If her husband is that petulant about the topic, she should cook half the usual amount, or divide the protein/meat into two batches after galafying, and put two different sabzis in each batch…voila…two different salans. Miyan khush, biwi khush.

And for the record, it’s not about “excuses”, it’s about mutual respect.

oh I guess for some it needs to be specified, it is going to be directly out of there makeup and clothing budget. I am glad I could clear that wishful thinking out :p

point is again..fine he does not get 2 fresh things a day every day, what is sensible. if it is something that is important to him, do you just say no... and thats where figuring out what you are capable of doing and what the expectations are going to be, prior to getting hitched.

An average looking wife (without the makeup), indigestion from eating bahar ka khana all the time. Wife gets another job.....to support her makeup and clothing demands. So, she's too tired to even manage dessert later on. How long would you last, X2 You'll come crawling back with your plate for that one salan. :p

so i guess that wife did have time to cook two salans because if she can get another job then she had time, thus she chose not to do it and that makes her an evil evil person with pathetic excuses about not having time..yeah? :) thats what I thought.

as to how long would I last, I dont demand 2 fresh salans from begum anyways because its not as important to me...i eat lunch at work, make my own breakfast and I can't eat desi khana for more than 2 days in a row, make dinner several nights a week and we share chores. but my expectations are my expectations and she has to do her part in meeting them. If she is not doing her part in meeting those expectations then there will be a conversation about that.

In the case noted initially, the dude has an expectation and a request, and it really is not unreasonable, maybe it can't be met 100% of the time, but it can't be just stated to be out of the realm of rational expectations. Sadly many of the posts by ladies in this thread are like oh my god, how bad, how tough, why etc etc. its called life..and its called a marriage, you try to keep each other happy and try to fulfill these little wants.