Why don't you give it to him second time round with rice or a paratha or pitta bread instead of with roti. My mum used to trick us with stuff like that all the time, the only way we would eat aloo gobi is with paratha.
yaar anda khilaoo ussay doosray time...
... fried egg... boiled egg.... half boiled egg.... omelette with cheese... omelette with onions...omelette with red pepper... black pepper... bell pepper waighara waigahra.... choices hi choices hain tumharay paas... :)
Not ALL my threads are serious in nature, some are just jokes/things that are just for amusement....am seriously contemplating dropping out of gupshup altogehter.
My hubby is like that too thank heavens. We both studied in the US and survived two years of student food - from uncooked dal with spinach floating on top to baingan with sugar instead of salt. One of hubby’s roommates made salad with raw egg white as dressing
After that experience, he eats whatever I put in front of him. Nothing I make, no matter how bad, can beat the raw egg salad
btw ladies...if the dude is out slaving away every day and has a simple request of some good fresh food twice a day...that is really not out of line. I mean in the end you work hard and want to have a decent life...and while there are always those things that seem beyond reach and luxuries that you have to balance other things with...atleast let his choti choti nanhi munni requests go through.
Yes sometimes its additional work, on top of stuff you are already doing and you have to sacrifice 30 minutes that you could be doing something else...but that is the reality of the dude's day at work too.
^^ Agreed if the wife is staying at home and doesn't have a bunch of kids to look after.
Thing is in the western countries, you have to do every chore yourself, be it cleaning the toilets, scrubbing floors, laundry, cleaning/cutting vegetables or meat, cooking, and then the dishes. Most people cannot afford maids like back home. If the wife also has a full time job, she needs her time off too. Expecting fresh food twice a day is an unreasonable demand, unless the hubby is willing to hlp in the kitchen too. Of course, there are women who work full time, look after kids and manage to cook two meals a day - hats off to them. But not every woman can match that.
My mom doesn't make two salans in the same day, just so that you have something different to eat during dinner. That just seems unnecessary to me. And what if there are left-overs...would they go to waste just because he can't eat it more than once? Umm, okay. There has to be ways to work around this...like making a light evening snack with some chai.....or serving the same salan differently...if variety is the issue.
even if they are a working couple, what can they do to meet each other little wants better. there are small wishes sometimes and yes it is a little inconvenience, but unless it is a massive undertaking, why not keep the most important person in your life happy and content. it works both ways though and goes back to mutual respect, love and caring.
and the balance of duties does not mean that the hubby has to help in the kitchen...there are tons of other duties that a couple can share, can he check the kids homework and help them with it? go do groceries, do some cleaning, run a load of laundry? it may or may not be an equal level of effort, but its the effort to balance that counts. I have not folded my kids clothes pretty much..ever, but then I am getting the breakfast done and packing their lunches everyday so the wife has extra time to get ready. just a matter of balance.
btw if both work, the dude aint home for lunch anyways.
getting creative is also an option, while you are cooking, make more and freeze, do a couple of similar things going at the same time.
My mom doesn't make two salans in the same day, just so that you have something different to eat during dinner. That just seems unnecessary to me. And what if there are left-overs...would they go to waste just because he can't eat it more than once? Umm, okay. There has to be ways to work around this...like making a light evening snack with some chai.....or serving the same salan differently...if variety is the issue.
sometimes the method of preparation is the same until the last few steps...really not a huge level of effort to make two things. won't go to waste if each entree is half the size of what that one full entree would have been.
How friggin long does it take to cook food man? Unless its nihari, paye or haleem…
And housewives dont even have an excuse… Sheesh. Feed ure horse good food, so he stays healthylonger and can work the field … Simple.
I love feeding my husband … Always tryibg to learn something new for him cuz i know he is out there doing his work sincerely too… I owe it to him to meet hi. Half way too…
Shukar karo chingay nahi ho… Would be a whole diff ball game with " hai allah…itni subziya kaat ni perahi hai her din
btw ladies...if the dude is out slaving away every day and has a simple request of some good fresh food twice a day...that is really not out of line. I mean in the end you work hard and want to have a decent life...and while there are always those things that seem beyond reach and luxuries that you have to balance other things with...atleast let his choti choti nanhi munni requests go through.
Yes sometimes its additional work, on top of stuff you are already doing and you have to sacrifice 30 minutes that you could be doing something else...but that is the reality of the dude's day at work too.
Salan smells, and it's prob not good for you. I don't eat it aand don't remember when I last did.
I don't bug my wife to make lunch she'll do it on her own. If not, there are some great halal restaurants in Houston serving all kinds of food. Salan is too smelly to take to any Western lunch room, the smell is awful.