I really want my husband to be there. Like really really, lol. I'm extremely close to my mom but I just don't want her there...my husbands presence is comforting like nothing else. Plus, I kinda feel shy about baring it all and having my mom there haha. Whenever we've talked about the delivery room though (even before I was pregnant), my husband is adamant that he doesn't need to be in the delivery room. He's got some image in his mind of him standing outside, pacing the halls and getting the news from a nurse...cos apparently that's what happens in Pakistan. Sigh. I hope he changes his mind by the time I'm due.
I will be having my delivery in december IA .My husband will be there beside me.I want him to realize and feel the pain that I will go through.
Yes I was present in the delivery room for all my children's birth, let us not forget some one has to say the Azaan and Iqama in the newborn's ears, let us not forget this very important ritual at birth.
saying of azaan and iqaama is actually for the nimaz janaza, because the nimaz janaaza does not need an azaan or iqama.
This Ladies is a very important ritual that we expats may tend to forget after landing in the West!
bhai ji. u dont havta be in the delivery room for that to happen. its not like you catch the baby the minute it shoots out with its ears ready for the recitings.
a man can easily enter the delivery room once the baby is out and do all that.
west has nothing to do with what you remember or forget.. its the persons own fault. her cheez mein west ko nahi blame kara karo.. its getting old.
My husband was with me for both my deliveries. He cut the cord with our eldest! With the twins, it was a very complicated delivery (one vag, one emergency c-section) and I am so glad he was their (where else would he be, lol!) because everything was happening so fast and it was getting scary, at the time I wasn’t sure what was going on, but he stayed so calm and his presence was reassuring that our babies would be just fine.
And yes, us hedonistic Westerness still know the importance of reciting adhan in a newborns ears… Rolling.My.Eyes.
My hubby was with me all 3 of my deliveries
I didn’t want anyone else there and he was just amazingly supportive throughout all pregnancies and at births
No No not singling out just the West, also including the South like Australia!..
OK let me clarify here, it is not part of the culture in Christian or Buddhist countries to call azaan for the baby, so the staff ain’t going to volunteer for that activity. and in our case a C-section kept my Wife and Child in Hospital for 5 days, I felt why delay it!
ofcourse it was not done at the moment of delivery, but after the baby was made ready for relatives to see!
^ I had a c section and as soon as they brought me in the recovery room with the baby, my husband gave izaan in our babys ears. No delays there!
Great idea..I used to think that I will have my mom there but come pregnancy, I saw how she used to panic for every little thing n how strong emotionally my husband was, there was no question in mind. He was with me throughout the labor n was the best coach ever..I ended up with c section n my husband was there.
During pregnancy husband used to say that he wont be there in the delivery room he’ll be out praying for me and I wanted him to be there..butttttt after 36hours(2hours included in which baby wanted to come out badly but they didnt let her) as soon as my gyn arrived, all I wanted was to pop out the baby asap..when she came running into the delivery room, she asked me if i want my husband in the delivery room since he wants to come..I said NO:snooty: I didnt want anyone around..lol she then shouted ‘nahi ye mana krahi hain inka parde ka rishta hai apne shohar se’ I wanted to shout too(some pretty bad stuff:omg: )
maybe next time I’ll let him in..
Although during labour I wanted mom and husband to be close..but MIL was a great support too..all three of them:wub:
same as ehl-e-chaman's hubby - im never gonna stop annoying the wife about how i saw the kid first, held her first, smelt her, changed her first diaper blah blah. (i have a long blackmail list). i even got to snip the umbilical cord. :P
and any new dads to be, here is a romantic tip for you while your wifey is in labor and pushing - hold her hand, look into her eyes and recite sincerely - "hun you are doing it wrong, let me tell you how, k?"
My husband was watching Jerry Springer while I we were waiting for the real action to start (I was being induced with pitocin). When a really big contraction hit, he looked at the monitor and says “THAT WAS A BIG ONE, DAMN…DID YOU FEEL IT!!!”
I grabbed him by the shirt collar and squeezed for dear life on the next one..I think I remember hearing my mom in the background saying “uska galaa tho chordo!!”