Re: Husband and alcohol
Not okay with me. I don't want alcohol in my home.
**it's between him and Allah...and of course...between you and him.
if you can NOT live with him because of this then you have the option to get a Khula [divorce]. think about children, if you have any. would you let your children grow up in the presence of someone who drinks? if you do, you will be de-sensitizing them against alcohol and then you'll be held accountable in the sight of Allah. you also have to think on this line as well...you will also be sinning if you live with someone who drinks. think about a situation when he becomes a heavy drinker, God forbid!
you have to evaluate your situation...NOW!**
What he said^, follow the above advise. A woman has all rights to a Khula in this kind of situation. Dunya is short, Akhria is forever.
No human being is worth your deen, nothing should come before Allah SWT, not your parents, husband, wife, kids etc..
In the Quran it states that on the day of judgement no one will care about another person, people will be only concerned about themselves, sinners will wish they could offer their whole family as ransom to save them from being judged for their actions.
Alcohol is nothing but shaytans game, and it leads to all sorts of sin.
I'm with Nadeemnirvana and LucyMay on this. If you take religious out of the equation, which the OP herself did, then drinking alcohol within reason is not harmful.
Nadeemnirvana is spot on about kids who binge drink, these are the kids that are made to believe alcohol is a big no no until 21 when magically it's OK for them to drink. Kids in Europe have wine at the table with their family in their early teens, they are used to knowing about alcohol and HOW to consume alcohol and thus the significantly fewer alcohol related issues with kids there.
I wonder then why did Islam declared it completely HARAM and didnt make it permissible in situation you have stated here.
For the nth time, OP has stated that religion not be considered for this discussion.
Edited - not true - OP did not mention this. Sorry FairyTale
For the nth time, OP has stated that religion not be considered for this discussion.
Oh where did she say that ? will you show that to me please?
Alcohol is nothing but shaytans game,** and it leads to all sorts of sin**.
If a person is responsable to drink and not commit any sin based on their drinking I think its is competely fine.
What if in this case it leads to no sin? Religious advice would break up a completley healthy relationship.
Some people can drink in moderation. Originally, Muslims were only forbidden from being drunk while praying, and to drink in moderation. Some people could not control themselves so it was banned outright. Basically, there are those who can control themselves and those who can't. For the benefit of those who can't, alcohol was banned.
^exactly.
Oh where did she say that ? will you show that to me please?
I was incorrect - I have now correctd my post!
No need to be sorry. Happens ;)
Tell him that there is another drink jis mein sharab se bhi ziyada nashah hai aur suroor bhi. Woh Ishq hai, woh ishq hai....
Yeh tarap tarap keh jeena
Lahu aarzu ka peena
Yehi mera Jaam-o-meena
Yehi mera toor-e-seena
p.s. Whoever wouldn't drink sharab of this world would be allowed to drink that of hereafter, and vice versa.
I don't have a problem with people here who drink but please lets not be a hypocrite and make it as though moderate drinking is permissible in Islam. Moderate drinking is allowed in Christianity so lets not confuse it with our deen, and if you don't believe me then go and read Hans Kung and other theologians.
Not true^^ Know people who have been ocassional drinkers for all their lives...still are to this day.
Do you honestly know any occasional drinkers who have never been totally drunk stupid ... Almost everyone I know who drink have had slips on drinking that little bit too much on a given occasion ...
But it is the constant silent non-drunk drink that is proving to be very harmful ...
Fact of the matter is it's haram, there is nothing in Islam which says that "a little drink, here and there is ok", not a sip, nothing, nada.
Quran even acknowledges that you do find some benefits in it, but it says that the harms far outweigh the benefits.
Yes some people can control it, some people can also get away with doing ecstasy, cocaine, meth etc..on occasion, doesn't mean it's good. Overall these things cause much more harm than good.
We know that Alcohol causes a lot of problems in society, just this past weekend I know a really good guy who was killed by a drunk driver leaving a night club.
I've also seen people do and say things while feeling "tipsy" that they would never if in a right state of mind.
When GOD our creator tells us to avoid something its for our own good, he knows since he made us.
If you are a Muslim you are one who submits to Allah SWT, and you would avoid alcohol at all costs.
I don't think I could tolerate it.
I'd probably throw it all out every time he bought some.
^ what if he is addicted to Roh Afzah ???
Anyone here married to a Turk? It’s considered totally normal to a lot of them (their national drink is alcoholic)..
Also just read this and it really surprised me.. Anyone know if it’s true??
‘The Hanafi school of Islam, which accounts for around 40% of Muslims (including Turkey), does not prohibit ethanol, but intoxication, based on a different interpretation of the operative word, khamr, although the other three schools prohibit both ethanol and intoxication[SUP]citation needed][/SUP]. One of the two great scholars of the Hanafi school, Abu Yusuf, drank a mildly alcoholic malt beverage, which was at the time used to provide energy.’
**Source: Rakı - Wikipedia
Dont bring religion in. Talk about his health, his sanity. Let him know that he does not need to be intoxicated to enjoy life.
Perhaps the marriage is such that the guy needs alcohol to get it on with his wife? :)
Some people can drink in moderation. Originally, Muslims were only forbidden from being drunk while praying, and to drink in moderation. Some people could not control themselves so it was banned outright. Basically, there are those who can control themselves and those who can't. For the benefit of those who can't, alcohol was banned.
Correction for the benefit of all ...
No one is stopping any one to drink .. but kindly don't molest the history :)
I have couple of Turkish friends and yes its true . But surprisingly when they came to America , most of them stopped drinking .