Hurt by SIL's opinion of me :(

Re: Hurt by SIL’s opinion of me :frowning:

nakal chor..
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-and-relationships/534000-hurt-by-sils-opinion-of-me-2.html#post8625609

Re: Hurt by SIL's opinion of me :(

I'm all for giving benefit of doubt. Over and OVER and OVER again.

Trust, I would reserve but wouldn't show it completely.

I would understand my place in hierarchy. If SIL has a sister of her own, naturally that sister would come before me. And so on and so forth. And that's ok. Nothing to be sad about. Doesn't mean I don't have a place of my own in her heart (yes, heart) and life.

GS police.

I know :slight_smile: :flower1:

Also, i do think that most probably a more “succesful” person in this life is one who keeps him/herself emotionally independent however then those people end up lacking some of the very amazing relationships we all want to have in our life. It’s just about what your priorities are. Some people are just too emotional to be not dependent on people and some just too emotionally independent to have a real close relationship with anyone. Both sucks i think :stuck_out_tongue: there should be a balance.

awwn :) hugs to you.

I know the conversation is hurtful. 21 is a young age and girls do tend to do this at times especially if they have passive personalities.

You should continue being who you are because what she says is reflective of who she is, not you.

But your husband sounds really nice, so you should forgive her for him :)

I think you reacted appropriately and normally to a hurtful statement by your SIL. It’s possible she is coming from jealousy. Unfortunately, women in our desi community are too competitive w/ each other and tend to make themselves feel better by putting others down. You are a new bhabi, so she might view you as “competition.” I would highly recommend that you don’t put your husband in the middle. He thinks your beautiful, you are his wife. The best thing to do in this situation (I know it’s hard) is to be the bigger, better person, and act like you didn’t read that on her fb. It’s also possible that she didn’t know how to respond to her friend and is actually upset by what he said. I hope everything works out and that you continue being positive. I’m sure you are beautiful, in and out, and please don’t let your SIL get you down. If you need more guidance or a place to vent, please check out www.southasianinlaws.com. I recently launched this free, anonymous site for South Asians to discuss in-law challenges because unfortunately, in our community, in-law problems exist. Take care.

Jazakallhah… Aap ne duhki insaniyat keliye boht acha kaam kia hai.

Dont take too much weight on this. I wouldnt even take it serriously girl. unfortunately girls can be jealous & mean. Just think about your husband en let the rest be!

damn that guy sounds like a major douche. Feel sorry for his wife and kids.

If I were in your place, I will speak to that bayghairat neighbor, who is father of two kids. Threat him that my SIL has showed me the convo and I am gonna tell my husband.

:mad:

^ Seriouusly. he' sounds like some stupid hormonal teenager who lacks any class and manners. surprised no one said anything about him yet.

Give her a chance to grow up and realize your worth. And don't stoop to her level. Also, don't try to kiss up to her. She seems to feel her family is superior to you, so be careful about making yourself seem inferior.

i felt sorry for u.hope every one had SIL like u but they should also respect her from their heart.