Reading Mustansar Hussain Tarar’s new novel ‘Khas o Khashak Zamane’.
There is a character ‘Lehna Singh’ who is portrayed as very accommodating and shows hospitality towards guests to extreme level. The Jaat has a small piece of land, which is not sufficient for his family, but whenever a guest comes to him, he offers him food, bed and in writer’s word if the guest is Muslim, he provides them with Huqqa.
I’m confused if the tobacco and Huqqa not allowed in Sikhs? Is this still religiously followed?
i think alcohol and smoking is strictly forbidden in Sikhism but it is said that the heaviest drinkers are Sikhs, especially in transport business which is basically dominated by Sikhs or Punjabis in Northen India. as far as smoking is concerned, very few Sikhs smoke...it's still considered a taboo among Sikhs.
But do they follow ?alcohol is prohibited in Islam also ...but still!
it's hard to say...as you said it yourself, prohibition does NOT stop someone from sinning or breaking the law. in India, alcohol consumption without a 'drinking license' is against the law yet people drink and violate by-laws.
All type of intoxicant are banned in Sikhi, but the ban against tobacco is extreme, Sikh have special love for wine, Maharaj ranjit singh was lover of scotch, during brief period of Jaranail Singh Bhidranwala when sikhs were reverting back to their faith, Punjab had/has highest per capita consumption of alcohol. even today in punjab one can easily find desi and angrezi daaru on every road side dhaba. I am sure per capita consumption of drugs would be equally high in punjab."aevan bhi na dope shope marya karo:D"
Tobacco surpisingly had always been prohibited culturally in Sikhi.
In punda society it is said if your daughter in law is Sardarni soon your son would be a drinker, honestly I never minded making a peg or two for my brother or father:D, my favourite is 91 bollinger though:D
Amrithdhari Sikhs which made Khalsa army are not supposed to eat even non veg food let alone intoxicant, and people outside amrithadhari system do all sort of things:)
[quote="ThE OnE N OnLy mE, post:24, topic:261525"]
But do they follow ?alcohol is prohibited in Islam also ...but still!
it's hard to say...as you said it yourself, prohibition does NOT stop someone from sinning or breaking the law. in India, alcohol consumption without a 'drinking license' is against the law yet people drink and violate by-laws.
. But don u think that alcohol is a root cause of all the sins in the society?
of course! there are statistics out there that support your statement...be it fire, domestic violence, loss of work, accidents, name it!
All type of intoxicant are banned in Sikhi, but the ban against tobacco is extreme, Sikh have special love for wine, Maharaj ranjit singh was lover of scotch, during brief period of Jaranail Singh Bhidranwala when sikhs were reverting back to their faith, Punjab had/has highest per capita consumption of alcohol. even today in punjab one can easily find desi and angrezi daaru on every road side dhaba. I am sure per capita consumption of drugs would be equally high in punjab."aevan bhi na dope shope marya karo:D"
Tobacco surpisingly had always been prohibited culturally in Sikhi.
In punda society it is said if your daughter in law is Sardarni soon your son would be a drinker, honestly I never minded making a peg or two for my brother or father:D, my favourite is 91 bollinger though:D
Amrithdhari Sikhs which made Khalsa army are not supposed to eat even non veg food let alone intoxicant, and people outside amrithadhari system do all sort of things:)
Any particular reason for disliking of tobacco by Sikh gurus that made this widely used item of the area, forbidden for Sikhs? I think Parsi people also don't smoke, but its somewhat related to sacredness of fire.
Anything in excess - laziness, sleeping, eating, playing, dancing, singing, smoking, or even just talking for that matter all contribute towards sins as these tend to take you away from your basic responsibilities. But when done in moderation, these rejuvinate a person. I think alcohol is no different. This is what my religion teaches me.
Alcohol alone is not pulled out from the list of vices and is not banned exclusively and neither is its usage encouraged. It is included in the list of intoxicants, which if not used moderately can cause damage to "sat-indriyas". The "sat-indriyas" are the mind and five knowledge-acquiring senses, namely the eyes, ears, tongue, nose, and skin. And we all know what will happen agar humne apne indriyo ko apne vash mein nahi rakha toh
Irrespective of the teachings of any religion, eventually man does what he wants...
It is not encouraged is what I would say; more like "Makrooh" for Muslims. Except for the 10th Sikh guru - Shri Guru Gobind Singhji, I haven't read or heard anywhere abt tobacco (not just smoking but in any form) being banned.
Any particular reason for disliking of tobacco by Sikh gurus that made this widely used item of the area, forbidden for Sikhs? I think Parsi people also don't smoke, but its somewhat related to sacredness of fire.
It is said that at the time of Guru Sahib, tobacco chewing was very much rampant and it doesn't suit the description of Sant Siphi so Guru Sahib banned it and it stayed Sikhs are not supposed to consume tobacco since then, In hinduism, sura was a alcoholic drink used to be consumed during celebration but over a period of time it developed social condemnation and is considered bad. Sikhi also does not believe in fasting and pilgrimage but since these are the cultural norm of punjabi society these practices have crept in along with intoxication.
That means the tobacco was prohibited for Sikh men who had to fight. What about Sikh women, as I observed many old women in Pakistan having tobacco in one or other forms from simple chewing to use in Chillam.
Moreover, do sikh community still serve huqqa to their Muslim / other guests , who don't follow such restrictions?
Hospitality is part of Sikh culture, intoxication was not allowed in Sikhi, it is said in Indian army, Bhooke pet sena nahi ladti aur sikh regiment to khaa peekar ladti hai:D
Women also don't eat gutkha, except muslim women like paan, my landlady in Kanpur used to carry one small box:) while a good number of sardarnis are into drinking too, I am suspect of removing one drunk girl from the scene who killed two after drunk driving. In Chandigarh one is equally like to be hit by women on road:D
I don't remember any of sikh offering tobacco but wine is always more than welcome:)
I forget to mention that Lehna Singh (the character in the novel) serves his Muslim Jaat friend Bakht Jahan with Keekar wine. Now I don't whats that Keekar wine? Finally, Amrit kaur (wife of Lehna Singh) fell in love with Bakht Jahan and leaves Lehna and goes to Bakht Jahan alongwith her two sons. Amrit kaur converted to Kaneez Fatima, although her ideology was religions comes and gooes away, its the caste that matters. Her journey from Lehna to Bakht is not from Sikhi to Islam, but from one Jat to other Jat :D
When Bakht Jahan meets Lehna Singh after all this, the great Lehna says 'Runn, GhoDa aur Talwar kissi de nai hue, tumhare bhi nahin honge' :(