how you address your family and relatives?

I had seen people using different ways to address their parents,family and relatives…

While addressing father-Daddy,papa,pappa,Abba,Abbu,Baba,Bapuji,Babaji,Annaji(one of my friend use this)

Uncles-Chacha,chachu,uncle,Mama,Mamu…I address one of my uncle as Chand Mamu…:smiley:

Auntie-Khala,Khalajaan,Khala Ammi,Khala Pasha,Phupho,Phupi Hazrat,Phupi Pasha…:smiley:

one of my fathers friend used to call his daughter as Taai(sister in marathi)

Re: how you address your family and relatives?

We call our grand parents Baba Wadha and Amma Wadhi :)

wadha means?

dha pronounced as dh in dhaga(thread)

wadha means bada or grand.. You can't pronounce 'dh' so pronounce it as 'dh' as in dholak

LOOOLL my family used to call my grandparents Wadha Abba and Wadhi Ammi

means this dh has a special pronunciation which only sindhi speakers know

We call our Badi Phupo Ammi - (As we grow hearing our cousins calling so. We call our mother Amma). Sometimes, it creates confusion for the people who don't know difference between Ammi & Amma.

We call our Chhoti Phuppo Jiji.

yes it got special pronunciation and I don't find an Urdu speaking person pronouncing it correctly.

[TABLE="width: 500"]

Relationship
I Call
My Son Call

Father
Abu
Baba

Mother
Ami
Mama

Elder Sister

Api

Grand father
Dada Jan
Abu

Grand Mother
Dadda
Ami

Table option works :)

if you find any video with that pronunciation post it...

or you may open a different thread all languages have at least one word.....

Like zh in tamil....:D

ok i call my father daada (dont know y)
mum....... mama
grandfather........ aba g
grandmother.........ama g
my father used to call his grandmother........... wadi ama
my nephew calls my mum his grandmother...........bali ( we dont know how n why he discovered this word)

and ninja i also call one of mami as chanda mami ;)

Parents are directly reffered to as Ami and Aba or simply indirectly reffered to as Bazurgh.

Siblings are called by names.

I dont really talk much to the rest of the fammily, ussually I just nod or use gestures...

And for friends Yaar is typical word.

You don’t talk to your in-laws? :hmmm:

Amaa jee =grandmother

Abba jee = grandfather

papa jee =father

mama/mum =mother

bhai =elder brother

We call our Taaya "UncleDaddy" and Taayi "Bari-Mummy". It has stuck so much, that even non-relatives kids in our town call them that. We call our Phupho "Phupho" but our Phupar is Mamoo.. i don't know how that came about.

Naani is called Uppa.. and Nanna is Bau ji, Dada was called Abba and Daadi was called Bibi.

strange?

Father: Dad or Baba (Baba Jaan)
Mother: Mom/ Mommy or Mama Jaan
Brothers and sister: By their name.

Dad's older brother: Papa
His Taayi: Bari Ammi

Dad's younger brother: Chachu
Chachi: Aunty

Dad's sister: Phuppo
Phuppa: Uncle

Mom's brothers: Mammu
Mom's SIL: Mammi

Mom's sisters: Khala
Mom's BIL: Khallu Jaan

Dad's Father: Dada Abu
Dad's Mother: Dadi Ami

Mom's Father: Nana Anu
Mom's Mother: Nanau Jaan

Elder male cousins: (Name) Bhai if they're around my age/ (Name) Bhai Jaan if they're a lot older
Elder female cousins: (Name) Baji.

I normally hear "Bau Ji", and "Bibi" in Punjabi house holds.
Not strange at all :)

Uppa is cute! :p

I call Abu Ammi

&

all others Uncle Aunty

That's all

[TABLE="width: 500"]

Relationship
I Call

Father
Baba

Mother
Ma/Mummy

Sister
Her name

Grand father(Paternal)
Papa

Grand Mother(Paternal)
Amma

Grand father(Maternal)
Nana

Grand Mother(Maternal)
Nani

Uncle
'name' chacha/mamo

Aunt
'name' khala/phopo

youngest paternal Aunt
popi (bad pronunciation that stuck)

In our part hindus address their phupa as mama and khalu as Kaka(means chacha in urdu)