In subcontinent we address even unknown person as Chach,Mama,khala,chachi..bhai And Baji…
Though sometimes we use Sahab too…we are so obsessed with sahab that doctor is also addressed as Doctor Sahab…
i had seen people calling drivers of Public transport buses as Driver Sahab…
though now lot of people started using sir for addressing others…
this usage of sir is common in south india…And using sahab is common in hyderabad…
What about other cultures?
LP
July 3, 2012, 8:58am
Re: How you address peoples in your culture?
ya ukhti / ya akhi or ya mohammad is common here.
what is mean by ukhti and akhi...?
Can we use ya mohammad for any one?
Ya akhi = aye bhai
Ya ukhti = aye behan
I hope so.
Asif bhai you know arabic?
Nahi to
In Sindhi: Muhinja sain for men (old and young both) ... jiji / Amma kuraRi for old women
MM
July 3, 2012, 9:23am
Dad’s friends are all either “Uncle”, “Mr.”, or “Sir”.
Mom’s friends are all “Aunty”, “Ms.” or “Ma’am”.
Desi guys are all bhai … If they was A LOT older than me, then they’re bhai jaan.
Desi girls are addressed by their first names. If they’re a lot older, then I call them “Baji”. (with permission )
Driver and Malli is Bhai or Chacha. Kaam walli and chef/ cooks are baji or khala (depending on age).
Someone of a high ranking (professional or respect) is always Sir or Ma’am.
The use of first names is uncommon.
Dad’s friends are all either “Uncle”, “Mr.”, or “Sir”.
Mom’s friends are all “Aunty”, “Ms.” or “Ma’am”.
Desi guys are all bhai … If they was A LOT older than me, then they’re bhai jaan.
Desi girls are addressed by their first names. If they’re a lot older, then I call them “Baji”. (with permission )
Driver and Malli is Bhai or Chacha. Kaam walli and chef/ cooks are baji or khala (depending on age).
Someone of a high ranking (professional or respect) is always Sir or Ma’am.
The use of first names is uncommon.
same here
MM
July 3, 2012, 9:30am
;)
LP
July 3, 2012, 12:02pm
what is mean by ukhti and akhi...?
Can we use ya mohammad for any one?
ukhti is sister
akhi is brother
ya mohammad is usually used by them for ppl they donno and are meetign for the first time....so call them out as ya mohammad
ukhti is sister
akhi is brother
ya mohammad is usually used by them for ppl they donno and are meetign for the first time....so call them out as ya mohammad
Interesting info. I think I have read about this 'ya mohammad' somewhere else.
LP
July 3, 2012, 12:21pm
men use it for men....in my region
Interesting info. I think I have read about this 'ya mohammad' somewhere else.
V used to call her batman chacha, dhobi ko dhobi kehtay thay woh naraz hua tu Uss ko uncle kehna start kya driver ko bhi uncle malli ko malli baba, female maids ko baji n masi lolz
Asif971:
Ya akhi = aye bhai
Ya ukhti = aye behan
I hope so.
I was right:yahoo:
This masi has ceated a lot a confusion. In Sindhi Maasi is used for Khala.. but with the increasing hadharan new girls, kaam wali masis are also increasing. So original Maasi(Mother’s sister) now insist on calling them Khala
Men addressed as Saeen (sain)
Women as bibi.
Men addressed as Saeen (sain)
Women as bibi.
Saraiki?
queer
July 3, 2012, 6:17pm
in my culture, we address anyone in the interwebs as "hai dears"
No jaan, jigger? You lot need some more revolting terms of endearment!