how would you react if

how would you react if you find out that your in laws are hiding something from you..for example there is some problems in the family but they told everyone at home not to tell you just because you are not from the khandaan..everyone in the family including the other bahus (they are from the khandaan)

and then someone tell you about the problem and say they were told not to tell you because maybe you will tell your parents and they will make fun of the in laws

how would you react if mother in law is talking to someone in the living room and when you enter, they just stop and when you leave they start talking again

Re: how would you react if

I act like I dont care if they are hiding any thing from me...my MIL is my door ki rishtedar...she do the same with me and the reason is she thinks i might ended up telling all this to my Mom...so thats why she never share anything with me...but ok with this...coz if she share with me and her other bahoo tell about her problem to other people then im sure she will think i have done this..thats why im happy she is not sharing anything with me....

just stay cool..its not a big deal really..

Don't worry about it or concern yourself with it. If you find out what's going on and express an opinion, you will involve yourself which may not be good. Wait until they come to you and feel like talking to you about their problem.

Also, it's possible that YOUR parents/siblings might have an important matter to discuss with you one day.....a matter that they DON'T want you to share with your husband or in-laws. And your family might also SUDDENLY BECOME QUIET if your husband enters the room. Then what? Would your husband FORCE or PRESSURE you to involve him in your family troubles or would he respect your family's privacy?

It could even be that this issue is very complicated and has been a part of their family for many years.......and that explaining it to someone who hasn't been a part of the long and drawn-out history can be very tiresome. Sometimes you don't feel like explaining a complex issue to someone because you think "forget it, it's a long story, and I don't have the energy to explain everyone's view point." If overall everything else in your life is peaceful....don't create unnecessary stress for yourself.

And why would you even worry about it?

There is a family I know where this woman who belongs to a very rich family and board of directors of the family owned business/trade. Her husband is not allowed to be present in board of directors meetings at any exotic place they hold the meeting.
He just enjoys the time outside while she is meeting with her parents and siblings.

Unless it has something to do with me personally...I wouldnt care much.

If they dont involve you in it, its less headache for you to wory about. You know how much drama you're avoiding by staying out of it? Thank Allah swt, put a smile on your face and go about your business. Notice everything but say nothing.

THe concept of Bahu is sensitive. IF you were a sister critisizing your husband's uncle...people might raise an eyebrow but they'll forgive eventually. IF the Bahu does the same...its not simple criticism...its dushmani now.

And this is for future references...NEVER give your opinion regarding anyone in your inlaws' family.

I would take my husband to a corner, place my hand on his shoulder, and softly yet firmly say .. Beta .. iss dafa to mein janay de rahi hoon, agar aainda aisa huwa na to mujh se buraa koi nahi hoga !

Ok kidding aside, there are two kinds of worriez, the one you deserve and the one you dont deserve. The one you desrerve is the one when YOU do something wrong and the damage has to be undone by YOU. The worry that other people create is the one you dont deserve. Theek hai?

I would be happy I'm not getting involved.

thanks everyone for the advise

oh i forgot to say that even hubby didnt know it until i told him about it. he was also very upset because it was not a small matter ..he told me that he is going to ask them but i told him that not to say anything until they tell him by them self. as if he asks him ofcourse the first question would be who told you ..

and yea why hubby didnt know its because they didnt want to tell him as they know he would tell me imediately

i think you guys are right that i should be happy i am not involve .

thanks everyone

Don't worry inlaws can create much horrible things than hiding things from you.

When I was expecting , my SIL was expecting too. I was told to not tell anyone and she was told the same , they didn't tell her that I was prego and didn't tell me that she was prego whereas among themselves all of them knew that we both were preg. Anyways till the 4th month passed we both didn't know about each other's preg and only Allah knows what benefit they got out of this.

Sometimes you just cannot understand why they are doing the act they are doing. Let them be , don't bother and be happy .

I'd be restless.

I’d invest in a spy cam from Radioshack and bug their place. :roman:

Just kidding.

“This is not where I parked my car”, and strolls away…

it actually happens to me a lot................. but i simply ignore it...........i m used to it now..........
n the worst thing is MIL ask my hubby not to tell me anything even if he is getting promotion she says dont tell ur wife woh apni ama ko bta de gi aur nazar lag jai gi............come on yar i m his wife..........this thing irritates me but i m lucky my huby shares everything wth me.................

haha..same for me..everytime she would tell my hubby something and then would say..jaa ke biwi ko mat bol daina..lol but still he would tell me..

but now i guess she knows tat he would still tell me thats why she is hiding from him also...

i get really pissed because she doesnt do this to her other 4 daughter in laws...why only me......just because i am not from the khanaan and her son chose me over her niece

Seriously, ignore ignore ignore.

Duniya mein pareshaniyan kam hein kya jo ek aur apne gale band lein?

My attitude is: Batana hai to batao...I will listen and be there for you. Nahin batana, bhar mein jao.

HMM, understandable, but really, if your hubby didnt know either then thats ok right....

I'd run and go tell my hubby some gossip about his khandaan :D

I’d be like :sahar02: maine sub kuch sun liya hai, now u might as well tell me the whole truth (when in fact i haven’t heard a thing!)

ignoring is a blessing. Less information ,less things to worry about. See the bright side, now one will (in fact CANT) held you responsible for anything ?

That is how inlaws are..and if they don't share..

You just should not care...