For most of us faith comes as package deal when we’re born, but how would you be different if you were born in different faith than the one you belong to? And, would you still think that you’re faith is truest, unlike all other faiths (that are obviously are not true, except yours)?
Re: How would you be different if you were born in different faith?
We are programmed by our environment and faith (of our parents, usually) is a big part of one's personality. I think I'd be different even if born in a different place within Pakistan, let alone faith. And I would think my faith is truest even if born in a family that belongs to a different sect of Islam!
Sometimes, I think being born in an atheist family might not have been a bad idea ;)
I'd probably have A LOT of problems/issues/questions with my religion other than Islam.
Sometimes, I think being born in an atheist family might not have been a bad idea ;)
Its never too late to discard the dogma. I did it & I feel much better, lighter and less guilty about wordy things. And, that is not to say I don't believe in God, I do...just not the unnecessary add ons. Btw, my original question I guess is too close to comfort for many people & reality is that at end of the day we really don't know b/c everyone is convinced that their religious beliefs are true & everyone else is wrong.
Don't know :)
For most of us faith comes as package deal when we're born, but how would you be different if you were born in different faith than the one you belong to? And, would you still think that you're faith is truest, unlike all other faiths (that are obviously are not true, except yours)?
I think every religion tries to answer question to its believer. Being Muslim, Islam has provided answers to my confusions. It taught me to believe on unseen things and I do believe on those things because Islamic teachings about other apparent aspects of life seems flawless to me.
I can't say much about the situation if I was not born Muslim, but I think I would be satisfied what that religion had told me.
I'd probably have A LOT of problems/issues/questions with my religion other than Islam.
This.
I hope I would have been reverted to Islam. I have objectively studied the issues raised by non-muslims (or even muslims) about Islam and also with other religions. Every time, I had done this, I found that explanation given in Islamic understanding always makes sense. There was hardly a moment when I had doubts about it. With other religions, I always felt differently.
I guess is too close to comfort for many people & reality is that at end of the day we really don't know b/c everyone is convinced that their religious beliefs are true & everyone else is wrong.<!-- google_ad_section_end -->
Not all of us think that only our beliefs are true & everyone else is wrong, many people except that other religions although seem opposing actually share almost identical teachings.
Is there any other religion as logical as Hinduism? Why this conundrum?
How dare you Southie? Someone bash him please :D
I do not think the question is reality based and these kind of questions really do not have a valid point.
No one can truly answer these questions appropriately since the criteria set within these kind of questions cannot be met.
These hypothetical questions are good for just discussion only.
It is like asking;
*What if you were born, *
a chinese if Pakistani,
Russian if German
2000 years ago,
Woman if a man,
man if a woman,
handicapped,
lion,
Elephant,
bird
tree,
etc. etc.
The correct answer would be "I do not know"
"I am what I am based on criteria and scenario and circumstances I grew up with and cannot answer what I would have thought of the faith I would have been born in"
The question is asking me,.... to apply what I know now, on the situation to which I have no idea about, i.e. being born in different faith; which is purely hypothetical.
Kya baath hai, diwana ji. Bohuth hi samajhdar posting kee aapnay. Humara Dil kush.
You can only answer this if you truly attempt to question your assumptions about your religion. My thoughts on certain topics might be different, but I think a different environment, rather than religion, would have had a bigger impact on me.
^ with climate change, I hope you don't get to live this different environment scenario.
Have we ever objectively done a study of other religions. Most of us might not have. I actually have'nt. Hence I don't know how I would have reacted if I were born in a different religion...
That said I would want a twist to the question..Give me the name of another religion you would want to born into(other than the present one) and why ???
I'd have a different name for one.
diwana is right. The only correct answer to this question can be "I don't know." What I personally would add to that though is Jinx's answer, ie "I hope I would have reverted to Islam."
Simple answer: "I am too busy in worldly affairs that I don't have time to examine my own belief, others beliefs are out of context".
Thanks to southie, stormRaiser, Saeedin Pakistan, and Umer.