How to remove ghosht smell while cooking keema

Salam all,

Just cooked keema last night after ages but the ghoshty smell was still there. I cooked it really well even added yoghurt. How do you guys get rid of the ghoshty smell in your meat dishes. Any and all tips and tricks are welcome…

Jazak Allah khair :slight_smile:

I boil the "keema" with whole garlic cloves, whole garam masala and turmeric.

use sandalwood, instead of cinnamon Darcheni. **:chai:

Re: How to remove ghosht smell while cooking keema

I first boil keema with salt, chilli, turmeric powder, onion, garlic, tomatoes and some water for about 30-45 mins till it is pretty much cooked. then i add all other spices and stuff and bhoon/fry it for 10-15 mins. this is when you can add yogurt as well. no smell at the end.

add lot of garlic ginger paste, onions, and tomatoes....

All that and lots of bhoonofying. I guess you understand what bhoonofying is in desi cooking.

^^ yeah exactly...also if you add a little vinegar while cooking, it also helps get rid of the smell.

I add a bit of vinegar while washing keema (and any other meat or veggies cuz of pesticides on them), then I boil it with garlic cloves, sabut garam masala, lal mirch and a bit of salt. Once it's done, I cook it normally with onions, tomatoes and spices but never tried adding yogurt. I bhoonify it really, really well because even I can't stand the smell of meat while eating. It turns out really well at the end.

I heard Mrs. Zubeida Tariq, dalda ka dastarkhwan fame, saying that adding turmeric (haldi) in meat, any kind of meat, takes its meaty smell away.

i think i read this on gupshup last year ... if you don't want the keema to smell - leave the pot uncovered as you're cooking so the smell can escape as it cooks down.

correct me if I am wrong, but shoudn't qeema have Qeema's smell ?

punchingmonk - we're referring to the raw-ish smell of qeema that can persist sometimes...i think it is known in urdu as 'heek' .

hahaha! i knowwwwwwww... even i was like... what? keema is supposed to smell meat rite?

Add dried meethi (fenugreek) to qeema when you are frying it with all the masalas and the water has evaporated.

how much water is needed to boil it? just enough to cover it or more?

Boiling the qeema takes the alavor out of it. To remove smell, after you add the qeema to the sauteed onions add salt and haldi (turmeric) first, before the garlic and ginger and fry for a few minutes, then add the rest. Someone who is a wonderful cook gave me this tip.

Do not add any water in bhoonifying process before drying up the natural water in qeema. Also during the process add about 1 table spoon full of ground coriander seeds, this instantly gets rid of the meaty smell.

I actually tried the boiling qeema with onions, masala and lehsan in water the other day.

Then bhoonafied it after the water evaporated.

It tasted and smelt much better.

What ? you guys don’t like the very pleasing; delightful smell of raw meat :vivo:

kachaY GhoasT k apNa he maza hai :yummy:

Ladies,

I cooked meat today by adding onions, garlic ginger paste, salt , turmeric and tomatoes and letting it boil then bhoonafied it .... but the smell still persisted....

any other idea... do you guys boil the meat and then discard the water it has boiled in... :'( I ended up throwing out the salan