How to fatten up my 14 month old boy

I all,

Hope everyone is well.

I really need your advice on how I can fatten up my 14 month old son. He is very kamzor looking although mashallah he is very healthy and active.

Can you guys please give me some advice as to how I can fatten him up and also how I can introduce him to desi foods as he was purely eating jar food (which I KNOW is not good for him at all, but I had a really tough pregnancy and found it really hard to do anything, and because of this, undortunately my son suffered. I feel reeeeeeally bad as all I was able to feed him was jar food but now that I’ve had my baby, I want to start feeding my son properly).

Are there any supplements that I can buy in the uk that will help him gain the calories? I’ve been reading stuff on the web and apparently you can get stuff like pediasure and carnation instant breakfast which help kids gain the extra calories, but as far as I am aware, nothing of re sort is available here. Do u guys know of any? If so please do let me know.

I would really appreciate your advice xx

Re: How to fatten up my 14 month old boy

When you say he is healthy and active,what do you mean...?..How has he maintained his height and weight since birth..??
I do not know how one can fatten up a child and if he falls within the normal range of height and weight and has achieved all milestones acc to his age I do not see a reason why anyone would want to fatten up a child or increase their calorie intake.

The simplest way to introduce anything at this age would be to give him whatever you are eating.At this age they are very much interested in various textures and colors and flavors and actually get bored with the same thing if given two days in a row.Have you tried that...??

There are supplements available like Pediasure etc in the US.They must have something other in UK.But if he is not lagging behind in any way,I do not see the need to use those.But then your child's pediatrician can tell you best.

fatten up? seriously?

I agree with chips6. If he's happy, healthy and active let him be. If he's maintaining his weight and gaining a little each month then he's fine. Instead of focusing on fattening him up just make sure he's getting nutritious food.

At 14 months he's able to eat finger foods so give him a little off your plate.

IF he is healthy and active and he eats a balanced diet, you should be thankful and happy and encourage his love of food and other interests. Do not focus on fattening him up. You will end up giving him unhealthy foods and become to obsessed with his eating. Some babies do not carry a lot of chubbiness. That's genetics.

I totally agree with u guys in the sense to not 'fatten' up baby if he's okay, however, my son has not gained any weight for the past 3-4 months or so now. I had him weighed in august and then just recently and he is still the same weight, hence why I am worried.

I have tried to give him some desi food, but he has no interest as all he has been fed is the other stuff, however I do realise that I need to preserver so inshallah I will keep trying on that front.

Around 1 year, my daughter's growth really slowed. The doc asked too if she's eating okay, and she was mashAllah. I was concerned myself, cuz the numbers on the scale were the same, but she was suddenly much taller and also she was crawling/walking, and so I guess she wasn't gaining. After about 18 months she started gaining slowly again. The weight gain after a year is slower anyway. They only gain 3-5lbs in that second year.

If he doesn't like desi food, have you tried giving him steamed and lightly seasoned veggies? baked chicken? that kind of stuff? He shouldn't be having mashes/purees at this age.

sahar is right, babies gain only Kgs during 2nd year of their life. So just dont worry. If he is 9kgs + thn he is fine MashAllah.

You can put a little bit of butter on his foods. My kids were also very thin and still are. Hardly on the growth charts. They gain very slowly but the docs said its just genetics. Pedisure is available in Pakistan as well so there must be somthing akin to this in the UK too. Also try whole milk banana smoothies for him. feed him a snack 2 hours after finsihing a meal. I gave my son peanut butter too after he turned one. Yoiu cantry that after asking his doc if allergies are not a concern. Fruit helps. Here check out this as well.

u can reduce milk intake and add more solid food esp chicken, fish, full cream/ cheese, rice, pasta, mangoes, avacadoes, bananas, dates, potatoes, sweet potatoes etc provide good fat. feed more frequently every 2-3 hours. just don't over do high carb food. try to stay balance. if he eats regularly he'll gain desired weight. don't go after boost or pedisure. stay natural and organic as much possible. fat gained through wrong methods like desi ghee k parathay later turn into obesity.

Hello, My daughter is 23 months old.She is a very pick eater. When she is up i give her 8 oz milk. Some times she drinks 6 oz and some times 8 oz. I offer her cornflakes, she eats 3-4 spoons and refuses to eat. after an hour or so i give her cucumber or carrot, again its a bit or two and then she throws it. I try many things with her but she refuses to open her mouth. I give her 4 oz milk in evening and 8 oz at bed time.
She is not speaking yet. just Mummy, daddy, no, yes nd ajaoo.
Im soo depressed these days due to sara. I hav another baby he is 9 months so i hav to giv time to him as well.....Some friends told to giv her vitamins but she is not ready to open her mouth.
plzzz help me

My daughter is the same age as yours. My doc recommended not giving milk at all at breakfast. I let her have 4oz. And then I try to get her excited about breakfast. She's usually good about it mashAllah, but she goes through fussy phases.

Try reducing her milk intake.

@juryk , does ur daughter take any interest in food u or ur hubby eat? wat if u don't offer her anything, not even milk and eat around her. may be that motivates her to join u. my kids always like to take food from my plate. may be this strategy works for u too. u can even add some drama by saying"oh plz don't eat my food" turning it into a food war or game.

Jazakallah sahar...
today i just gave her 4 oz milk. I tried to give her breakfast, but she refused. She ate cornflakes after 2 hours nd drank 2 oz juice...Now she is taking a nap, i hope she eats rice when she is up.

it'll take getting used to. be persistent! have you tried offering her different cuisines? mine prefers desi foods and shows little interest in American/Italian style foods.

Jazakallah Mabook for ur reply...My mom asked me to follow the same strategy....I can't resist it. But inshallah i will try it sooon. She loves to take food from our plates, but hardly eats 2-3 bits. She only snatches spoon, then she put some rice in glass of water,,,nd try to drink water with spoon. she makes all the place dirty...i can't eat food with her but poor hubby eats with her. I will try food war game..

my mom used to put butter in everythign she gave us. It's still catching up to me now. Urgh.

I hav only tried desi cuisine....some times i grill sausages or nuggets for her she hardly eats half....some times for lunch i giv her ome peas nd corn....She is not ready to eat her self...I must put it in her mouth while is sitting on slide or watching baby tv..She doesn't sit and eat with us on table.

i think you need to make mealtime distinct and special for her