How to deal with a former friend

ohh this just took the cake for me… so we have this family friend… ummm lets called her “AMNA” ← please note this is not her real name..
So a while back like about 2-3 years ago, when i switched jobs we were at a family friends house, and her dad congradulated me in front of her and another girl who we shall call “Mahi” in this case.
So mahi congradulated me as well. some background that might be relevant, Mahi was a sophomore in college and was going to a state school whereas Amna was going to private school and was a senior (or rather was going to be one) and so anyways I don’t recall what we were talking about but after amna’s dad congradulated me, amna said something to the effect of “Ohh your working, not going to graduate school?” in a disappointing voice another piece of information that might help.. both Amna and Mahi are Psychology majors. I said something along the lines of Ohh i plan on going but i want to get some real world experience first (i am a business graduate), and Mahi added in something to the effect of when your a business grad working experience counts towards graduate school enterance. Amna replied saying something along the lines of when she graduates shes gonna get into the University of Chicago in their psych program and not work first, because she doesn’t see the need of doing that.. the conversation died down after she said that.. Mahi and I started talking about something else…
Fast forward a couple of months later, she went to pakistan for winter vacation came back nikahhed after about two weeks, after this this girl would not speak to me or anyone else saying “married people are not supposed to talk with unmarried people,” mind you she born and raised in the USA, but anyways additionally after her nikahh she came back only talking in urdu versus english and acting… ummm… to put it politely “Ammi jaan” like and saying MashAllah, Alhumadoliah, etc after every sentence… on top of that she started ordering all the unmarried girls around saying “beta could you get me a glass of water,” this seemingly 24 year old girl transformed into an 80 year old grandma after her nikahh to someone who is 12 years older then her.
Her cousin was engaged shortly afterwards and because she’s family we invited her to our house for a dholki for her cousin. which she nor her mother didn’t even participate in.. her mom sat there with an angry face, neither one of clapp their hands when we were singing, didn’t dance etc. I had invited a couple of my gora friends (females) to this dholki and they participated more then either one of them did.. AMNA had to be ASKED to come and get food, like a personal invitation(Amna come foods ready).. instead of a general one (Everyone foods ready).. then she sat with my friends and started badmouthing me saying … ohh she’s not a true muslim because shes participating in these activities.. singing the songs for the dholki, wearing short sleeves shalwar kamiz, and putting on makeup and doing fashion etc. To which one of my friends at that time, i had told her about how Amna went to pakistan and got married asked her, “how do you manage a relationship with someone you’ve only known for about 2 weeks?” and she responded, ohh we are in love and blah blah. She then asked my friends for their cell numbers to which one of other firends got mad and said, why should i give you my number whne all you have been doing is badmouthing her?
Later i found out she had friend requested 5 of them on facebook.

Additionally at another family gathering one of our family friends told us that she got accepted to northwestern (we had found out about this news some 2 weeks prior) and we all were happy for her, Amna upon hearing this said “Ohh I am getting into Northwesten – for medical school” as well and we are like “wow congrats, etc” After that the entire party amna was like saying things like “Well see I am smart, unlike some people I don’t need to work after school” and other stuff like “Ohh since I am gonna be at northwestern now, “ “Northwesten this…” “Northwestern that…” etc. to the point where someone said.. ok yo uhave not even gotten in yet, she’s gotten in and she’s not boasting about it. After that its like she wanted a huge laminateg sign to say… “I am awesome because I got into northwestern, hear yee hear yee”
so her parents had a reception for Amna 3 whole months before her brand new imported husband arrived yes they had a reception with her ALONE.. no hubby… (I’m not saying anything but I thought that was weird… but whatever, maybe in their family that’s the norm… ). At the reception her mom came up to me and my sister and said “gosh i wish someone would do some hungama for Amna expecially her closest friends no one even did a dholki for her, bachari meri betii. I wish one dholki would have been done for her, some hungama thora sa maza etc” and my sister and I are like “CLOSEST FRIENDS???” WTF??? So i said to her mom, “Aunty i am just respecting her wishes as she stated in her cousins dholki all the stuff that is forbidden in our religion which includes dancing, singing, clapping etc>” and her mom was like " ohh acha, per why don’t you ggo and sit next to her on the stage, no one is sitting next to her..” Even her cousins wife was upset with her he cousins wife told us, “I don’t get her, she told me that she needed help with this this and this… the cousins wife had made appointments for her makeup, driven her from one place to another (and mind you this girl can drive), and done a whole bunch of stuff behind the scenes and Amna criticized half the stuff she did and then kept ordering the cousins wife to sit next to her at the reception.. (and seriously the entire night no one was, she was up the by herself, asking people to come over but no one would sit for more than a min.) In fact her reception was soooo boring that a couple of us wanted to entertain ourselves and so we ended up taking pictures of ourselves posing with decoration..that at one point she got up off the “stage” (it was done in a community center, and no one had cared about decorations it was like taking the decorations from all the us holidays and putting them inall in one room, our table cloth said “happy birthday to you” on it… ) and came over to our table, and we stopped taking pictures and she asked well don’t you all want pictures with the bride and we were like ummmm we don’t have any space left camera is full already.. sorry..
About 3 months afterwards her “brand spanking new freshly imported” hubby arrived fresh off the plane from Pakistan… and so her mom held another reception for the two in their home for about 25 people … AMNA introduced him as and in urdu “ Salaam this is my smart double masters husband from Pakistan, Imran.” To everyone!! Funny thing is that hubby doesn’t know how to speak ONE WORD English… and supposedly he was educated in Pakistan and London… hmmm yea..
So since the imported hubby was received or rather since she was nikahified, she doesn’t say “Salaam” to any of us unmarried girls, in fact she told a girl’s mother, “kids these days have no tameez, to respect their elders and say salaam to them. I mean I am married now, people should say salaam to me, not me say salaam to them” She expects us to say salaam to her first…. LOL and if we are talking about movies, fashion etc, she’s switch the topic to khana and recipes and laundry and complaining about her husband.. and if someone dare switches it back to something a bit more interesting like… Grey’s anatomy for example she’s say something along the lines of “I wasn’t done talking about daal or how to iron clothes, etc” So a couple of us have flat out decided that “hey why talk to her at all?” if she’s going to act like that.. .then let her be happy in her own little world..

This happened a couple Saturdays ago (ohhh another side note… if you invited this family and tell them it’s a mr&MRS event only)… Amna’s mom takes that as an invitation to invited the entire herd… because that’s how they roll…. they travel in herds..
Anyways, her mom invited herself to our place a couple Saturdays ago, and my mom was like.. yea the kids are not home (hinting to her… no need to bring your kids) and apparently her mom totally didn’t catch on.. so she brought her entire herd over to our house.. and then when Amna entered the house she’s like “Salaam” to everyone including me, and I was like “WOW Aunty jee tusee salaam kur aata hai??? (didn’t say it, but thought it) and anyways I said salaam to her parents, but not her.. and so she kept repeatedly “Salaam salaam salaam salaam salaam “ like a broken record… I didn’t respond.. Our family is going thru a lot right now, and lately I have not been in the mood to talk to anyone really, and most of our family friends respect that and don’t push it.. she comes up to me and says “How are you?” with a big wide grin on her face, and I just looked at her and rolled my eyes.. and went upstairs to get my mom… I didn’t bother coming down because honestly I didn’t want to deal with her. SO right when I went upstairs she said to her mom, “Gosh, shes sooo stuck up, and has no manners, Ammi did you see I said salaam to her and she didn’t respond, She should be the one saying salaam to me,” Honestly I didn’t react to that because if I would have the reaction would not have been nice. I spent the entite time that this family was over upstairs in my room and didn’t bother to come down until my mom told me that they are leaving and I should say bye, at that point her dad said to me beta I know exactly what your going thru and I UNDERSTAND, completely if u don’t feel like talking, and I nodded and said yea I just don’t.. and Amna then interrupted the conversation saying “Well KHUDAA HAFIZ” and held out her hands for a hug… ok this girl has never done that PRE-SHAADI and now post shaadi wtf?! And I just kind looked at her and back away from her outstretched arms.. and they left.

Since then she has been badmouthing me to her cousins saying that I am stuck up and selfish, and her mom also said something to her sister in law saying “I don’t know what’s her problem AMNA and her are such close and great friends.”
[FONT=Times New Roman]
[FONT=Times New Roman]In the past I forgave her numerous times and didn’t hold a grudge, but now its past that point for me, I don’t consider her a friend for many reason a that she repeated talks behind a person back and also that she lacks…. Umm…. Common sense.. its like she’s socially retarded… she like to act all chummy in front of her ammi but then in private she’s something else, and I for one have never been two faced like that, I am what I am.. the thing is to her we’re the bestest of friends, and to me, really I don’t even consider her a friend anymore, yet she doesn’t catch on… and the icing on the cake is that she takes things soooo out of context, coupled that with her new found hobby of talking behind your back and that’s a disaster. An example perhaps best to illustrate, so she’s an avid reader (read: STALKER) of people’s facebook walls. If she sees something on your wall.. that’s doesn’t make sense to her, ohh she’ll question it. And won’t stop until she’s statisfied, and if u block her…. Allah Tauba then she’s say it in front of all the aunties like “peta nahi why she’s blocked me, maybe she’s got something to hide.” My answers to her when she asks for more details have been 1- don’t worry about it, its not concerning you, 2- mind your own business 3- don’t read into it too much… and yet she does exactly that..,..
[FONT=Times New Roman]So anyways I primarily use facebook to stay in touch with family in Pakistan, and one of my cousins whose like an elder brother to me, was writing messages on my wall, in fact we were having all out conversations on my wall.. and he wrote something like well don’t get to HIGHs… now anyone that knows me knows that I am a starbucks addict… yes I have a problem, yes I admit to it, and no nothing can be done to help me.. beyond duas… this is one addiction I will not give up! Anyways HIGHs is code between us for starbucks.. as in HIGH on Starbucks.. but this girl after I told her don’t read too much into it… and I think everyone on my facebook knows my serious passion for starbucks.. started spreading the rumors- stating that my cousin and I have some internet affair going on… for the record he’s married and is expecting and bhabi is soooo nice! And then she said that I apparently do drugs… (ummm yes if you count sugar and caffeine) I found about this thru one of her cousins, because she called her cousin and told him and she wanted an intervention for me, and he told her to jump off a cliff.. anyways she didn’t stop there, she proceed to tell the entire gossip community … sorry aunty community what she had told her cousin..
[FONT=Times New Roman]Now heres my question… I firmly believe in the saying “wrong me once, shame on me, wrong me twice, shame on you, you are not wronging me a third time..>” this girl thinks we are bestest of friends, and doesn’t understand that is not the case anymore.. and I have tried to dropp both subtle and obvious hints…. But like I said she’s socially retarded… what would you guys do in this case….. she obviously doesn’t get the message and in front of her ammni she acts soo bachari like she’s done nothing wrong… and yet in private she’s something else..
[FONT=Times New Roman]
My question for you all is this… what would you do… how would you address this? I cannot by any means cut off connections (as much as I want too) with Amna because their parents are family friends of mine.. secondly, I don’t trust telling her anything since she has a way of distorting reality, finally her ammi believes that her daughter can do NO wrong, and therefore its everyone else’s fault.. in every situation…

Re: How to deal with a former friend

I will do nothing as I did not read it, it is too long to read. :bummer:

sorry that its too long, but seriously i do need some advice..

how much are you willing to pay?

we don't give advice for free here.

Here is a SUMMARY of girlwithdreams007’s post (I know it’s still long, but shorter than hers):

The OP has a friend named Amna who has hurt her repeatedly. She lacks common sense, is tactless, spreads rumors, is two-faced, and thinks highly of herself. The thing is that the OP does not consider Amna to be her friend and they have to meet often since they’re family friends.

Amna was a psychology undergrad student when they first met. The OP is a business graduate who planned on working, then going to grad school. Amna went to Pakistan and got married to a guy from there. When she returned, she completely changed and started acting. Like speaking in only Urdu, not talking to unmarried girls, and calling the unmarried girls “beta.” The OP held a dholki at her own house for Amna’s cousin. Amna went on to badmouth OP to the people there, saying that the OP is not a good Muslim for dancing, clapping, wearing short sleeved clothes. Then when Amna went on to have her own reception (minus the presence of her hubby), Amna’s mother approached the OP on how none of Amna’s friends hosted a dolkhi for her. At the reception, Amna sat all by herself on a stage because she has no friends. She had one person who helped her with all of the reception arrangements, her cousin-in-law, who she bossed around and insulted.

At another family gathering, Amna made a sly/insulting comment toward the OP… Amna said how she’s going to Northwestern for med school (although she hasn’t gotten in) and she’s “smart and doesn’t need to work after school.” Amna also believes that since she is married, people should say the salaam to her first. If they don’t, she badmouths them to her mom. She visited OP’s house, OP has been going through rough times personally and didn’t feel like talking to anyone, didn’t say salaam to Amna. Amna then went up to OP and said the salaam repeatedly, OP did not respond. And when Amna asked OP how she’s doing, OP rolled her eyes and went to her room. Amna got mad and told her mom (while at OPs house), how she’s not saying the salaam, it’s rude, etc. She badmouthed OP’s manners to others. Another offense by Amna is that she likes to stalk people on facebook, find anything she can to create rumors. She stalked OP’s wall, saw a conversation taking place between OP and her Pak male cousin in which they were talking about OP getting high (off of starbucks coffee)… Amna then spread rumors, even to the aunties, that the OP is dating her cousin and she’s doing drugs, she needs an intervention to change her life. And when Amna is blocked from facebook, she tells the aunties that so and so is blocking her and perhaps they have something to hide. She is an angel in front of her mom and the aunties, but does malicious things like creating rumors.

Oh, and Amna likes to introduce her husband like this, "Salaam this is my smart double masters husband from Pakistan, Imran.” :hehe:

Here is the OP’s last paragraph: My question for you all is this… what would you do… how would you address this? I cannot by any means cut off connections (as much as I want too) with Amna because their parents are family friends of mine.. secondly, I don’t trust telling her anything since she has a way of distorting reality, finally her ammi believes that her daughter can do NO wrong, and therefore its everyone else’s fault.. in every situation…

I would stay as far as possible from such a person, either remove her from my facebook or put her on limited profile (so she cant see my wall posts) ...... and treat her like an acquaintance only. Why are you bothered about her, mitti dalo.

Idk, i feel kinda sorry for Amna. :(

omg i tries to read like half but i cant read anymoree :bummer:… m tiredd

thanks soundarya for the summary.

girlwithdreams007, seems from soundarya's summary that the whole thing is your fault.

I agree with Sara, I feel kinda feel sorry for Amna too... I've come across people who lack common sense, jump to conclusions, create problems, are the angels or becharis in front of their moms/aunties but completely different otherwise...

I feel sorry for them because they don't have any friends. She reacts in this way because she has no friends. When she could have made friends at the dholki, but she tried to do that by talking trash about you... It seems like she has that holier than thou attitude and believes she is entitled to everything just because she is married. She thrives on drama, even if no one believes her. Amna badmouthed you to her cousin and he didn't believe her, that says quite a bit... her extended family doesn't like her either.

So what do you do?- You limit her or block her on facebook. You say the salaam to her. If you don't want to say it first, that's fine. But when she says it, say it back (it's the right thing to do from a religious standpoint). But just say the salaam, MAYBE ask how she is doing, and that's it. Go off and talk to your other friends or help your mom in the kitchen. If her mom asks you what's going on, then you say that you don't appreciate rumors, you are someone's daughter too and have a reputation. If you can't do that, say you aren't feeling well or whatever. Don't concern yourself with Amna's life, her marriage, how she introduces her husband, etc.

You’re welcome. I made it out to be her fault? :konfused:

"married people are not supposed to talk with unmarried people," mind you she born and raised in the USA, but anyways additionally after her nikahh she came back only talking in urdu versus english and acting... ummm... to put it politely "Ammi jaan" like and saying MashAllah, Alhumadoliah, etc after every sentence... on top of that she started ordering all the unmarried girls around saying “beta could you get me a glass of water,” this seemingly 24 year old girl transformed into an 80 year old grandma after her nikahh to someone who is 12 years older then her.

LOL this is the funniest part. dunno why some people thing they've got surkhaab kay par after they get married or whatever. it's not like they're the only ones on the planet who are the ones that ever got married.

anyways errmm remove from FB, or put on strict profile. you hvae people that understand what a stuck up person she is, so you don't ahve to worry. do a cursory salaam when you see her and no need to get chummy. she's got her hsuband and other married people for company.

Umm....so you are friends with this girl's mom and dad? Or are her parents friends with your parents?

She's not related to you by blood or marriage.....and "friendships" end all the time. I'm assuming that your parents are friends with the girl's parents. If I'm right, then I don't see why its so difficult for you to cut off contact with her. I'm assuming that you're also in your early 20's.....so as an adult, explain to your parents why you refuse to deal with this girl and her drama.

And if she keeps talking trash about you...then let her. Your friends and people in your community who know you will know that she's full of s**t.

I don't feel sorry for Amna. This is like that Urdu saying:

Rani hu-ee diwani, susural walon ko maara eenta pathar, maika walon go ladoo paira )or something like that).

Wrong is wrong, yet the wrongdoers who know the impact of their actions on another's reputation, plead ignorance and expect their mistakes to be overlooked or forgiven. Where's holding the person accountable for their actions? Sure, I'll forgive once, but after that you've got to earn back my respect and trust. If you violate it again, no more chances.

In terms of what you should do - next time she's meethi-meethi in front of her mother, make a point of mentioning her transgressions to her mom. Other than that, avoid her. The only other thing is, don't stoop to her level - don't talk about her behind her back and don't mock her - because that makes you no better than her.

Urgh. All the girls here are like this. Well the socialites that is. The rest of us stay away from girls like this.

She is insecure. Just don't deal with her.

@soundarya what does OP mean?
@Paheli... ohhh my parents are friends with her parents, initally we were friends however her actions have caused me not to be soo friendly anymore. in fact my doors are closed to her.

thanks all on what to do. Actually i limited my facebook to her, I am sure at the next function she'll say something like " why did you do that? what have you got to hide?"
I don't want to stoop down to her level, because I am not like that.. in anyway
All if i do say something to her mom, her mom will be like "Hai thank God my daughter is not like that" in fact a couple of parties ago a couple of the aunties tried to subtlely mention of how some kids are totally different in front of their parents and in front of their peers they try to act like somehting else. and her mom said this "my daughter, AH, MA is not like that." Finally you all realize about your own kids.. (she meant this to her AMNA"S cousins mom). Seriously her parents think she can do no wrong.

@soundarya- you know honestly i don't even want to talk to her, I know sayin salaam is the right thing to do religiously, but to me that opens the door for communication and since she has talked SOOOO much trash about me, why should i open a door that is closed shut? like my sister said salaam to her the last time i ignored her, right before she said "ammi kids these days have no respect for their elders, See i said salaam she's soo stuck up she didn't say anything back.." and then she proceeded to try to carry on a conversation with my sister, most of the conversation was revolving around me (what do I do? don't i worry about getting married? where do I shop? what do I do all day long? how come i don't pick up my phone when she calls? )

ok and mind you... this girl will call one after another after another ring, like if i am in a meeting, obviously i don't pick up, and then she'll leave a viocemail hang up and call again.. Half the time i don't even listen to her 15 vmail messsages and just delete all of them because her messages are like "hey my mom thinks that we should see a movie, and I thought it was a good idea ? Hey my mom was wondering if you wanted to come oveR and I thought the same"

Its always her MOM wondering.. and her agreeing.. and personally i the less i see of them the better. I told my mom not to expect me to get chummy with her... and act like friends.. the thing that pissed off my mom is that she sent a message to MY cousin in pakistan telling him to admit to the relationship already and change his status (relationship) on facebook, and that got him mad too..

Thats psycho.

OP is original poster :slight_smile:
Then don’t say the salaam first. But it is necessary for you to say it back to her if she says it. Like someone posted earlier, give a cursory salaam back, then walk away.

“my mom”- this girl can’t think for herself. She probably has only her husband and mom in her life.

:smack: I get so annoyed when I deal with or hear about such people. That’s really nosy… it’s none of her business and I agree with PCG, it’s psycho. Amna has spent 20 or so years like this, she’s most likely not going to change… so just limit your interaction with her. Explain to your parents that you can’t be friends with Amna. Your personalities are completely different, so why force friendship? And if that girl does something else again, let your mom know this girl is destroying your reputation, you’ve had enough.

I don't promote retaliation... but you could bring it up in front of her Amna and her husband, "Oh Amna, I heard you messaged my cousin (guy's name). I didn't know you're really good friends with him? Did you meet him when you went to Pakistan? Or does your husband know him?" If she says it's concerning your relationship status, then act confused... "What relationship?" And say that she should talk to you about it instead, why talk to your male cousin about it. Maybe then the husband will tell Amna to get off of fb or tell her to not interfere in your life.

I would call her out on her bahavior in front of people in a very joking manner. Like “Amna, you messaged my cousin? That was so funny…we couldnt stop laughing about it! He thought you were seriously trying to ask him about his private life, hahahahaha!”

As for the rest, Ive been in those awkward situations where you have no choice but to interact with these people because your parents are friends. The girls are unpleasant, saryal and so into themselves. You dread the evening and eventually stop with the polite attitude and let them think whatever the heck they want. Yes, sounds familiar.

What I did is simply stop talking to them behind our parents’ backs…only in front of them. When the parents were there, I was soooo sweet, you could see gulab jamun falling out of my mouth. :hehe: