How to deal with a former friend

Girlwithdreams,

You kinda answered your own question when you said the following in your post:

"So a couple of us have flat out decided that “hey why talk to her at all?” if she’s going to act like that.. .then let her be happy in her own little world.."

I read Soundi's summary and then I went back and read your original post. And it seems to me that this girl, Amna, either has a major insecurity problem.....OR (if she's been like this ever since day 1) then maybe she has some antisocial disorder. She lacks social etiquette. For example, she's frequently blowing her own trumpet (feeling the need to show off).......she's super competitive......is not flexible with having social interactions/conversations that don't revolve around her.

^I know of someone that is similar to your former friend, Amna. This individual (that I know) displays similar characteristics as your friend Amna..........and also lacks friends. In other words, few if any friends are seen around the person. Why? Because people are turned off by this person's anti-social behavior. And instead of reflecting over their own mistakes...........the person justifies their loneliness by saying that the problem is with the "OTHER PEOPLE"......that the OTHER PEOPLE have the attitude problem or jealousy.....and that they are "INNOCENT" and "PERFECT."

^^^It's much easier for people to blame others than to contemplate their own mistakes. And that's what Amna is doing.

Why are you wasting time on her sweetheart? The girl doesn't have friends.......that's how offensive her personality is. That is one lonely life and existence. You're more fortunate in this regard. She probably has ZERO PEACE OF MIND because her mind is always in competition mode and frequently consumed with negative thoughts. You know how unhealthy that is?????? She's damaging her health, her soul/spirit, and relationships with others. There's so much that this girl is LOSING out on. You're getting worked up over a person who is internally VERY DEFEATED (and can't even admit it).

As far as this Amna girl is concerned, you don't really even need to seek revenge or put Amna "in her place." She's already screwing herself over. When she gossips about other people................people take notice of that and will think that she's a backstabber that can't be trusted. She's creating a bad reputation for herself. She'd digging her own grave...........and she's adamant about it. For example, if she's going to gossip about you being a "Bad Muslim" during the dholki.............then SHE HERSELF should NOT have attended the dholki if she was so opposed to singing, music, and short sleeved shirts. If you can criticize.........but don't have the courage to avoid the situation you're criticizing........then technically being a participant makes her a "Bad Muslim" too. And I think people can see this.

Also, this girl has to have learned such toxic behavior from somewhere. SOMEONE must be promoting or fueling her negative habits (jealousy, competition, backbiting, etc). I wonder if it's her mother that's breeding this behavior in her. I wonder if her husband might be doing this. Also, I think she feels insecure/embarrassed about her husband and his poor English....and feels the need to compensate for this by saying that he's a "Double Masters, etc."

Re: How to deal with a former friend

IF you're that bothered about it....talk to her about the issue. Tell her point blank that you found out that she has been gossiping about you from several reliable sources. Maybe that'll make her squirm. Since she enjoys giving religious admonishments....tell her that a Muslim shouldn't gossip about their fellow brothers and sisters because that hurts the spirit of Islam more so than short sleeves and clapping.

^If you think that she's too stubborn to understand or consider another person's point of view..............then just maintain a distance from her. Either block her on FB or give her VERY LIMITED ACCESS.

^If she complains that you have something to "hide" because of the FB block........DON'T GIVE HER ANY EXPLANATIONS. You're not answerable to her. If you give her explanations........that's like giving her the message that she has power over you and that you feel the need to clarify things with her. It gives the message that her complaints and snide remarks have an effect over you. Don't give her the satisfaction.

Be a good Muslim.....and say the salam to her.......but limit all other conversation. Saying salam doesn't necessarily mean having a full blown conversation with her.

Don't respond to her emails and phone calls. If you do, make quick polite excuses...don't give her the chance to respond....and say "gotta go"...and hang up. EVENTUALLY.....she'll give up on calling you. The reason why she calls sooooooo much is because she thinks that you will eventually cave in and pick up the phone. Just be stronger....and don't pick up. She'll get the message that you won't surrender and she'll tire of this tactic at some point.

^Maybe over time.....both of your families will drift apart.

And don't worry about thinking that "If I avoid her, she'll backbite about me and ruin my good name within the community." Don't be so afraid of her. YOU are the one who has MORE friends than her.......and you have the better reputation. People KNOW you are of good character.....and can be trusted just as they know that she's a difficult person to deal with .

I can't explain why I feel so sorry for her...I dont know. I'm not condoning her actions at all but she must be truly miserable on a day to day thing to act this way.

sara not everyone who is miserable acts like this. she just thought she is going to have a great wonderful life and is going to be respected and adored by everyone else and is going to be held up on their shoulders and carried everywhere. now that isn't happening she is just acting like a giant aunty and trying to ruin other's lives and create phaddas.

I lost the will to live reading this..
What I have gathered is you think about this too much
Just move on sweets

I think this is a cry for help. You said she has changed and you used to be friends with her. So obviously at one point im sure you two had something in common. Maybe she was forced into the marriage. Maybe something else happened to her when she was in Pakistan. People don't just wake up one day, and decide to bad mouth others, and this is not an excuse for her behavior. There is no excuse, but some people are not as emotionally strong as others, and do not know how to handle negative events. So they are in defensive mode 24/7, even BEFORE anyone says or asks anything about them. She may feel that she has to put on an act, and pretend to be happy, and brag about their life so that you do not have an opportunity to ask any questions.

I say, give this another shot. Not for you, not for her, but for your friendship. Take her out to dinner. When she brags just listen to her, she is obviously trying to prove something to you. Just smile and let her know you are happy for her, once AND IF you feel that you two have gotten comfortable with eachother, ask her if anything is bothering her, because her attitude and behavior has changed since she has gotten back from Pakistan. Let her know all the things that she did that hurt you in a calm and healthy manner. Do not accuse her of anything.

Also... sometimes this tactic doesn't work, or works temporarily and things go back to the way they were after a few days, but at least you will know that you tried.

Thanks all for the advice @ reha I loved this line “When the parents were there, I was soooo sweet, you could see gulab jamun falling out of my mouth. :hehe:

Funny thing is that yesterday i went home and limited her profile complete so all she could see is my sex and birthday.. and profile picture.

Like 20 mins afterwards I got a phone call from her, and I decided that you all are right to some respect, I don’t owe her any explanation for anything. she called and left me this long voicemail saying that she didn’t know what to make her hubby for dinner, and wasn’t sure on whether to make subzi or keema told me her mom wanted to make keema, and then asked me if my facebook had gotten hacked into, because she COULD NOT see my wall.

I didn’t pick up, I figure that would be one step in the right direction. SHe called MY HOUSE about 2 hrs later (and I have told my mom my rationle for not wanting to associate with her anymore), and so she calls my mom asking where i was and my mom says “acutally she has a ton of work that she needs to complete for her job, so she’s working on that” and Amna was like “Aunty can you ask her why she blocked me from her facebook?” and my mom was like “ok, i will, but Amna, she was saying now fb is a waste of time, how if someone posts something others READ too much into it, that people are having affairs and stuff, in fact she said she wanted to delete it because she doesn’t have time, with job and all and also she finds that she stays in contact with those that she wants to thru calls and emails.” and amna was like " Yes i know aunty totally people read too much into things." my mom got another call so she made her hang up.

@desi beauti- I do agree with you, but when someone had done soooo many things wrong I don't even feel like taking them out to lunch or dinner, I would rather break off the friendship... besides she's a psychology major she should know hte resources to find a therapist..
She was not this way before she got married, and the marriage to her wasn't arranged... they just happened to "fall in love" with in 2 weeks..... i would have given your suggestion a try, but the the thing that broke it off for me, is when she messaged my cousin.. he told me about it, i mean its one thing to mess with one person, but to contact a person that you don't know.. and ask them if they are in a relationship with someone.. .that's wrong on sooo many levels.

I completely understand. I actually forgot the part about her contacting your cousin. Just let your family know that you no longer want to associate with her, and that if she calls not to pick up, or to make an excuse for you. I wouldn't just limit my profile, I would remove her from facebook.

yea so far she's called 10 times... each time i havn't picked up... and honestly who calls at like 3 AM?

3 am? I think your mom needs to give her mom a call and let her know that you do not appreciate phone calls after 9pm, and also make sure you throw in that their daughter is emailing your relatives back home, asking them what their marital status is. Ask your cousin to foward the message so you can show it to her mom.

:smack: That’s just weird. I would not go up to some auntie and ask why their daughter blocked me from facebook, nor has someone called up my mom and asked why I blocked them from fb. It amazes me how clueless some people can be when it comes to social behavior.

:smack: :smack: Well… I guess you now know how much you mean to her :hehe: She really wants you in her life as her “friend.”

:k: That’s a good idea. And since Amna’s mom believes her daughter can do no wrong, the message sent to your cousin could help. Add that you’re showing the message to the mom and thankfully not to Amna’s husband because you know the value of reputation and relationships. You don’t want to cause trouble in Amna’s life and likewise, she shouldn’t cause problems in yours.

can't you just block her, instead of just limiting her?

Out of the whole summary, this nearly had me in tears :rotfl: :omg:

I think I did a very good job with the summary :D

Yes. You definitely do not want to cause problems with her husband. I kinda feel that he is the root cause for her loss of manners.

she called me AGAIN!!! OMG.. can we say psycho? Khar, yesterday i didn't pick up her calls and today she called me at 7:30 in the morning, which is early but i thought it was one of my clients and i picked it up..
She started out talking about the weather and how its been hot etc, and i cut her off immediately saying " hey i am acutaly getting ready for work, so if its something important do let me know otherwise i have to go." to which she replied "ohh i just wanted to ssay hi and talk, we haven't spoke to each other in such a long time (NO SH*& sherlock<--- that's what i wanted to say) and she said "that's kinda of mean that you are forcing me to hang up, because i took time out of my schedule to call you."I asked her again, "Hey what's soo important?," and she replied "Ohh just wanted to say hi haven't spoken to you in a while, and hey your mom told me that your not using facebook, why not? its a wonderful way to stay in touch with people." So i told her, "Amna, can't really talk right now been really busy, I gotta go bye"
She calls her COUSIN and asked her cousin if he's been blocked and he's like "Uhh actually i think i am totally blocked" which i know is a lie..
khar, my mom called her mom and was talking about how people who work their time is sooo limited when they come home and then mentioned how those people really need their sleep etc, and then told her mom of how she called me at 3 am, and her mom is like " ohhh that's the time AMNA goes to sleep, maybe she couldn't sleep," and brushed it off like no big deal.. and my mom is like "please explain to your (NUMBLESS, SOCIALLY RETARDED, IDIOT<--- AGAIN I TOTALLY WISH) daughter not to call my daughter at 3, and her mom said something to the effect of "ohh ok i'll tell her, but since her shaadi i let her live her life the way she wants too."
So all day long she's been bothering her cousin to ask me why i have blocked the two of them... because as she told her cousin "i tried to talk to her, but she rushed me off the phone."
she's called me a total of 12 times not counting this morning's call and sent me like 5 texts in addition...

How many more calls/texts in the last 22 hours?

calls i have gotten 10 since 2 pm yesterday and texts ... 9 ohh wait i just got one more 10!

see people this is what happens with you have absolutly nothing to do... you become a nuisance to others, so lesson learned... either get a job, continue on with school, have a baby, read a boook, find a hobby, do something to keep yourself busy!

lol, and you haven't responded to even one of these (now over 22 calls and 15 texts ) ? And she still doesn't get the hint?