How to Balance between Mother and Wife?

Re: How to Balance between Mother and Wife?

now the couple you are talking about must be really psycho.
As an adult OP can make the decisions but i am just giving him the perspective that what his mother might have in her mind when she asks the wife to send him back earlier.
When people advocate that this is only natural that newly wed couple wants to spend more time together, they must also realize that its only natural for mothers to be concerned for their children forever and to keep advising them. Children can agree or disagree but expecting that mothers won't say a word in your affairs once you are a married adult is unnatural.

Lol theorist: Mothers ask all these questions (you mentioned above) to their married daughters too, the only difference is as the daughters are not living with them, they ask these over the phone.

Agreed. I dont know why Theorist said that. In our own family, mothers & fathers are more concerned about their daughters than the sons. Because they think guys are strong enough o take care of themselves.

Now I am offended.
What about fathers ? :naraz:

I hear some people groan “Yak na shud, do shud. :smack: How to free the young’nes from the influence of those evil, caring and clinging parents.”. :hehe:

Ear plugs. Hear both parties and don't pass things on. Become a buffer for a peaceful life.

Really? Do they ask you everyday if you have eaten or had enough sleep? Do they ask about your whereabouts everyday? The ONLY difference you are speaking of makes the biggest difference. I am sure parents worry about how their daughters are being treated but I highly doubt they have trouble going to bed worrying whether or not they are home, have eaten enough, or had enough sleep. The way mothers in our culture worry about their sons never changes even when they are married. Parents can't wait to get their daughters married off so their "duty" is done. Daughters ultimately become someone else's responsibility while they never let go of their own son(s). When parents fully understand that their daughter once married is someone's wife and they give her full space, why don't they extend the same courtesy to their sons? They have to know everything about their son's life and cannot live without him but they advice their daughters "ghar ki batain ghar main rakha karo, apne maslay khud suljhao."

Tell me why this shouldn't bother us. Double standards just bother the heck out of me. This is not the only issue I feel strongly about. Just making that clear.

The issue IMO is that the mother has an issue (whether out of concern for or possessiveness over her son) and rather than discuss it with her son, she brought it up with the DIL. The MIL is angry/unhappy that the DIL told her husband that it was your mom who wants me to send you home early.

Had the son agreed with his wife (or rather his mom's instructions) or had the DIL not mentioned that it was the MIL who made the suggestion, all would have been hunky-dory.

I think the mom should own her suggestion/advice - if she's concerned about her son being tired/seeing too much of his wife/spending too much time at the inlaws/not enough time with his own parents, she should tell her son directly - don't use the DIL as a messenger and then become ultrasensitive and be put out that the DIL told her husband that it was the MIL's idea - the DIL only said what was true.

Yahan sach bolna bhi ghalat samjh jaata hai.

Nothing in here that I would disagree with, but are you suggesting that OP do his mother's islaah? If so, am afraid, that will make matters worse.

^ Well, Iqbaal did say:

Javaanon ko peeron ka ustaad kar

Zamaanay kay andaaz badlay ga’e
Naya daur hai, saaz badlay ga’e :chai:

If you ask me who my least favourite type of person is - it is the one who denies the rights of one relationship, blindly and unjustly in favour of another relationship. I would respect neither an amma-ka-laadla nor a *joru-ka-ghulam *- because in both scenarios someone's rights are being denied.

The key to any relationship is balance and the person responsible for that balance is the one who is the common denominator. Here it is the son and husband who needs to know how to manage his relationship with his mother and his relationship with his wife. Balancing relationships requires fair-mindedness.

I get the whole, maa kai kadmon ke neechay jannat hai *and *valdayn kay saamne uff bhi nahin karna chahiyay - but respecting one's parents does not require blind obedience and to manage more than one relationship doesn't mean that one is guilty of parental disobedience. One can remain quiet when it comes to an unjustice relating to themselves - because it is for them to forgive the unjustice. But if someone remains quiet when an unjustice is committed against someone else, then the silent person becomes part of the unjustice and is an equal participant in it. There is no disrespect or tauheen *or badtameezi *in speaking up for what is right - regardless of the relationship - whether it be parents, spouse, child, teacher, elder etc.

And as for islaah - agar islaah se kisi ki hidayat ho, to us main bura'ii kahan ki? The key is how one communicates the message - saying it without anger or blame.

Speaking of balance, the only person creating the imbalance is the mother. By dictating how long her son should stay with in laws. Simple Arithmetic indicates the son spends 4.5 days 4 nights with parents, and 2.5 days 3 nights at inlaws.

Those who have been away from their spouse know that an extra 12 hours is precious. And worth the being tired Monday morning. There is no perfect in life. Mom is trying for perfection when it comes to her son being not tired once a week - Monday morning. Just give that up. And things will be peachy as can be.

This is a non issue. Even Sady agrees.

So lets say OP takes this advice and confronts his mother, albeit diplomatically, and says she is wrong. What do you think will happen? Do you think there will be sudden reformation and she will change? I think not. On the contrary, it will mess up two relationships: mom-son and mom-DIL ( cause mom is going to blame DIL for it ). Now OP is worse off than before.

Completely agree that it is OP's responsibility to maintain the balance, but that balance does not come from suggesting him to show his mom her place. It comes from accepting both his mom and his wife for what they are.

Mashvara dainay vaalay ka kiya jaata hai.

They can sit back and laugh at the further drama in the OP's life and household. :)

But I am sure they are well-meaning and talking principles as they feel proper.

I just noticed the following parts of the OP which I didnt think of much before but since more & more people are thinking that the mother is the evil one, I need to mention these (quoting from original post):

My family is highly educated.

My wife is staying at her parents home for her remaining education after marriage.

***My mum is extremely supportive of her education ,very humble ,very open minded and polite.

I am too simple and say things which make her cry.

Mom n dad adviced me once :don’t stay longer at your inlaws ,but i dont agree.

I get to meet meet my wife after whole week so i can’t help myself.

Being furious on this i inquired why and she dind’t confirm but she gave me a hint that my mum is worried about my tiredness due to constant travelling.

To this my mum started crying and said*** if you guys want to live alone then u can do so***.

Now i don’t know what i would say or do which will make me a good son.

Now I think that just like everyone here, the OP, by default, is under the impression that the parents especially his mother is evil because she is telling him to control himself & spend less time at inlaws. In his post, he himself is making the mother look like the bad guy. Too much influence of crappy dramas I guess.

He himself admits that he belongs to a “highly educated” family & his mother is “extremely supportive” of his wife’s education, “very humble ,very open minded and polite”. He also said that his mother has no objection on her son & DIL living alone independently. Why is it the all of us here cannot understand that the problem here is NOT the son spending time with his wife but spending time at the INLAWS. His parents tried to tell him that but he “cant help” himself. He speaks of getting furious when his wife tried to tell him the same thing using different set of words. Now this being a new marriage, the ‘furious’ side of him must be new to wife which probably scared her & she ultimately made his mother’s concern of his tiredness the reason for why she told him that. Obviously, being a new bride, she would not want to give her ‘very keen’ husband an impression that she is the one who does not want to see him so often. Because she surely can see that the husband is simply not ‘getting’ the message. So to avoid being looked at as the bad guy, the wife had no option but to put all the blame on his mother’s concern of his well being to get the message across as politely as she could to avoid being lashed out at since he was “furious” when she told him to spend less days with her. Notice again that neither the mother nor the wife ‘blamed’ the OP for anything. They are trying to get a very simple message across, “SPEND LESS TIME AT THE INLAWS”. Not saying “SPEND LESS TIME with your WIFE”.

Why is it that the OP himself and many posters here are viewing this highly educated family & his very supportive open minded mother with the same glass that the indian / geo dramas show us the JAHIL, troubles making, narrow minded, evil families & mothers with??? I think again it is because of too much negative influence of the TV and useless crap being shown which affects & makes our subconscious.

So, @humanityfirst
Please live upto your nick & sort this issue by renting someplace in your wife’s city for the weekend you want to spend with her. Arrive at your inlaws spend few hours or the evening with them, take your wife to your rented place or whereever you wanna, upto you, for the remaining days of the weekend. Drop her back at the inlaws the same day or night you intend to leave. Spend few hours or a night at the inlaws before leaving for your city. This arrangement will cool everyone down including you. If after this, your parents still tell you to spend less time with your wife then we’ll think of another solution. Most probably, after this, more than anyone else, it will be you who would wanna spend less time with your wife & more with your parents :cb: ( :devil: )

This is your only solution which would calm down everyone (including you). All the politics will die instantly & everyone will have a peaceful sleep. It is only your hormones creating the tension between your wife/mother, not your mother or anyone else.

Aap log kya ko jab kiya kehte hain, tho confusun hi confusun.

Kya yaani what
Kiya yaani did

Result - Humari vaat luging.

Egjampul

kiya se kiya ho gaya
Bewafa aaa aaaaa

The renting part makes NO sense.

^^ You please shut up :smilestar:

That is the best piece of advice which will make him stop, think for a second & ‘get’ the message his parents & wife have been trying to give him.

Ok. Time to ingest more aloo.

Seriously though - if the OP and wife rent life will be difficult for them. So op may decide to go back Sunday so they don't have to rent. But that is just because the alternative - re ting for 3 days a week - comes with too many hassles.

For that matter, if the choice is
1) return Sunday Or
2).Stay out on the road

OP will choose option 1. Correct?

So you are giving false choices to OP. Leaving him no real choice.

Yeah please have all that you can get your hands on the stored up ones so maybe your brain gets out of Indian dramas phase & into the reality.

No one knows how many years to go until the wife completes her education. So until she does, OP intend to continue this arrangement of spending long weekends at his inlaws making everyone's life difficult by over looking that he might be causing inconvenience to other family members of his wife. Maybe she has siblings who have plans for the weekend, maybe potential marriage prospects of other siblings want to visit the inlaws or the inlaws need to go somewhere or could be anything that he does not know. We can only speculate as we only have limited info that he gave us.

I think the inlaws are providing him the best comfort during his long weekend stay which has made him overlook or not even know about the inconvenience he might be causing to the other family members. New marriage, new wife, new life, his feelings and all, everything is understandable but he needs to take a pause & understand what his wife and parents are trying to tell him. They are his loved ones, well wishers, not out to harm him. Unless he goes through some sort of inconvenience, he won't realise what he's causing to others. I have spent a good number of years in Pakistan & know that things in reality are not crazy as Shown in TV dramas & bolly****. So you should also stop telling others that their mothers are MANIPULATIVE or damaging to his marriage & happiness. People need to stop applying idiocies if TV/films on real life situations because most of these TV shows are also made by similar JAHILs.

You are making no sense Sady. Can you please point out where in the OP the OP has stated his inlaws are having issues and inconvenience with him staying there too long? You are just making things up. Maybe it is the Lollywood dramabaji?

Here, let me help you. Here is what op states

Sometimes if i am luckily i get to have a longer weekend e.g 3 to 4 days , i stay at my inlaws.

Last time i stayed there for 4 days due to petrol unavilibility .

My routine is: Do packing and go to lahore directly from office on Friday Evening.

Return on Monday morning and directly go to office.

Obviously i feel tired from driving and vouage.

My mum asked my wife directly to send his son back on Sun so he can rest before going to office.

My wife asked me to go back on Sun instead of monday.

Being furious on this i inquired why and she dind't confirm but she gave me a hint that my mum is worried about my tiredness due to constant travelling.

IT IS THE MOM WHO ASKED THE WIFE TO SEND HER SON BACK SUNDAY. IS HE A FEDEX PACKAGE?

Glad you finally see the light and agree.

Chalo, ek aur aaloo idhar.