how should i respond...

I am in germany, I am here because my daughter has Grand Mal epilepsy and is being treated here by neurologists. She was in hospital twice (4 and 6 days) in december and on saturday we had to call an ambulance because she had a generalized fit and wasnt responding to her emergency drug, I called an ambulance and a doctor then.

I was also ill when we came here in september, a week later I had jaundice and hepatitis A (started in pakistan but i didnt know) but was very ill too.

Ok that was a short summary… my mother in law knows of my daughters problem but when people, friends and relatives ask her where is your bahoo, chaar mahinay ho gaye hain and stuff, she doesnt say anything :eek: she just says woh aglay mahinay aa rahi hai and asks me to hurry up with coming back saying “mein logon ko kaisay samjhanoon” (wat should i explain to people). Why is everything being thrown at me, do i make my daughter sick, is it embarrassing to atleast say koi beemar hai.

Dil bohat rota hai because no1 is there for support :crying2:

Re: how should i respond...

where is ur husband in all this? a very tough time at you but my deepest well-wishes are with you. frankly, your reason for being out of the country should have been a source of pride for ur MIL. diseases are a part of life and they can come to any1 anytime. hard times specially with one's health do come in the life-cycle. tell ur MIL to disclose the real secret. afterall, there is nothing to hide. i think that ur MIL is more into rumour-mongering, otherwise she would not have bothered u by conveying such useless issue at such a time of distress. i know many MIL'S who enjoy being a source of stress for their DIL'S but they should keep this in mind that justice is there done at the heaven, they do not know what Allah has in store for them. moreover,ppl are going to gossip abt issues, they will find another after u disclose ur reason. this is so common in Pakistani society. don't bother for these time wasting disscussions and just focus on ur and ur daughter well-being. this is ur world. my heartiest desires with you

Boredom,Care for ur daughter and for ur health,do not bother about other peoples.
Do things priority wise,your daughter is your first priority.
My well wishes for you and your daughter and pls never think that you are alone,have faith in ALLAH (swt)

I wish your MIL would hurry up and die or something. Jaahil ppl like that don't deserve to live.

Hi Boredom,

Last time you posted a thread, "husband k saath kya karna chahiye?" And in that thread you asked,**
"How should we spend time/ what should we talk about
Men... what are ure (halal) expectations from ure wives. Wives, plz tell me how u keep interests alive. Thnx. "**

Here is an idea.......husband k saath apni problems share karni chahiye! And if he is a strong **husband and a **good father.....then he will stand up to his amma ji and support you and his 2 daughters.

Aur jahan sawal aap ki saas hai.......so tell me, what is the most important thing for you RIGHT NOW? Abhi, is waqt, tumharay liye kaun si baat sab se ziyada important hai? Are your saas's stupid words more important or is your daughter's treatment more important?
Right now, the **ONLY
thing u need to worry about is your daughter's treatment NOT your saas's** BAKWAAS! And believe me, it's nothing but **bakwaas. The old woman thinks only about "log kya kahein gay" **instead of thinking about her grandaughter.

Your daughter needs your **full attention
.....and instead you are giving some old backwards painud narrow-minded women the top priority. RIGHT NOW YOU ARE A MOTHER FIRST ....AND THEN A DAUGHTER-IN-LAW. You have more serious issues and instead you are worrying about someone who has proved that she's not worth of any sane person's attention.

You daugther comes first......you shouldn't give a flying **** about your saas! And the next time your saas gives you any of her classic bakwaas, u have 2 options....and number 3 is a request.

1) IGNORE HER. DON't RESPOND. INSIDE 1 EAR, OUT THE OTHER. Once she sees that her words don't affect u, she'll take her bak bak somewhere else.....such as the CRAZY HOUSE...LOONEY BIN....MENTAL ASSYLUM!

2) Give your saas MOON PHAT JAWAB!!! Tell her "Look, right now I don't give a **** what your community think. You can tell them whatever excuses u want, since you're so full of them anyways. I have a daughter to attend to. I have neither the time, nor the energy, not the patience, nor the desire to listen to your petty BULL****!

3) Husband k saath kya karna chahiye? Haaan......us ko saath share karna chahiye! Just tell him what's bothering u. If your husband is a man, he will at least stand up to his AMMA for his epilieptic daughter.

Oh and here's a tip that one of the Guppies shared a long time ago......In front of your husband, treat your saas with the MOST RESPECT AND LOVING CARE. ACT like you love the stupid woman. And when your husband is gone......ignore your saas!

Boredom where is your husband in all of this?

My daughter is the 1st and most important person :flower1:

My saas has warned me not to share the stuff she says to me to my husband :bummer: she says aurton kii baaton say mardon ko parayshan nahin karna chahiye and to be honest i really dont have the energy for arguments and insults from her.

My huby is so busy that i had to come 2 germany for the treatment of my daughter!! No time for us, he hasnt even taken his kids to a park yet. It is me who does all this, buys toys, clothes (but with his money or our money is better). He does love us but i miss so many things that other normal families do. He even works on sundays (chalo majboori hai but still). He shuld have taken time to vaccinate me/ take his daughter for regualr checkups.

I would really like to become independant and do all this stuff in pakistan also but my saas even asks me to “talk behind the gate” with people who ring the bell. Its difficult :bummer:

Some of this, I agee with Some of it I don't. Yes, you should talk to your husband about it, but in a way that gets the point across, and not like your bad mouthing her. Nobody wants to hear someone say their mom is the most awful, evil b**** in the world. It will only do you harm.

Just say>>> this is what bothers me about your mom...can you talk to her abt it?

Do ignore the MIL on the things she says that displeases you. BUT DONT TALK BACK TO HER. That's NEVER good. It causes more drama then necessary. If you really need to say something- just tell her that " I am really worried about my daughter and don't have time to think about what the community thinks" Repeat as many times as necessary. BUT BE NICE ABOUT IT!! NEVER say anything in an accusatory tone.

I say the above because I remember one time when this lady's husband was dying, there was always some kind of screaming row going on between her and the MIL>>>>> IT WAS VERY VERY VERY SAD, both for the husband and everyone involved. you don't want to get into a situation where SCREAMING/FIGHTING at your MIL inardvently becomes your top priority instead of you daughter

Redvelvet is rite, in that right now right now your daughter is your TOP most prioritity, and MILs and whoever else takes a seat way back .

I want to add that once I had a brother that passed away, and I can tell you it was one of the most difficults times for my parents, and I can't imagine ehat that time would be like if thre was some kind of fighting going on. Honestly the best approach would just to IGNORE WHAT SHE SAYS AND CONCENTRATE ON YOU DAUGHTER. Whenever she says something, just DONT SAY ANYTHING. NOThING. ASSUME A SILENCE> An awkward moment will follow, and she'll learn to stop saying things like that. AND since you didn't say anything and assumed a silence, no one can blame you for being rude,

your saas is a controlling psycho freak and u need to stand up to her and ur husband.

1stly ur husband needs to be reminded that he needs to spend time with his family , why did he have a family if he is not going to even talk to them

2ndly ur saas needs to be told to butt out of your life , and tell her you dont care what people say it seems as if she is embarrased of having a grandchild with epilepsy . thats typical of jaahil women as they do not understand the fact that the poor child is ill but instead thing they are just abnormal

really i cant believe that even in the year 2009 we are still putting up with such monster in laws .

i think it's hightime that your husband realize for whom he is doing all this work, aur kis kay liye woh itna busy hai. i mean, who exactly is he earning all this money for, if he isn't going to take care of his own family, in an emotional way. theek hai, mard ka kaam hai family ko support karna, laikin if he's not available to take you our his own daughter to a doctor for even regular check ups, then he is failing as a husband and a father. all he is really is a paycheck.

you need to confide in your husband. you need to make him realize what a dire situation your little girl is in. because he will really miss out on everything, and it's a life experience that everyone has to have. your saas sounds like she is from the past, no offence intended, and that's ok. that's what she was taught. but things have changed so much. and especially considering your daughter's health, he needs to be told about what is happening behind the scenes with things back home.

as for your saas, in a respectful manner, tell her that i'm sorry, my daughter's sick. i can't help it, and you know it as well. aap bhallay logon ko details main na batain keh bachi kitni beemar hai, but please do not stress me out even more considering the situation.

i have never ever given a jawab 2 her, i have never complained about her even, out of respect ofcourse. She has said so heart trembling and hurtful stuff but i never said anything back. Why? My kids are more important than arguing with a person who belittles me, even in front of others. The thing is that she doesnt argue she directly compares me to other peoples bahoos and her other bahoo whom she loves the most in this world, she calls me batimeez and u know what she takes revenge in every form i.e hiding things, telling neighbours and all that i dont do anything, cant do and that i use her to clean up my room basically that she is my servant.

My daughter is ill and i cannot waste my time in arguing! :)

My husband will not take my side. She makes up stories and gives him wrong info leaving me all alone.

its also embarrassing for her that there are no male children yet

i would never have married my husband if i knew that things will turn out like this.

This is a very sad situation, bd...I will surely keep you and your girl in my prayers. I dont get the whole story, I dont speak urdu so I missed a good part of this thread but it sounds like you have your hands full with your MIL. Just keep a serene smile on your face and when she says something incorrect then politely state the real facts.

Is she living with you in germany and also going with you to pak? Maybe it would be possible to live separately from her?

Awww boredom, you are such a good DIL and mother. Always take the highroad, don't stoop down to her level, and don't think people don't know who's righ and who's wrong. Neighbor's/community people know what's going on better then anyone else. People recognize jaahils like they recognize night and day.

You'll be rewarded Inshaallah, and take comfort in the fact pretty soon your MIL will be old and feeble, and then won't be saying stuff to you. So just be patient. It's the Islamic thing to do. It's just a matter of time.

And gone.

Re: how should i respond…

Boredom. i hope things get better for u :frowning:

now islamic it is to do all this bad talking against her MIL behind her back? jannat mein koun sa rutba milay ga iss ko aise harkaton pe? gheebat gheebat hai...kisi bhi hal mein ho...kisi ke moun pe na kehna agar achi baat hai to peeth peechay baat kerna utni bhi burri baat hai. i don't see anything islamic in whatever she is doing. if she is taking care of her child then don't hindus...jews...christians etc take care of their sick children? if she is showing patience then that is not an islamic virture exclusively...

Perhaps you should suggest what your mother in law should reply to the 'people' who ask when you are returning? Maybe that wont offend her, as you're not really saying it to her in a direct way. Make out that those people should be more sensitive to the needs of your daughter, she make take the hint. I dont know.

I would tread carefully though, you don't want to sound patronising.

This is not gheebat. As we do not know the MIL's name face, or anything, let alone the poster's.

Just because Jews and Christian do a certain thing, does not make it unIslamic. To take of your children, your relations with your relatives are all good deeds and they are being written down as good deeds.

Allah gave her a baby that is sick, and Allah will reward her for ALL her good actions- going to Germany for her daughter, staying with her daughter, dealing with a hurtful MIL during this time-however mundane those tasks seem.

Take note of this hadith:
Narrated Aishah(RA): A poor woman came to me with her daughters. I gave her three date-fruits. She gave a date to each of them and then she took up one date-fruit and brought that to her mouth to eat, but her daughters asked her that also. She then divided between them the date fruit that she intended to eat. This (kind) treatment of her impressed me and I mentioned that to Allah's Messenger(Salalahu Alayhi wa Salam) who said, "Verily Allah has assured Paradise for her, because of (this act) of her," or said, "HE(AzzaWaJal) has rescued her from Hell-Fire." (MUSLIM)

SHE WAS RESCUED OUT OF HELL FIRE FOR GIVING HER DAUGHTERS A DATE!!!!!!!
No deed is too small to please Allah(swt).