how can i give up something i don’t even have? waise bhi i did not bring in the instructor’s issue. i was merely responding to the posts and thatz it. if you want to roll ur eyes or urself at someone then it should be A_K or punjab de zoo da meriyal-sher.
On the contrary…I WANT my wife and daughters to be outstanding in whatever they do…Matsui, Haven’t you been following my post? Haven’t you been reading?![]()
Lajawab - Ever heard the name RAWA ??
Right on Matsui ![]()
*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Lajawab - Ever heard the name RAWA ??
Right on Matsui :)
ever heard the name Northern Alliance?
Right on Lajawaab :~)
*Originally posted by EntityParadigm: *
how can i give up something i don't even have? waise bhi i did not bring in the instructor's issue. i was merely responding to the posts and thatz it. if you want to roll ur eyes or urself at someone then it should be A_K or punjab de zoo da meriyal-sher
My response was to Lajawab .. only the last line where I typed in the letters "EP" were directed at you. Khair, I'm rolling my eyes at the right Guppy.
ever heard the name Northern Alliance?
Two wrong dont make it right. do they ?
i only replied to ur post. wrong OR right is not issue :~)
here is one woman from south asia doing what you say is incapable
http://www.nytimes.com/2003/08/16/international/asia/16FPRO.html
ANGALORE, India — Like father, like daughter, Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw thought in the 1970’s, when she set out to become a brew master just as her father had been. She left India to train in Australia, then returned home to find that daughters were not welcome in India’s breweries.
That door closing for her opened another one for India. Unemployed, she followed a love of biology and a chance referral to an Irish biotechnology company. At 25, she started their Indian operation from her garage, successfully extracting from papaya an enzyme used to tenderize meat, among other things, and from the swim bladders of tropical fish a collagen that helps clear beer.
It was the beginning of India’s biotechnology industry.
Twenty-five years later, Ms. Mazumdar-Shaw, 50, has become a symbol of sorts for that industry. Her now independent company, Biocon India Ltd., of which she is chairwoman and managing director, employs almost 900 people, making it among India’s largest biotechnology companies.
From this capital of the southern state of Karnataka, which is now home to 85 biotechnology companies, Ms. Mazumdar-Shaw is among those trying to shape a nation’s approach to uncharted scientific and commercial terrain. It is both promising and risky.
Across India, states are racing to set up biotech parks, hoping to mimic the success of the information technology industry that defined India as a global knowledge powerhouse.
But biotechnology touches human lives in a way that information technology does not, and that is at the heart of the debate over its benefits and risks for developing countries.
That debate heated up with President Bush’s charge that Europe’s resistance to genetically modified foods has made African countries reluctant to accept bio-engineered foods despite widespread hunger there. Similar concerns have arisen in India, which rejected a donation of a soy-corn blend this year because the United States could not certify that it had not been genetically modified.
The worry in the developing world, said Ms. Mazumdar-Shaw, who does not share the concern, is this: “Why has Europe banned it? It must be for a reason. Why are we being fools and embracing it?”
She passionately believes that India must embrace biotechnology, with the proper precautions. She believes it can change the way this country of more than one billion people, at least one-fourth of them deep in poverty, eats and farms, researches and cures disease.
“Today anything can be done — we have the techniques,” she said.
Biotechnologists are working to develop high-protein potatoes and high-nutrient rice that could help address the country’s malnutrition problem. They have developed a vaccine for leprosy, which was not being researched in the West, and are working on biofuels from local crops like sugar cane.
But such ventures, if done badly, could also cause damage, sending new genetic strains into the country’s basmati rice crop, for example, threatening a staple food. It is a new frontier characterized by excitement, but also uncertainty.
Ms. Mazumdar-Shaw seems well-suited to both. She is possessed of what she calls a “spirit of adventure,” along with a deep determination to succeed. Her family was unconventional, not least in her father’s choice of profession as a master brewer. They were Brahmins originally from the state of Gujarat, which even today prohibits alcohol.
“My parents were today’s people,” she said.
Unable to get into medical college, she focused on zoology and other biosciences at Bangalore University, and she became fascinated by fermentation science. She earned a scholarship to Australia, only to meet disappointment at home in her quest to become India’s first female master brewer.
But the setback was only temporary. Today she has capitalized well on the abundance and affordability of Indian biologists and chemists, building a loyal team. She is simultaneously warm and controlled, a gracefully aggressive entrepreneur who favors scarves and pearls.
i only replied to ur post. wrong OR right is not issue
Dont run for cover, You didn't reply, you asked another question :) and Yes Wrong and right are the issue.
maybe for you its an issue. for me its not and so i won't bother to care :~)
I never thought I would be coming to this section of GS for reading jokes. Lajawab bhai, its just hilarious how you are jumping on the poor girl under the umbrella of rights of women and segregation. You mentioned that if it was you wife or daughter… you wouldn’t have let them strap themselves with a na-mahram ..well, good for you :k: and may god bless you for running the Islamic show within the premises of your household. Islam is just a belief system and nothing more…May god be the judge of our intentions. You can’t sling mud on other people’s character using its teaching as your arsenal.
slightly deviating from the topic... all i wanna know is..
Lajawab.. if ur wife or daughter were in need of medical attention.. lets say (God forbid) they were drowning.. and the only person around was a namehram.. a MALE!!! would u not let him save their lives? would you not approve of mouth to mouth recucitation??
man... she only went skydiving!
Why have two pages of this thread been deleted?
It was quite funny. Sadzzz … you missed it. ![]()
did this go up to four pages!!!! aila... id feel honoured if i were u mehnaz :)
im laffing at how something so innocent can be made into such a big deal....such is the mentality of the paki folk
Dear Mehnaz, It was deleted for the simple reason that no one seemed able, or willing, to keep personal insults and ridiculous phrases out of the discussion. The thread will remain open, InshaAllah, as long as everyone has a respectful discussion. It’s very disappointing that, for all the talk of Islamic principles in this thread, few seemed able to uphold one of the highest principles in Islam - that of basic respect and dignity towards all.
If anyone has concerns re: the above, please feel free to drop me a PM.
I think it was best to have deleted those posts…
The conversation took a turn for the south so I think we can continue the discussion again…
Segregation is also security. There is strength in numbers. Voices of the cumulative has a better chance of being heard…
Political science students will be aware that this is what Socialism fights for. Representation.
There are many benefits of segregation…Remember, it’s been done before with magnificent success…Both in this world and the Hereafter…
Why dilute or tamper with a proven formula…Segregation works…
Note: This form of segregation is in no way to be taken as the segregation of America…In the Islamic way of gender segregation, limits are imposed upon both men and women and both have their own respective rights.
These are the limits set by Allah :swt: for the betterment of the whole. The Quran states,
You are free to believe whatever you wish to believe, that is your right, but do not make a mockery of other’s belief’s.
Some thought my post was funny. What is so funny about purdah and hijab and hayaa? You treat a religious ideology as funny? And that too an ideology which is ‘supposedly’ supposed to be a part of you…
And this time stick to the topic…Anymore dirty ranting and ravings and they go back where they came from…:yukh:
damn.. u guys r brutal! she just went sky diving.. what was wrong with that? :~S i wish i cud do that as well...
khair by the way who says women dont work side by side men in pakistan? my female cousins are doctors lawyers pharmists, teachers, proffessors, psychologists and are working with men in pakistan!! and are very good at what they do MashAllah. and some even wear hijab but that never stopped them from working.
few years ago, when i went to pak, i was pleasantly surprised to see women working in boutiques ( which they run by themselves) , heck i even saw women working in mcdonalds wearing jeans!
what if a woman has no one in the world to support her? no husband no brother no father? she has to work in that case, n i know so many families like that where they just had to work cuz there was no one to support them.
tum sab Islam ko patah nahien kya say kya bana daitay ho. as far as i know its not a strict religion as u guyz make it seem to be.
*Originally posted by Lajawab: *
There are many benefits of segregation...Remember, it's been done before with magnificent success...Both in this world and the Hereafter...
I think the reason for the ridicule toward this ideology is not toward Islam, but rather this rather narrow interpretation of it. Any religion or religous text can find justification for that type of philosophy. It's not new. But many today are forward thinking and not such literalists. Segregation can never be equal. Individual rights are seen by modernists as God given and do not want someone else's interpretation of what they can do for a living or what anatomy someone must possess for any kind of interaction to be allowed.
Believe it or just leave it. Do not debate something about Islam you have no knowledge of.
I agree with Lajawab. Dear sister Mehnaz, with due respect, it was not important to dive while sacrificing the Islamic ideals. Believe it or not, there are clear instrcution in Islam about the segregation of sexes. These rules are for our very own benefit. I am not blaming you for anything. You are like my sister, but surely I would like my sister to dive, swim etc. but with a female instructor. Afterall it was not that important to jump with a na mehram.
*Originally posted by Islamabad: *
Believe it or just leave it. Do not debate something about Islam you have no knowledge of.
I agree with Lajawab. Dear sister Mehnaz, with due respect, it was not important to dive while sacrificing the Islamic ideals. Believe it or not, there are clear instrcution in Islam about the segregation of sexes. These rules are for our very own benefit. I am not blaming you for anything. You are like my sister, but surely I would like my sister to dive, swim etc. but with a female instructor. Afterall it was not that important to jump with a na mehram.
may i know of the surahs the encourage segregation.... pls