how scared do guys get, when...

introducing girls they like, to their parents?

how dangerous is it for the girls, to introduce boys to their parents?

how likely is it that now a days, Pakistani parents born in 1940s & 50s are O K A Y, with this disclosure by their young adult children?

Re: how scared do guys get, when...

i keep confusing you with aisha dubaiwari

from my currect experience guys get SCARED. but if he isnt willing to tell his parents and wants to "wait" a while on it, somethings most likely up. ifs normal to be scared but make sure it gets done!

right.

& that is not true love, which has to be pushed for.

so, lucky are those women and men, boys and girls, who have the right ways of sincerely and confidently choosing their life partners, along with getting their parents' blessings for the built new relationships, with people of mutual choice.

this belongs in life & relationships...

Mine wasn't scared.. probably because both of our parents knew since day one.. when we started liking each other, we had gone to our parents and told them about it. Both of us are very close to them and didn't think it was appropriate to hide it anything. So finally when we decided to get married and realized it was time to meet the parents, alhumdulillah it all went quite smoothly because it wasn't a 'shock' to the families.. infact we had so much together! And the first time our parents met was even better. We took them to NY, stayed at the Marquis right in the middle of times square and spent two days touring NY. All the parents, siblings got to know each other better in person and finally the rishta was set :)

I think it depends on parents and what their mindset is like. My mom's family is extremely traditional to the point where they cannot even marry outside of their own 'caste' but my mom follows no silly thing. My dad's family is more liberal comparitively.

Its not easy for a girl or guy to introduce someone to their parents.your heart would start beating really fast,and you would get totally nervous,because,you just fear your parents' reaction.,and i believe,majority of parents get really surprised and shocked,because they usually do not expect anything like this from their children.and most of the parents initially just reject their children's choices..

Definetly involve your parents, its the right thing to do in the beggining of the relationship, if not then your just wasting everyones time. If your parents are strict i suggest start with your mom, moms are always soft hearted. Be like aimee, theres this guys etc etc etc, i would love for you to meet him b/c your approval is my first priority. Your mom is gonna be estatic when she hears this trust me!
when i introduced my fiance to my mom, he was extremely nervous beforehand b/c my family is very respectable and intimidating, but i could not stop laughing when i saw how nervous he was lolll i really enjoyed seeing him worried. I knew my parents were gonna love him, hes from a good family, both his parents are doctors, he's in med school and he is good looking. What more can mom and dad ask for?? Something i would advise you on is try not to be so frank with your partner in front of your parents, keep it formal :)

My case was quite simple. I come from a very liberal family so I had no issues at all. My fiancé's family is slightly traditional but not crazy or anything. My family knew since day one and we were all introduced to his family pretty soon after him and I started going out. We were both pretty young so we went out for a while. We just celebrated our 5, wonderful years together :)
Him and I are contemplating on what date to set now since both our schedules are insane!! Inshallah we will come up with a good date that suits us all.

Although from what I've seen with my friends, the guy is usually the one who is slightly nervous. My understanding is that the girl's side is a little "shocked" sometimes but mostly they take it well because the universal desi rule that "larki kee shaadi tau jaldi hee honi chahiyay" kicks in pretty quickly. Whereas with the guy's side, sometimes the mother creates a scene because she wants to "pick the girl" herself or thinks her son is "too young" to get married and wants to hold on to him. So most times, the guy has a lot of "issues" to deal with and little irritations to take care of. He needs all the support he can get! :p

Oh this is a perfect thread for me right now.

He has already told his parents and I've mentioned him to my mother. I am reallyyy nervous about my dad's reaction: my sister also had a love marriage and I think he is expecting us to be diffferent. I don't want to disappoint him. :(

Anyone have any suggestions?

yeah. Make him think it's arranged.
You will need to have some allies among elders.
That's what we did with Babez dad. Even her mom did not know for some time that the rishta that came thru my aunt and Babez aunt was not being masterminded by babes and moi.

By the time they had found out they had met me and liked me so it was no deal breaker.

As far as me telling my folks, it was very simple and easy.

Don't know if we're going off topic but anyway...

He's told his parents, no problem there. But when his parents talk to my parents, they will of course say it's our doing. How can we get his parents to pretend that it's arranged - I don't think that'll be possible. :(

^ Why doesn't he just tell him parents not to mention anything to your parents when they talk to them? It's really simple. Unless of course his parents are old fashioned and don't approve of this..

Good luck!

*Double post

Thanks YP! I mentioned this idea to him - if he could tell his parents to not bring this up, he said if he tells his dad this, his dad might get a bad impression of the whole situation.

Guys take the easy way out!

^True, but maybe he can say that you don't know he likes you! :p
He can tell his dad that he's been interested in you for a long time now, but hasn't had the courage to express it. But now he wants to marry you and wants him (dad) and her (mom) to officially get involved! :D

Considering he’s shown his dad my pics and considering his dad now wants to talk to me on the phone - I don’t think this will work either. :frowning:

Guys: :smack:

Re: how scared do guys get, when…

:smack: So now that his dad already knows about the situation, his dad should just go ahead with it. All’s said and done now.. Abb kiya faida..?
Now get married quickly so we can see pictures :smiley:

Re: how scared do guys get, when…

His dad isn’t the problem YP :smack:, my dad will not be pleased. How to undo this damage - he told his parents without telling me!!

and thanks :hugz: you’ve been great!