how old before they become baji/auntie?

How much older does someone have to be before you call them baji or auntie? As a rule anyone who is old enough to be my mum I call auntie, but I get confused how much older someone has to be before I call her baji. Usually someone who’s 5 years older or more I start to call baji… but that varies

Also - how much younger are the people who call you baji/auntie? My husband’s cousin’s wife - she is 1.5 years younger than me but has started calling me baji. It’s really irritating because I knew her before marriage and she never called my baji - but now I’m kind of her ‘bhabhi’ as my husband is older than hers. Still - I told her once to not call me baji it’s too formal, but she still does - in front of all other family members too! How do I tackle this without making it into a big issue?

p.s. I know this seems like a really trivial issue but it’s really irritating!

Re: how old before they become baji/auntie?

simple!...when they start talking like a baji...i.e....telling what younger siblings must or must NOT do which she did herself when she was the siblings age!

can safely say, at age 25 :)

how can I tell that girl what to do when she was ‘my age’ - it was only just over a year ago! I’m still making the same mistakes as she is lol

also - there is a lady I know who’s eldest child is 17 years old. I am 26. So do I call this lady baji or auntie? sooooo confusing!!! :smack:

yes…you should calll her baji…

…usually, this is a very sticking issue with women…they compete to hide their age so they call the other person BAJI to enforce this gact that she is younger than the other woman…lol

i LIKE this hide N seek game when two women talk about their age. :smiley:

I would call the 17 year old's mother by "aunty," unless she specifically tells you not to. You're not alone, nnabid, I get confused about this too! I usually avoid adding on a "baji" if the age difference isn't that much, but it's confusing b/c my husband's friends are a lot older than me, so do I make them feel old and call them "baji" or do I risk offending them by keeping it casual? Sigh. I usually just avoid calling people by their names altogether, lol.

How about calling everyone Behen instead. Like Najma behen, Salma behen. I know it's old fashioned but that totally takes away the pressure of who is older by how many years. Yo can even call your youngers by that and no one will mind.

you mean like the ONE we have here on GS...TEELOBHAIN? :D

One of my friend..his older sister is around 35. I called her her name baji..as a respect coz my friend calls her baji. Waoh man..she told me off completely..her logic was..i shouldn't call her baji. Just call her by name.

As soon as you get married you become aunty whether you get married At 20 years or 30 you are än aunty

I dunno man. Once this uncle who had graying hair and a pot belly ...who was within my mom's age range called her aunti. This uncle who was within my dad's age range but appeared older was surprised when dad shared his age. His bewildered response..."tussi meray ton chotay ho!!??!! Everybody likes to be jawan, lol.

Op, maybe the girl does it out of habit and forgot. You could choose to take her aside and punch her in the face....:p ...I mean take her aside and talk to her privately; gently remind her that you had told her once before...for emphasis. If she mutters a "oh i forgot".....just be like "koi baat nahi baron ka kaam hai chotay bachon ko yaad dilaana" ...j/k. If she doesn't quit..move on; it's not that bad.

Easy way to get out of baji and aunty dilemma is call them bhabi. It's not age specific cuz u can do that to a person any age. When ur meeting ppl as a peer group then u have to stay away from the aunty word. They get offended. So as a rule, only if u meet them as ur parents friends or ur friends' parents then it's safe to say aunty. Otherwise if ur husbands friends are older and teir wives are older then u stick to bhabi or u can also use an even safer terminology Shaheen Ji and Farhana Ji. But also be prepared for their 18-22 year old kid to be calling u aunty cuz they follow the same rules .... If ur their parents friends then u r automatically an aunty. And yes whenever u get married u turn into aunty. If u r not married but of marriageable age, and uv even crossed that u will still be a baji. Get used to it. Why is it such an issue being called baji though? It is a sign of respect. It's not necessarily about age difference. If by rishta u r older, her husband calls ur husband Bhai then could also be a default that she might want to call u baji. It has nothing to do with age.

:Dthis thread reminds me of the zee tv play hum paanch where a character used to tell everyone "Aunty mat kaho naaa"

anyhow, i think it mostly depends on the relationship you have with the person in question. if its your husband's female friends who are older than you by 5-10 years its better to call them by their first name or adding their first name with "Gi" but use the term "AAP" and not "TUM", unless you are too close with them. for husband male friends, looks more appropriate if you add the term Bhai with their names even if they are same age as you are.

for husband cousins, if the gap between you and them is 4-5 years then it is best to call them bhai/baji. cousins wives generally takes the bhabhi slot.

call your parents friends uncle/aunty. call your older sibling friends bhai/api/baji

The rule is you call an AUNTY as BAJI *and you call a **BAJI **by *her name.

hahaaa - yeah could try punching her in the face but then I dunno... she might think I'm making a big deal out of it....???? :P well I've already reminded her again I hope she listens now!

Yeah I've noticed that. Prior to marriage it was well easy I called anyone married a baji, and anyone who was slightly older like with kids I'd just call auntie!

Now I'm married the lines have become blurred :(

call her aunty? yeah I've met her twice now and both times have been too scared to call her anything so just say 'aap' all the time lol. If she has a 17yo son she must be at least 40, which makes her at least 15 years older than me - does a 15 year age gap constitute auntie status???????????????

No!

If she's isn't your aunty then you musn't call her aunty just because she has 17 year old. The term baji/appa/bhabhi is absolutely fine and immesenly polite and respectful. No need to give her an aunty tag, that's straight up ageism which is sadly so widespread in our community.

honestly, i dont really care.

i was 19 and my friend's 2 yr old duaghter called me AUNTY. my sister found it so weird but i thought it was ok cuz my friend herself was 29, and her 2 yr old saw me as her MOM'S friend so she said aunty naturally. i didnt mind that my friend did not 'correct' her daughter to call me baji.

i am 21, and i have many friends age 24-30 who are married, with kids, and i call all of them by their name because i am very close to them. if i had met these girls few yrs back, i would have called them baji due to habit. (i call all my mom's friend's older daughters baji).
my younger sisters call these friends of mine baji and all of us are ok with it.

Up to 12 years of age gap between myself and the woman, I call her baji.

13+ I'll call her aunty.