How often do you repeat outfits?

Pakistani outfits can be quite expensive (especially party and formal wear) which is why I repeat my outifts many times. Some people think you can only repeat an outfit with a different crowd. I prefer quality over quantity so I don’t have a large wardrobe full of pakistani suits but I have a few select really expensive, beautiful and trendy ones.

What do others here do? Do you repeat outfits? Do you only repeat them with a different crowd? Or are you like me and will repeat outfits even with the same crowd (at least once)? Just curious.

Re: How often do you repeat outfits?

I generally don't repeat outfits except sarees.

^So every pakistani outfit you have only gets worn ONCE in your life? Dang girl, you must be rich.

to be honest, most people dont remember what you wore unless you posted alot of pics on facebook or other social media. i can never remember what anyone wore unless if it was something really crazy. i don't go to too many pakistani parties so i haven't had to repeat too many outfits but unless i take alot of photos in those clothes , i usually repeat them. and this is not just for desi clothes, also for western dresses.
so dont worry,im sure people don't remember at all.
if it weren't for photos, i wouldn't even remember what I wore myself. so don't upload too many photos in one dress if you want to repeat it but don't want to make it obvious that you're repeating it. lol i know this is lame but thats just how it is for us.

i have lots of nice and pretty casual cotton and lawn joray and kurtis that i wear often and repeat them. i started building my collection is 2011-2012 (when i was 19-20) as i started going for more desi events. i repeat these outfits like crazy! theyre good stuff like khaadi kurtis and 'designer' lawn stuff. and people always appreciate me repeating them... i have no qualms in repeating these outfits . but of course i take a gap of 3-4 weeks and rotate it around different social circles. so 1 social circle sees this jora just once or twice every 3-4 mths. UNLESS i upload a pic.. then people tend to notice that you repeated ur outfit- but who cares!!!

as for semi formals. stuff that i wear to shaadis and mehndis- i make two or three of these joray per year and repeat them across all shaadis of the year and year after.

for example, i made a beautiful jora in 2012. wore it for chand raat in 2012. then wore it for a wedding in early 2013, chand raat again in 2013, 1-2 weddings in 2013 and even to a latest wedding in Jan 2014!!! all in different circles. but of course i am sure people had seen my photos on instagram and fb in that jora already but i dont really care cuz i paid a lot for that jora!

same case for this other jora i got made in 2013. wore it approx 4 times in different groups.

what i am trying to say is that all the fun is in repeating clothes :) i know we may feel conscious that xyz has seen us in that jora- even i feel conscious. but dont repeat the dress too soon. take a gap of months. that is what i do.

I don't repeat my outfits - I feel too self conscious doing so.

If I like a dress, I would wear it again on many occasions. I don’t see why this is an issue at all. :confused:

No, I don't attend functions frequently. Plus my dresses aren't super expensive anyway.

Never really thought about it......I've repeated outfits many times, yes for different events and different people. I joked a few years back that facebook ruins all my outfits because everyone sees it...but...who cares! and if someone actually CARES that you're wearing a repeat, then.....that person has issues?

I dont upload pics on Facebook for this reason. I do repeat dresses but mainly in different circles. There is nothing wrong with repeating dresses except pakistani fashion changes so fast, oftentimes if you wore a dress from last year, you would stand out from the crowd. In my family we tend to recycle dresses every 1-2 years and since I don't have too many desi events to attend anyway it works out for me.
The few expensive outfits I have, I would get them altered to re-use them.

I'm happy repeating outfits..

I'd prob feel a bit bad buying something and only wearing it once..

I’m weird in that if I had a horrible time or felt bad while wearing that oufit (for reasons that have nothing to do with the outfit lol), I’ll put it away and not wear it anytime soon..just bc I associate it with the bad times. Wasteful? maybe. :hinna:

^Nah, that's different I think.. If I associated an outfit with something negative that happened I'd feel uneasy wearing it as well..

I've got a really comfy red sweater I love the look of but something bad happened when I was wearing it once.. I still do wear it sometimes but I always think back to it as I'm putting it on.. it's such a strange uncomfortable feeling..

How often do you repeat outfits?

If Iike the dress im wearing, Id love to wear it more than once!!!!!! It's fun wearing good clothes and yaar paisa wasool bhi toh kerna hai.

I agree with what someone abv said. If some random silly XYZ person cares or judges u if u repeat an outfit, that person really has issues

There are people who literally point fingers at you if you repeat a dress at a party. Desi girls will make a point of it (some of them) sitting at tables at dawats and gossiping about who is wearing the same dress that year for a second time.

It's honestly sick. It forces people to be really conscious of their wardrobe. Girls go haywire and make extra flamboyant clothes, because they wont be socially accepted at a gathering for wearing regular clothes.

It's just very sad.

I repeat clothes all the time. People don't want to talk to me for it, then fine. I have 99 problems, and what someone thinks of me repeating a shalwaar kameez is not gonna be one of them.

I repeat outfits all the time, but thats cos I rarely post pics on facebook/instagram etc of my outfits.

LOL So do people actually come up to people who repeat outfits and say

"OMGZ I saw u waring thees outfeet on FB, hoaw could you ware it again?? OMGZZ..I'm so posting this again on FB and outing you" ???

I guess I'm missing the whole repeating outfit is a big deal.

Hmmm and do you judge other people if you see them wearing the same outfit? Maybe that's the more important question.

For environmental reasons, repeat. And repeat often.

Or, Ware and ware Therese outfeeet, as some would say.

Southie jee wat r u doing n a female dresss tread?

Unless you are another Theorist in the making!

Yes, they will come up to you and tell you they saw that outfit before. People actually do that.