Re: How much tip
Considering how broke I am, £2 and that’s being generous.
They take getting used to. Did you see British Museum?
You’re French as well? : o
MashAllah, itni thought dee hai iis ko
I usually just give whatever change I have. I don’t think they appreciate that ![]()
I agree. I don’t understand tips
Its more than I ever give
But in my defence, I was too busy shopping and nazaara-dekhing Insha’Allah next time!
I think 20% is appropriate (assuming the server was pleasant and did a good job). ![]()
Personally though, I also think that one should tip according to how much trouble one is. For instance, if the server brings you your meal and you don’t require anything for the rest of your meal, then 20% is fine. However, if the server brings you your meal and you require quite a few things and your child spills something and the server must clean it up and refill whatever they spilled, I think a bit more tip is in order.
Women ![]()
Go to Museums definitely. The British one and the Natural History one esp are excellent. Also places like London Dungeon are worth a visit
^ Hey, I did the palaces and castles (some of them) - Buckingham (we went in Sept when the palace was open to visitors); Windsor and Dover. I also went to Legoland - that’s plenty of culture for me.
And the fact that I did NOT go to Madame Tussaud’s Museum, though the opportunity was there should speak to my not totally lacking refinement ![]()
Castles are boring while Madame Tussauds is overrated ![]()
Did you go to London Eye?
Madame Tussauds is only fun the first time you go. Chamber Live is a must. Palaces are boring - go look at a postcard. Museums are the best - Science Museum brings out the kid in me. Natural History is also good. British Library also often have really interesting exhibitions in their basement. The world’s most boring museum is The British Museum. Don’t bother. (Best part is all museums are FREE - see how I am linking this to the thread? Info for all the kanjoos log out there!)
Regarding tipping - ummm we don’t tip. I don’t know if it’s MY culture, or if it’s London culture as someone else said…? If I’m paying cash, then I’ll usually leave whatever the loose change (under a £1 coin, ahem) is left. If I’m paying by card, which I usually do, I don’t tip. I’ve never felt bad about it - they get salaries just like everybody else does. Why pay them extra for just doing their job?
I’ve been to America and my cousin got really mad when I didn’t want to tip actually - I think it’s a bigger issue over there somewhat.
Of course I did the London Eye - that’s like the ultimate of touristy things to do ![]()
Funny, when I did the equivalent in Singapore (Singapore Flyer) - all I could think was it was a bit of let down after the London Eye.
Its a rip off though, £37 was it?
I may visit Canada too, hopefully you guys will give a red carpet.
A-ji, bismillah to karein. Canada aap ka intezaar kar raha hai.
Maybe not the red carpet, but possibly a pink one ![]()
In the US tips r main source of income cause servers get peanuts as pay. Tips get.split among severs busboy and probably the cook. In europe their pay better..have safety net. Healthcare.
Room clean persons always deserve a tip.
Directors always get red carpet…aap aanay walay bano.
and the tip culture in the USA and Canada has a lot to do with the fact that most servers do not get paid even a minimum wage…a good portion of their expected earnings are from the tips.
this is supposed to motivate them to deliver excellent service.
^ And this has been exploited by the companies by passing on their responsibilities to customers. The pursuit of the bottom line one day will catch up - in US. Don’t know much abt Canada.
Agreed.
I live half year there and half year in Canada… well its not exact split and its awful.
No ones gives any red carpet… I’ve come here 4 times now… and found 747 bus waiting for me at the airport.
InshAllah one day absolutely. ![]()
Kyon? Chalo kisi kisam ka carpet hee mila hai
Haha, was the bus red?
I leave 20 percent. If the staff is nice then I will leave more.
Do you ladies give a tip when you get your brows threaded?!? I do but I have seen women not leave any and one lady actually walked out with me nd told me my tip was unnecessary because then they expect it from everyone. I wanted her to accidentally fall on my fisted hand but we went out separate ways.