"How much is this?"

Re: “How much is this?”

I think you make too many assumptions :nahi:

And you is very bossy

Re: "How much is this?"

My assumptions are based on all the posts I've read in this thread and others. I'm pretty sure your 'missus' would not have a thread to start if you had nipped it in the bud.

And yes I am bossy. In my world, it gets things done :)

Peace stoppit

My misses is wiser than both me and you ... Often I tell her that I'll sort out the issue with my folks and she stops me ... She uses this forum as place to vent. ... and as a place to spend some bored time ... She stops me because she does not want any bad sentiments and she wants me to remain good with my parents looking out for my akhira in this respect ... But she is a human, a woman with bundles of emotion and she has to take it out ...

So before you think you know me, my folks or my wife ... Think twice !

P.S. she even told me to ignore such posts that get hurled my way ... That is fine if it was about me ... How I should behave with my folks is a personal matter ... I can't believe how there is no sense or limit people will say things here.

Argh stop fighting. :mad: I know you both love me, okay. :blush:

:whistling: Ok … I’ll stop if stoppit stops

well lol if its on the forum, its fair game, guys. if nadz123 can take it on the chin, you guys shouldn’t be upset. :hug:

I haven't gone through all the replies, but you could ask them to guess, let them keep guessing for a while and change the subject. Or have the husband buy it for you and tell them he bought it so you don't know the price.

How much was the suit?

Looks like that supposedly decent chora stole this question in an earlier post. For shame.

If your in-laws criticize you for the price of the suit....you don't have to fuel their reaction. You can opt to end the discussion by telling them it's great that they got a good deal/bargain and then change the subject.

I’m not fighting :konfused: and nor do I think you should be rude with your parents or argue with them… I didn’t say that anywhere.

As far as I understand, one starts a thread welcoming advice, suggestions or opinions. Blogs are for pure venting.

I think I gave a very valid suggestion, that when you guys are aware of the way they think based on their life experiences and that they will probably comment (yes, I am assuming this because from my recollection, I don’t think this is the first time they have said something about spending), why invite criticism? In my opinion, to avoid this confrontation, there is no need to wear the new and expensive (to them) clothes. I don’t understand why you took this to mean that I think Hareem should wear old clothes that are ready to get rid of? In fact, I find it a bit insulting that this was thought. I hate hording as well, not only to I routinely clear out my own wardrobe but I do the same for my siblings because it never occurs to them to sort their things out and my mum doesn’t have the energy. That doesn’t mean that every year we get rid everything. And when it comes to desi wear, I think most people find they end up giving away stuff that is not even old/worn out, purely because they have had it for a while and the fashion has changed.

Ok, so you like that she does take care over what she wears, gets rid of older stuff and has new things… and I guess quality over quantity? That is nice. But here is thing, if she comes away feeling that they think that she is spending your money and that she needs to get a job so that she doesn’t feel bad about what she buys… well in my opinion, rather than leaving her to justify it, it’s up you to point out to your parents that you approve of what she has bought/you bought it for her/whatever you want to say that makes it clear that you guys are a team.

Stoppits, you should never ever stop it. Ever!

Stoppit, psyah always says that you're clever and sincere mashallah (just wanted to let you know this)......regarding your advice, yes I try not to wear expensive stuff in front of them and if I do I lie about the price to save myself from getting criticized. It's me who stops psyah from saying anything in my defence because I know the moment he tried doing that they will become highly upset. I know this because this happened with their eldest son and his wife.

Anyway, this time 'round I wore a new dress hoping they won't ask the price but this was the first thing they asked as soon as we sat down so yeah no more spensive clothes. :D

This is probably the right path to take IMO. You both will have stuff that you dont like about the others family...Just grin and bear it. At the end of the day life is too short to worry about every single thing everyone says.

But im a guy so what do i know... :)

For the record when my parents said "you got looted" to my wife ... (They said it in a friendly sort of way - without mallice - that is the way they are - They have no idea how it makes my wife feel) And then they showed us their recent purchases ... I said, "But her's is designer lawn and the price is in the quality" It was my misses who was saying ... "oh that's nice" to my folks ... 9 times out of 10 ... I am taken completely wrong, because I don't talk about things and the gaps are filled in with the imaginations of the readers here thinking that I should have done this or not done that ... when in actual fact I already did my bit ... And the trick is to balance - not to favour one over the other ... unless they are wrong ... in which case, using a bit of discretion I let them know that the two types of clothing are not comparable - they are both of good quality - but one set is of a lower quality grade and the other is of a higher quality grade and the prices should not be compared on a direct basis.

You wear the clothes you like and stop skirting over egg-shells with my folks ... and if they say anything I have always supported you ... haven't I? It is not as if I stay silent ... I don't do I? So the people here are saying ignore my parents as long as I am happy with it - but it still concerns you ... What really concerns you is that "you pretend to be nice and acknowledging of my parents" when deep down inside you want to "tell them exactly what you think of their purchases" but you don't want to hurt their feelings like they hurt yours ... it does not matter to you that they never intended to hurt your feelings - as I said "that is the way they are" ... they are like that with me too ... It didn't concern me ... slight disagreement and no blood spilt ... but it gets to me that you come back brewing and brewing ... because you stopped yourself from responding or talking back ... Not that I think you are doing anything wrong by staying silent ...

BUT ... your actions should make you feel proud that you were tested for your patience and kept your cool ... that you were annoyed and didn't show it ... what is this if it is not fighting with your nufs and do you think that you will not be rewarded for being like this?

InshaAllah you will ... so as much as you can continue to be tolerating of them ... you will be doing the more virtuous thing ... and there is always GS to let it out. I was cool with this ... up until GS (or members herein) started taking it out on me !!!

honestly then I see harem making an issue out of nothing here. As per you said that your parents made that comment in lighthearted way but she on the other hand took it to be a personal attack and thought they are jealous. No assumption here all written in this thread. I think its not healthy if she is holding resentment for them but pretend to be nice on their faces.

Edit: darn it my slow typing...
Psyah is on point with his last post.

Anyone who has read your and hareem's previous posts would not take it out on you....

No bebo - it's to do with two types of lifestyles and mannerisms ... they are just too open with their opinions because they treat us like very close say anything and no harm done. They are like this with most of their milney waley ... I get it ... their milney waley get it ... but my wife takes their statements as a dig ... (taaney) ... I can't help that ... I can't disagree with her ... because she questions "why" they need to say it in the first place ... I have no answer to that ... so I appears ... she will always feel sensitive to their comments ... they will never know how she feels because she puts on such a great act ... I detect that their comments are gonna distrub her so I start defending her without making it seem obvious that I am defending her - I mean I do so with convincing arguments and off the cuff - in the conversation without getting angry ... I mean what else can I do?

Psyah you make much more sense in life1 :D

psyah: dhobhi ka kutta na ghar ka na ghath ka. :D