How much Indian Cricketer make

For those who are interested . Here is the deal…

http://ia.rediff.com/cricket/2005/dec/24contract.htm

I
rfan Pathan was rewarded for his impressive all-round performance by the Board of Control for Cricket in India, as he was upgraded to Grade A in the new player contracts released in Mumbai on Saturday.

The BCCI handed out central contracts to 15 players this time, with Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Gautam Gambhir the latest entrants in the list.

“We have contracted 15 players with eight in grade A, four in grade B and the rest in grade C,” BCCI secretary Niranjan Shah said.

The contracted players, who have been offered the same retainership as last year, are as follows:

Grade A (Rs 50 lakh retainers): Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Anil Kumble, V V S Laxman, Sourav Ganguly, Harbhajan Singh and Irfan Pathan.

Grade B (Rs 35 lakh): Yuvraj Singh, Mohd Kaif, Ajit Agarkar, Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Grade C (Rs 20 lakh): Murali Karthik, Gautam Gambhir and Zaheer Khan.

Last season 17 players were offered contracts and from that list four players - Akash Chopra, Laxmipathy Balaji, Ashish Nehra and Parthiv Patel - have not made the cut.

The match fees for contracted players as well as non-contracted ones have been enhanced for Tests.

If non-contracted players play five Tests or 15 ODIs during the period he would automatically be absorbed in Grade C and would be paid retainers for the remaining period of the contract on pro-rata basis, Shah said.

The contracts are awarded based on the performance and utility of the player to the Indian team in the new season. If a player is injured during the period of the contract, he will continue to get the retainer for the remaining period.

The new match fees for contracted and non-contracted players are as follows:

Contracted Players:

Tests: Rs 2.50 lakh (Old Rs 2 lakh) (Playing 11)

ODIs: Rs 1.60 lakh (same as last season) (for playing 12 including Super Sub).
The reserves would get 50 per cent of the fees.

Non-Contracted Players:

Tests: Rs 3.20 lakh (Old Rs 2.70 lakh) (for playing 11)
Reserves: Rs 1.60 lakh (Old Rs 1.35 lakh)

ODIs: Rs 2.20 lakh (same as last season) (for playing 11)
Reserves: Rs 1.10 lakh.

The Board secretary said 13 per cent of the gross income of BCCI was to be distributed to the international players (both contracted and non-contracted players).

At the end of the year, excess amount, if any, after making payments for retainers and match fees, would also be distributed to them on the basis of a mutually agreed formula to ensure that the players who were in the eleven ultimately benefit, Shah added.

Re: How much Indian Cricketer make

So..If Dravid playes 10 test and 30 ODIs for India . He will make 123 Lakh Rs (50 Lakh contract + 25 Lakh for Test + 48 Lakh for ODIs). This is around 300K USD.

Now add to it personel endorsements.

Seems a pretty high number..

Well the name Rahul Dravid itself justifies such an amount. I personally think he’s worth more. It sucks however to see VVS Laxman and Ganguly in that same bracket. I dont think either of these two deserve anything more than Grade B.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

IS the pcb the poorest of them all. Has anyone seen shahid afridis house its quiet big

If im not mistaken Afridi's family has been pretty well off before he came into cricket, mashallah se. They have a bunch of businesses, including a car showroom.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

for the big names, cricket fees are nothing....sachin has a $25 million endorsement deal and probably does a ton of side endorsements worth millions USD in aggregate....this is compared to $115,000 "Grade A" salary.

i am a bit surprised by who made which cut...i thought seniority would have something to do with it, but Irfan is in the top bracket making 6 figures in US dollars.

Agarkar is GRADE B (35 Lakhs) while Zaheer is GRADE C (20 Lakhs)

Mind-boggling !!

Can "Big-Ears" get any more lucky !!

:slight_smile:

**Agarkar(WORTH : 35 LAKHS)**
Tests :25    Bowling Average: **46.83**   Batting Average:16.79  
ODIs: 150   Bowling Average: **27.26**   Batting Average:16.71  

**Zaheer Khan (WORTH : 20 LAKHS)**
Tests :40    Bowling Average: **36.25**   Batting Average:12.00
ODIs  :103  Bowling Average: **27.18**   Batting Average:13.57

I have no doubts that if Zaheer came in to bat at No. 7 or 8 (Agarkar's usual position) instead of his usual No. 11, Zaheer would also have a much better batting average than Agarkar.

Stupid Indian Cricket Board !!

It must be painful for Zaheer to be in Grade C. A couple of years ago, when Pathan first came on the scene, he said his dream was to open the bowling for India with Zaheer Khan. Well, his dream partially came true, he opens the bowling but his idol is nowhere to be seen. Zaheer's fall has been rather swift.

Are you pissed just because Zaheer is a muslim ?

I dont think too many people in India think Zaheer is better than Agarkar.

Yes, I am pissed because Zaheer is my muslim brother…and Agarkar is a friggin Hindu baniyaa…that’s all.

:confused:
You must be living in jhumri-tallaiya

Really ?? Take a look at how many times Agarkar has won matches v/s Zaheer.The selection committee obviously has a rationale for what its doing :slight_smile:

Oh great its okay to talk about Caste System now. :rolleyes: But when Captain Lota wanted to talk about it nobody liked it. Blah!

Mr Some1, why did you not give me this info about Agarkar when i initially opened a thread about indian cricketers’ castes. And please dont make fun of Hindu gods. As an honorary Pakistani and muslim, you are not allowed to do that.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Lotay,

Call me Some1 Yousuf henceforth.

Heard the Neil Diamond song :
Now I'm a believer
Not a trace of doubt in my mind
I'm in love
I'm a believer**

Lets stick to the topic please. What does Neil Diamond have to do with how much cricketers make? Does he watch cricket with interest? Has he visited BCCI's head office in Karachi lately?

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Ok...Lota Jee...

I will be interested to know how much money different Pak players make per match and how does it compare with players with similar talent and experience in India.