Hello everyone,
I am from the USA and would like to know how much “tholas” of gold the Groom’s side puts for the bride in Pakistan now and days. Maybe you know someone who was married recently and I would appreciate it if you would share this info.
Hello everyone,
I am from the USA and would like to know how much “tholas” of gold the Groom’s side puts for the bride in Pakistan now and days. Maybe you know someone who was married recently and I would appreciate it if you would share this info.
Re: How much gold is put by the Grooms side for the bride now and days?
thesedays as much as u can afford i guess...afford means how much rishwat one has taken to buy these gold jewelleries. hardly any1 thesedays pays zakaat anyways so what difference does it make. haraam ke maal ko halaal karne kaa kia faida isii liye zakaat bhi nahiiN dete lol
^That's generalizing it a bit too much. Afford doesn't always means you took rishwat.
Anyways. Answering the question. There is no fix tolas. Whatever you can afford & sometimes mutual understanding with the bride & her family counts as well.
mmm seedha sa jawab dena chahiye aapko kya pata kon log zakaat detay hain ya kon nahi detay...hamare ghar mein aur khandhaan mein sonay ki zakaat di jaati hain mashAllah...and for those who don't this is between them and God.
as for original question it really depends i know a rich family member who gave their bahu 22 tolays...and then a middle class family give their bride 12 tolays. it varies but thats 2 examples (from recent weddings)...hope that helps its really expensive these days!
dear it depends on affordability.as much as u can afford.no limit for it.as nowadays gold is very expensive 32000 per tola so pple cnt affrd too much.my sis has recently married she had 35 tolas frm groom's side.but in my wen gold was nt that expensive i had 28 frm grooms side
It depends on affordability so it differs for each family. A family member recently got married and her parents gave her 32 tolas whereas her in-laws gave 21 tolas. But you also need to consider whether you will end up wearing it all. There is no point getting a lot of gold together when you don't wear it often because new designs come out every week. Your'e probably better of getting a few sets made and churiyen and then later on buying more as the styles change.
It depends on where you live.
In Pakistan, brides can use the gold sets more since there are more dawats and socializing, and hosts tend to haww haye if you're not wearing enough stuff.. but abroad, for instance here in U.S, not everyone will care.. so it all really depends on the family. Also, there's a tradition of displaying jahez in Pakistan in alot of families so people give more than one set so that people don't think they are being kanjoos.
We always give zakaat for the gold we own in my family. I just wanted to get some idea of how much gold is being given to the bride now and days. Please feel free to share this info if you have been to a wedding lately.
Hello everyone,
I am from the USA and would like to know how much "tholas" of gold the Groom's side puts for the bride in Pakistan now and days. Maybe you know someone who was married recently and I would appreciate it if you would share this info.
every fam is different. this is entirely up to the groom's side and what their budget it.
as everybody already said....it really depends on the family n what they can afford...in my case both my MIL and mom bought gold bricks ages ago...so now they can have it made into anything...still i told my mom not to give me too much...save it for my SIL's :)
no hard and fast rule ...all depand on affordibility
Bump for more replies....
any where from 1 tolla to to over 2 kg
well these days gold price is really high so what i had seen recently is that for family in pakistan, they give around 15 - 22 tolla and for family from usa they give from 28-32 tolla ..depends on the family
i also know a family who recently gave their daughter in law 7 tolla..they are quite rich but still they just gave 7 tolla
well these days gold price is really high so what i had seen recently is that for family in pakistan, they give around 15 - 22 tolla and for family from usa they give from 28-32 tolla ..depends on the family
i also know a family who recently gave their daughter in law 7 tolla..they are quite rich but still they just gave 7 tolla
wow 28-32 tolla is a lot. I wonder what's the zakat would be? And my in laws are from usa but they r giving me 18 tolla. I want to know how do u calculate. Zakaat per tolla. ????
I probably should know this, but..
What's a tolla? And why is it gold / zakaat related?
the gold is to be estimated in terms of value on a particular date of an year. Suppose if u have 2 tolas of gold and the current gold rate is 35000 per tola then the value of 2 tolas is 70000 and 2.5 % (as suggested by the shariah) is Rs. 1750. It is definitely very important to pay zakat. U know when u come to think about why people lose so much of their valuables in dacoitis and etc... maybe that could be one of the reasons that people dont pay zakaat at will which is the haq of people who can take zakat so we are made to pay it forcibly that way. Maybe. that is my perspective.
hlwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
I think it's not always about gold nowadays there is a fashion for signing over things like property or larger cash sums. My mum gave me 35 tollay last year and she gave gifts to my inlaws which was about 5 tollay. I got 7 from my in laws. It's true we don't wear it but it's just the security of having it - investment
Its right that it depends on affordability and as much as is acceptable by the bride and her family. To be honest, every Muslim should not have gold more than 7 tolas as is preferred in Islam. If you can negotiate with the bride, its better to keep it not more than 7 tolas.