How much do you tip?

Since Mirch started a thread on doggie bags - I just wanted to start one that talks about how much to tip for any services…

I hate the tipping rule… but I always make sure I tip. I am not sure if I tip good enough though. so let’s talk about it :slight_smile:

How much do you tip for the following?

Hair cut? (I tip $5)
Waiter? ($7 - for 2 adults and 2 kids)
eyebrows ($1)
Facial: $5

These are the 4 major I always come across. Add more if you know more…

Re: How much do you tip?

I only tip if service is above and beyond expectations. Some waiters/waitresses have this attitude:
"Lay -kha-Mar" English translation " Here is your food , eat and get out of my face." or " I hate my job and I hate you, I am doing it just because I have to pay my bills and support my existence."
Anybody who is in any kind of service business I expect them to be cheerful, courteous, down to earth.

^yes totally agree, some behave this way

but I still tip, may be little less and never go back there again. :(

Creeps do not get any penny of my hard earned money. On the other hand the ones with good attitude get a generous tip from me.

Like the other day we were at Macaroni Grill . Wow what a service what an attitude, what a dedication to her work. The whole family was happy and enjoyed our meal totally. The waitress was happy to see the tip too and came to the door to see us off.

Infact I do not tip anyone at all … coz anyways they include the service tip in the final bill … so why spoil them with the tips ! :hmmm:

When i went to Pakistan , the hotel bell boy that took my stuff upstairs expected me to give him a tip and i took out 10 rupee note for him , he looked at me disapprovingly … that made me so angry , I immediately took that 10 rupee note from him and refused tipping !

Tipping is a bad culture … it only promotes bribery ! I think :@:

:eek:

you do not tip at all?

yaar itni bhi kanjoos mat bano :frowning:

In American culture the waiters get most of their pay through tip only. They have to bring home some money… so socho what can they do without your pay.

I rarely tip at desi joints unless they are courteous with exceptional service like most American joints

Usually it's 15% of the bill

I went to a Persian restaurant once and they had added the 15% tip to the bill when I got the check. In their case tip was not optional ;(

Nope , I dont tip at all … we all work and get our pay .. I dont get any tips when i do a good job at work ! or none of the others get a tip when they do a good job …

a job is a job .. if everyone stops giving the waiters the tips , the profession will be in danger and ultimately the restaurant owners will learn to hire people on good pay coz they wont be able to find people to work on measly pay !

so , its not a matter of being kanjoos , its the principle behind it … :@:

totally like the concept behind it. That’s how it should be.

So is it okay not to tip those desi ladies who do your eyebrow? I mean they charge $7 to begin with :frowning:

I would like to save some too… give me some tips - I mean $not$ literally. :@:

easy … just pay the actual cost to her and just dont give the tip… if they give you “that” look , which warms your heart and forces you to give them the tip , remember , this is nothing but a form of bribery …

We people who work in offices , we believe if we get the job done properly and keep the client happy , they will use our services again …

that is the same concept behind every business, if you like the way she has done your eyebrows, she got the gift from you , in the form of you becoming a regular customer for her…

whatever left .. like yesterday i gave barber 20. .and the bill was 12... so i leave it..

same goes for cab ride... but if i pay by card.. then i will make sure.. 5-7$..
i think one should tip always !

cool.. I'll try next time.

Their "that" look does compel me...

It's true their JOB is just like any other JOB. Why should they make us feel that we have to pay them extra!

What! You have too much in your pocket!

Bill was $12 and remaining tip!!!!!! aaaahhhhhh

but why does a cabbie get a tip?

never understood the "silent" tip rule... because some professions get tip while others don't - like the bus driver.

What's up with that?

i often pay handsum tip ..agar mood acha hoo tou :D

In my opinion, you can't compare jobs in the service industry to other professions. People who provide a "service" are intimately and personally affecting you while they serve you, and tips are your way of showing gratitude (hence, the term gratuity) for a job well done.

Most people in service jobs are overworked, underpaid, and go unthanked.

Since you've compared tip/no-tip scenario to other jobs, it goes without saying that when you work hard at your job, you get a "thank you" or a "job well done" pat at the back from your superiors, but these service people don't get that. It is "expected" of them... and no one says "thank you" to the garbage collector or the mail carrier or the chambermaids. Your trash simply gets taken away... mail gets delivered, beds get made... but how many times does an average person take the time to thank these service people personally?

To me... tipping is a way to say “thank you” to those who rarely hear it.

na not too much..money.. just.. no responsibility.. its like my golden days are going...

but anyway... once in a month... you have to go to barber.. so its..fine to tip 8$

I think because of some people's tipping habits majority of us suffer !

Some people so proudly go about tipping the less fortunate ... coz that gives them that feeling of power and being rich ...

but they dont realize that their tipping is putting the recievers in the habit of asking for money that is not earned through halal means !

the funny thing is , when the police take "ooper ki kamayi" thats called bribery .. when the waiters get it , its called tipping !!!!

Its a bad habit guys .. we should denounce such things as tipping ...

here is the customary amount here in the US that one should tip for various services provided:

CNN/Money: How much to tip

I usually go by that.

Lucid, a job is a job , as i said earlier ... we all touch each others lives in some way or the other no matter what profession we are in ... the police men save our lives , the doctors look after us, a chef cooks for us , the cleaner cleans for us .. we pay them all as per their services ..

its all in our mind really that we have to give a tip to say thank you !
no , if you do that , you are creating a wrong culture ... you are sending out a wrong message .. these people then expect a tip from everyone .. it becomes a trend .. and even some people who cant afford tipping are forced into tipping , coz if they wont tip , the waiter will refuse to behave properly , the cleaner wont clean properly, despite the fact that you are paying them the amount for their services !!!!

how do you justify that?