But hindi or hindustani is understood quite well in Pakistan, again because of the prevalence of Indian media back home. An urdu word as simple as "aapi" (a term used for older sister out of respect) is not recognised by the Indians I know; whereas most Pakistanis understand what "didi" means. One particular term my sikh friends found hilarious was "khawateen" (women) :D but I knew the hindi word for women, mahilayen.
Good point! Some time ago a lady called another Aapa. I asked what it meant and was told it is elder sister. So aapa. And aapi mean the same?
I did not know till now khawateen is women.
Other confusing words memon mehram (now I know what it means) khala and all other related terms for relatives.
But hindi or hindustani is understood quite well in Pakistan, again because of the prevalence of Indian media back home. An urdu word as simple as "aapi" (a term used for older sister out of respect) is not recognised by the Indians I know; whereas most Pakistanis understand what "didi" means. One particular term my sikh friends found hilarious was "khawateen" (women) :D but I knew the hindi word for women, mahilayen.
wow i have never heard the word mahilayen!
so i know there's khawateen (the word not the guppan)
buddi (or buddhi?)
and aurat.
if khawateen is urdu then im assuming buddhi/buddhi and aurat are both punjabi??
and, maybe Off topic, but I dont' know which group uses the word "masi" to mean your aunt/khala.....to me masi always means the cleaning lady :-/
Aurat is also used by Indians so I dunno about its origins.
The word mahilayen is the courtesy of an Indian reality crime show called "Crime Patrol" that I like to watch on youtube. It is presented in almost "shudh hindi" and there's so many new words you can learn, like words that you have to listen to several times just to be able to pronounce them right lol.
You're right Barbiecue. Indians don't know much about Pakistanis. There's a lot of stereotype. I, having had the privilege to have visited both countries and lived with both cultures, can safely admit that fact.
Things are better now as we are able to mingle with each other in other countries and have become more open in understanding other cultures.
Indians seem to have knowledge about our music scene, coke studio is famous there, as well as few other bands.
also, someone mentioned Pakistan traditional clothes, thats another thing which is making a hit in India, there was Pakistan lifetsyle exhibition held in New Delhi few weeks back and it was quite successful, from Pakistani furniture to designer clothes, good stuff was said about Pakistani clothes, you would hear them say, they dont find this stuff in India, they like the cuts,embellishments and style.
I've been asked by a few people whether we really have nikahs the way they show them in Indian movies.
Its true...Indians don't really know much about Pakistani culture.
In reality indian hindu know little about muslims..while indian muslims know a lot of thing about their(hindu's) culture....As they are majority here...
e.g. My hindu college friends used to ask me "Tum dipawali/diwali nahi manate kya?"
They are surprised that muslim can marry their cousins they say "are yar Behen se kaise koi shadi kar sakta hai..in their culture cousins are considered as real brother and sisters ....While lot of north indians dont know that south indians Maternal Uncles can marry their niece...
Southie is here to clarify what i am saying is right or wrong
Yes maternal uncles in theory can marry their neice. And one can also marry fathers sisters daughter. My paternal grandmothers brothers son married her sisters daughter - that was probably in 1965.
As for uncles marrying nieces no one has done that in immediate family. But I know a distant relative who married his niece around the same time.
So I think the practice is dying.
Agree that I did not know much of Muslim culture - no one in school orcevrn college I knee was a Muslim. Quite sad I would add.
Yes maternal uncles in theory can marry their neice. And one can also marry fathers sisters daughter. My paternal grandmothers brothers son married her sisters daughter - that was probably in 1965.
As for uncles marrying nieces no one has done that in immediate family. But I know a distant relative who married his niece around the same time.
So I think the practice is dying.
Agree that I did not know much of Muslim culture - no one in school orcevrn college I knee was a Muslim. Quite sad I would add.