Re: How much did / will your wedding cost?
only 200 euro, cuz larki aur mai germany bhaag gaye thay, simple local jamiya masjid mai nikah and we had our waleema at KFC (siraf mai aur wo, and we ate all you can eat for 80 euro)
holy $moke$!!!!
i hate this kid. what an idiot. complete jack ass.
^ what does that have to do with the cost of a wedding?
ever since i heard that thing about being held accountable for being extravagent, i wanna cut my wedding expenses drastically, but it just seems impossible to do so specially in our culture.
How can you have wedding for $3 - $5000?
You have to look at all expense. Including jewely, clothes, hall, etc. Each of those will cost $5g +
Hall alone costs atleast $5000...
never think abt it but my lehnga was of 1lac 15 thousand and my bridal set was of 10 lac....other choty moty kharchy i dont know. dont know abt groom's but it was double than ours.
IMO, spending money on sona/gold is definitely worth it and not fazool kharcha at all. everything else can be up to debate. ![]()
^ cuz its shiny? lol
my iPhone is shiny as well and more fun :p
^ na cz it comes in handy afterwards..if ure in desparate need of money, u can sell the gold...
Why do some desis spend so much per head for a wedding? Its not like we have to pay for open bar, that's what typically causes the amreekan places to be so high, price included for the open bar, open liquor. Hmm, does it really matter if you have 2-3 meat dishes or 6-7? No matter what people will still talk. I say have a decent wedding...in moderation...indulge in a few things and use the extra $$$ to put a down payment on a house...or maybe even an extensive honeymoon to travel abroad longer....so much more worth it to spend on urself then 300-400 guests you hardly know. :)
sadly my wedding had a little over 300 guests even though I argued desperately with family to invite ONLY family n close friends....but NOPE...we had to invite the neighbors....distant relatives I never met....old ammi/abu's classfellows...sumthing like that, it was crazy. Esp when as a dulhan, im on stage chilling, and every tom dick n harry are coming to give me mubarik...i dont even know them!!!!
yeh its pretty sad. thats why i really dont like some of our traditions, and in pakistan, more than in america, they make a huge deal of spending lavishly just to show off their wealth. its kind of disgusting and pathetic.
The argument normally is that aray if we don’t invite the falaana person, they will get pissed at us. Ek tou, all these aunties and uncles have to get soooo offended and hold a grudge forever if they are not invited to a wedding.. even if they have only known the family for a month.
This friend of mine got engaged 3 years ago.. and of course keeping the limited budget in mind, they only invited their family members who MashaAllah were more than 100 altogether. The girl's parents said that chalo, we will invite everyone iA for the wedding. You cannot imagine how OFFENDED people were here. Aunties stopped talking to the girl's mom saying tum ne tou bulaya hi nahi.. blah blah. Till date, their family has to hear about it. Now this summer iA, the girl is getting married and a few aunties said, you didn't invite us to the engagement, why should we attend the wedding? Now their guest list includes as many as 450+ people... only because they do not want to offend anyone further.
Good God! What i don't get is (and this is in other threads)... why do ppl even want to keep friendship with such losers, after htey get mad over such stupid little stuff?!?! Now i understand..if every1 was invited, and i wasn't..i 'd take that as a "**** you sara" but if everyone wasn't invited....that'd make the hit less hurtful.
^rofl true. our family friend's son is getting married next week and since we're not THAT close to them, we haven't gotten an invite yet. we're not expecting one either lol. people need to take it easy, its not the end of the world!! =)
$30 gas...do they live in a different town?
yep.
^ what does that have to do with the cost of a wedding?
it has nothing to do with it. I'm just pissed that all types of freaks and idiots are getting famous and even quoted on the internets. its amazing.
my mom's friend's daughter got married 4 years ago and they only invited close family and had a small wedding. EVERYONE in the paki community that they knew and didnt invite, have not spoken to them for the past 4 years because they werent invited. Then the bride's mother apologized to everyone and said it was a small family affair and still no one speaks to them.
^ whatever ![]()
they’re better off without “friends” like those anyway!
i mean, i had a 100 person wedding (only good friends, immediate family and my first cousins got an invite) and there were some of mom’s rellies in the US that didn’t get an invite. why? cos mom’s not that close to them on a general basis, and also, we couldn’t afford it. this particular family has multiple siblings, all with their own kids and some of the kids have spouses too, and it would mean another 40 people at least. thats a lot more money when you combine it with hotels for all. so, too bad-- they’ll get over it. and if they don’t, thats ok, its not a big loss to begin with.
i mean, if you’re not into your family enough to make the effort and talk to my mom more than once every few years, and same for my mom and them, then you’re not close enough to come to my wedding. i have no patience for people with overinflated self-opinions. i don’t expect to be invited to every single family member’s shaadi’s… especially when we all live so far apart and just don’t connect that often, not even over the phone… so where is this reverse offense coming from?? weird. mom did hear from them and of course, they pulled me into it, going, oh you got married why didn’t we get an invite? or my favourite, where another aunty tells me how offended this third aunty was, as if she’s sharing some precious gossip with me. so of course, i deflected it back to mom and said, listen, she’s your cousin, you talk to her. i’ve barely seen you since i was 7. i really dont care to get involved.
i have a feeling they’ll be nursing this grudge for a while longer, but whatever, i hope it keeps them warm at night ![]()
in the end, it was mA fabulous and we were able to splurge on things we wouldn’t have if we’d had more people. i highly recommend smaller, more intimate weddings- it gives the whole affair a warm and fuzzy feeling.