Why do you hate it Cheegum? It makes economical sense, innit?
To do the right thing, TLK bhai, has never made economic sense. If you want to give a gift to someone give it like you mean it. In my books it is totally immoral to give something that you know has changed 15 hands before coming to you and you know will change another 15 hands once you pass it forward. I'd rather sit down and spend 30 minutes to write up a personalized card rather than give out junk.
So lets say you give me an Ipod .. very thoughtful gift .. but I dont listen to songs and I am visiting X2 for the first time. Can I take that Ipod for him as a token?
You dont always recycle gift cause it was useless, sometimes you give it away to someone who can use it better than you can
To do the right thing, TLK bhai, has never made economic sense. If you want to give a gift to someone give it like you mean it. In my books it is totally immoral to give something that you know has changed 15 hands before coming to you and you know will change another 15 hands once you pass it forward. I'd rather sit down and spend 30 minutes to write up a personalized card rather than give out junk.
But this is ofcourse just my opinion.
bhai tu card likh raha hai ya mazmoon? adha ghanta...khuda ki panah
So lets say you give me an Ipod .. very thoughtful gift .. but I dont listen to songs and I am visiting X2 for the first time. Can I take that Ipod for him as a token?
You dont always recycle gift cause it was useless, sometimes you give it away to someone who can use it better than you can
yeah gimme the damn ipod.
no need to visit though.
Lets face it TLK bhai an ipod is an exception. Majority of gifts recycled are massive vases and china etc. Those 'gifts' are the ones in question right now.
bhai tu card likh raha hai ya mazmoon? adha ghanta...khuda ki panah
Yaar, twenty eight minutes inspiration two minutes execution.
I thought you are caring for the person who gave you the gift ....but nah you are caring about the person you are giving the gift too ....
but hey, do you tell the person who gave u gift that I gave away your gift to xyz because I already have that thingie ?
its nit-picking, right? since u asked, i wud say it all depends...it i get 6 shirts of the same color and design i'll keep them all and use them but if i get sic of something that i can't possibly use, i wud give it away to charity IN HIS NAME for which he'll get a reward rather than let it sit in the closet/cupboard and rot or recycle the gift.
its common sense and common sensibility not to do that...i've a question, what happens if the person who gave u the gift finds out that you recycled and gave it to somebody else, what it everything is known to the whole world somehow, figuritively speaking. u r a smart guy, i know that and u'll agree with me atleast to some extent...thank you :)**
I recieved a wall hanging on our anniversary and passed it on to someone else. One day we were watching our anniversary movie with the people I gifted that wall hanging, just when we started opening gifts in the movie I remembered that wall hanging was also recorded:hehe: immediately stopped and announced tea-time
I recycle presents and giftbags-if possible. The way I see it is if it's just going to collect dust in my house it may as well be useful for someone I know....if the present is really unsuitable I would drop it off at a charity shop. Earlier this year my aunt (yes, you read that right, my Muslim aunt) gave me some alcoholic chocolates on my wedding anniversary. I didn't pass them on as I felt quite embarrassed by the fact I'd ended up with champagne chocs!!
A friend once told me about how back in Pakistan she once gave someone a suit, who gave it someone else, who gave it someone else...and as she was packing to return home to the UK a friend brought her a parting gift....guess what is was?! The same suit!!! Haiiii kismat!!