Re: how many of you personally know of any honor killing ?
I have heard about a few honor killings in our pind in India.
Basically the girl's family killing the girls and thier suspected boyfriends.
I have heard about a few honor killings in our pind in India.
Basically the girl's family killing the girls and thier suspected boyfriends.
i dunno people. i disagree with the 'extremist' statements. as far as i know the people who do things like this (in the UK) or who are obsessed with honour in general... it has more to do with their culture. usually they are very tribal cultures, whether pakistani or kurdish.
i'm not saying kill ur girls if they don't listen or these ppl did right things(they brought themselves azaab in this world n hereafter) but these incidents happen only when both sides act stupid and stubborn. in such cases i'll say both r extremist. aap apni family ko behter jatay ho tu kyoon apni jaan azab khatray main daltay ho. now don't bring islam in islam advocates strict punishments for adultery and other sins. loge us per bhi cheekhtay he hain even if they r given by shariah court. everyone wants complete freedom and their own set of rules.
its easier said" disown the child" but may b its not easy for the families going thru it.
Any person or instituation that condones "honor" killing is sick.
Whats the difference between honour killing and "crime of passion"?
However, if someone kills their daughter or physically harms her then they ARE extremists and psychopaths. If she is going aroudn sleepign with differnt guys, kick her out of your home, disown her, but you cannot kill her.
Even in ISLAM you cannot carry out punishments yourself, it happens in the shariat court of law. If the country you're living in doesnt have those laws, move out.
As you said honour killing has nothing to do with Islam, It is cultural thing and it has nothing to do with Islamic extremism as well.
Not just a Pakistani or Muslim issue. Huge problem within the Sikh community.
i dunno people. i disagree with the 'extremist' statements. as far as i know the people who do things like this (in the UK) or who are obsessed with honour in general... it has more to do with their culture. usually they are very tribal cultures, whether pakistani or kurdish.
agree with u 100%
i agree with the first part … that girls shouldbe a bit more intelligent with decision making … but what kind of men have we raised that they have such a violent outlook on life … what is that point where you get so angry that you could kill someone? really … could you?
my brother has this keera of getting angry and usko pata nahi chalta k uska haath lagta hai kaafi bhari to mazak mazak mein agr meri choti behn ko lag jayay to achi khaasi larai shuru ho jati hai … and then it’s all a matter of giving my little brother a huge jhapper (figurative) and it’s all cool .. we ned to train our men better!
aint that cute ![]()
i agree that migration to UK vs USA is really divided. The more professional and skilled lot end up being in USA, and the semi skilled or the labour ends up being in europe. but regardless things are happening on both sides. and with all this tribal culture .. shuhhhh … i really dont get it … WHY DO PEOPLE MOVE ABROAD TO RAISE A FAMILY WHEN THEY ARE OBVIOUSLY IN CONFLICT WITH THE WAY OF LIFE THERE AND THEN RUIN THE IMAGE OF THE COMMUNITY AT LARGE??? ![]()
wow! something happened … and the man got guts enough to kill a human being!
one more thing ... when we say we arent the only ones who do it ... its the sikh or the bengalis or whoever ... we belong to a single geographical region. is it the soil that is bad? bad food production? infected vegetables? what? what is wrong with this region. people call us AT LARGE bad ... i am not going to bring religion in it ... cuz there is nothing religious about this issue ... it's culture and tradition ... and we know how mixed that is between is ... so it's all of us together!!
this topic has nothing to do with religion as no where does it say kill a girl who is westernised or open minded etc. however jab tak aap society ka bhoot nahi utaareingey tab tak yeh unfortunately chaltaa rahega.
to aur kitna arsa chahiye? i mean the 3rdand 4th-gen is coming up!!!! is this how we've grown our children in a foreign land????
one that really horrified me happend a few years ago. a 21 yr old pakistani girl was murdered in her home in southall, west london by her brother and another relative because she wanted to marry an afghan muslim. her death was so brutal she literally had her throat cut open in the hallway of her home and her 2 young nieces (daughters of the brother) were made to WATCH the whole thing and told that if they ever misbehave the same will happen to them. i was sickened when i read that
i heard about that too, It was really awful.
to aur kitna arsa chahiye? i mean the 3rdand 4th-gen is coming up!!!! is this how we've grown our children in a foreign land????
unfortunately, the only solution to this is parents need growing up and stop trying to impose religion on children or giving them too much freedom, cuz unfortunately it is extremes that i have seen here. Either parents are really strict where kids do it out of frustration or the parents dont care at all in which case the kids have too much freedom and do what ever the hell they want, thus moderation is key but that doesnt exist.
one more thing ... when we say we arent the only ones who do it ... its the sikh or the bengalis or whoever ... we belong to a single geographical region. is it the soil that is bad? bad food production? infected vegetables? what? what is wrong with this region. people call us AT LARGE bad ... i am not going to bring religion in it ... cuz there is nothing religious about this issue ... it's culture and tradition ... and we know how mixed that is between is ... so it's all of us together!!
as i briefly mentioned, it's not just the indian subcontinent. it's anywhere where tribal cultures prevail, including the middle east. it's partly the way women are viewed/treated and partly this obsession with honour. i'm sure this was shared by other cultures too.. but they have moved on.
I know two different incidents from my village where girls were burnt "accidently".
here is one i know of,
it was in remote village part of punjab Pakistan, storey goes like this. husband worked in middle east, wife made boyfriend while he is away abroad, husband kept sending money to build their family house, she spent or given that money to boyfriend and his family.
when hubby came back, demanded money to buy the material for construction, she made some excuse for few days until ... she made him to go with her in their old family house away from family, drugged his tea. later invited boyfriend and his father to take care of the husband.. meaning kill him and dumped him under the river bed nearby. all went home, and said the husband is gone with friends to buy bricks etc from another area. she acted calm and kept preparing for eid dresses etc and they had a lovely son too.
weeks after the family and relative got concerned, grilled her and get some truth out of it, on promise of to be forgiven she and her boyfriend helped to find the dead body. that point police was called, guy got arrested and girl was confined in family house to decide for her fate, they decided to recover from shame, to kill her too.
now tell me what she deserved?
husband and herself were first cousins and her other sister was also married to guys brother.
^it's not up to us or her family to decide what she 'deserves'.
she should have been tried for murder as per the law, islamic or otherwise. why was she not also arrested?
her killing was to preserve honour, it had nothing to do with justice.
^it's not up to us or her family to decide what she 'deserves'.
she should have been tried for murder as per the law, islamic or otherwise. why was she not also arrested?
her killing was to preserve honour, it had nothing to do with justice.
i agree with STOPPIT
^ me agrees too!
it’ll take forever for us to get out of this mess … honor killing! HA … makes me laugh! ![]()