This is the third time I have been asked too the previous times I wasnt a citizen so got exemption. This time th thing is I had been secretly wishing I could and I got a notification again today(be careful what you wish for:cb:)
Have any of you ever served as a Juror.Your experience. Mine says that it can be either civil or criminal court.Im thinking it may be some minor case.
Views and experiences please:)??
Re: How Many of you have been on Jury Duty?
Ok first of all, they shouldn't have been calling you if you were not a US citizen. They don't even bother sending you a summon. May be it's different in Texas but in Louisiana they ask you to come only if you are a US citizen.
Anyway, I was called 3 times.
I went and just sat there til around 11 or 12. They didn't have many cases that day and the man kept coming and kept updating us every time a case was settled without the need of Jury. Then he finally let everyone go around noon.
I was going to be in NY the week they called me. I sent them an e-mail and said I can't come as I've already purchased the tickets. I was excused.
Then they called me a few months later. Went there again, this time sat there till around 2-3 but did not get called for any case.
Both times got a $35 check for appearing there. I don't know if you have a job, but if you do, Jury duty is paid time off if you were schedule to work that day.
Never :shoaby:
My cousin who came here from Pakistan a while back didn't want to do it so he wrote them back saying "no speak English" and he was taken off the list LOL
All of a sudden the excitement that I was feeling is wearing off:bummer:
They make you sit that long:hayaa:…Do they provide jurors with refreshments:D( I know I know not in a million years:D)
Its said that to be there by 8am.![]()
I was just reading their procedure of choosing and of all the randomized list three times…And you got called 3 times too…I have heard that some people never get called their whole lives.
So what did you do aiing all that time there?
good good
:D…I do that with telemarketers:D
wow do they really do Justice in USA
ya people have courts there … nice one
@ Ask99:
Yea, they'll have 5-ishtaar food for juuu when juuu go there :D
She aint as hungry as You
Bhookay Bangali ![]()
Tumhe hamesha apni hi fikar rehti hai ![]()
Theek hai, tumhe bhi thora de dooN ga ![]()
Thora kyUn :pcg:
To aur kya poora de dooN ![]()
**First time: **I arrived there on time. Parked (they validated my ticket so parking was free for me) and checked in. Then heard a little 15-minute lecture on how the process will work, what if they actually call you in a courtroom, where the vending machines are, etc. etc. etc. I did not have any book to read (I hate reading any way) nor did I have any other source of entertainment. I think I got the newspaper and read that. They told us to hold on going to lunch because they may simply let us go home, and they did.
Second time: They had renovated their hall. Arrived and checked in. They had little tables and chairs for business users to use their laptops and had provided free internet. Too bad I didn't take my laptop with me. They also had a few TVs so I just watched the TV as I didn't have my PDA at that time. Court trials were taking long as they were handling some murder case. So the guy said you can go to lunch because they won't handle all cases for today by lunch. Then we came back and sat for a while and then he let us go.
Take a magazine or book with you if you like to read. You can also take your laptop with you in case they provide internet connection. If you like music, take your PDA or CD player. Of course take some lunch money :D
Sounds like a boring day like at the hospital:(…I was thinking likein the movies or law ad order episodes:cb:…
Did they ever do the voir dire with you.Like what is the actual procedure.I cant find info online:(…Just stories of people’s day or bahane of not having to go.
You two are hilarious:omg:…![]()
Yeah I’ll be honest and tell you that expect a boring day waiting to welcome you
No they did not do voir dire with me as we didn’t even get to that point. We went, listened to the little speech, then sat, and then eventually were allowed to go.
I have been summoned as well. Infact I got summond over a year ago.
Made an excuse and they reschuduled. Ab jana parray ga musebat.
I am sooooo not looking forward to it.
Well thats not fair…
…I want to sit in something sinister that happened…some criminal and have to have that envelope that says You are not guilty/or not guilty sorta thing:naraz:…and I want some free refreshments like bebsi
Me:p