How many number of clohing pieces should be

**included in jahez?

I’ve from my mom and aunties that back in Pakistan, some girls go up to 101 or 151 pieces ( it’s always in odd number for some weird reason :confused:) which is understandable to some extent because you get to go to SO many daawats and places and attend a number of weddings…

But what do those girls get who live outside of Pakistan and don’t get to wear salwar kameez on a daily basis..Daawats don’t happen every weekend for many of us and if you have to go somewhere almost every weekend or every other weekend, not every crowd is total desi crowd. If you are like me, I get to wear salwar kameez on eid/bakareids ( if I don’t have any exam/test/work that particular day) or when I’m going to a party arranged by family/extended family at house. Otherwise, I’d simply slip jeans and top/kurti on and am all set to go. Therefore, there is no point of getting 100s of clothes when they are gonna be hung somewhere in your closet for years and style/color/pattern goes away

So, how many clothes did you/your sister/cousin/friend have in your(her) wedding? Did jahez include only desi wears or some western pieces were in there too?**

Re: How many number of clohing pieces should be

wishkamar its not necessary to have these number of cloths in dower.... it may vary person to person,, n according to traditions.... one ov ma cozin in scotland had 100 dresses for har jaheiz.... bt i dnt agree wid soooo much number of dresses .... i wud go for 20 to 30 as trend changes in very short span of tym,, n thn v dont like the oldies....

i agree with vanii.. isnt like 100 way too much? I think i had about 15-20 from each side. Maybe a lil more from mum, but not that much. And as vanii said, the styles change all the time. What I had 3 years ago, Im having to tighten everything cus it was made all too big. And to be honest, id rather just buy a new outfit than have to resize everything..

100.. woo!

^^Yeah…And I’ve heard a few of my friends’ married sisters say that they got so many clothes because they don’t visit Pakistan every year or even every other year and they don’t like dresses what others choose for them…

Both sides are right in their own way :bummer:

Right...And gettign your clothes tailored in Pakistan is just as easy as getting new ones made...In Canada, we have yet to find a decent tailor who doesn't charge like $50 for a simple lawn suit.

^ i dont live in pakistan but if you have a good designer based there, u can always get them to make some for you. Its not that hard. :)

wishi it really depends on your lifestyle and the lifestyle of your future in laws... i like that i didn't get an insane amount and can keep shopping wihtout feeling (relatively) guilty...newer styles come out, plus sizes change all teh time..then again, most ppl do not get a chance to go back or can't order online whatever......

or try me .... M vvvvvvvv gd at stitching ;)

I had the same issue as u WK, I had told my mom and my husband to be to get less than 10 dresses each since i live in nyc and will probably never get a chance to wear them. each side ended up getting around 15-20 dresses each and out of those i have only worn around 9-10 so far, its been 3 months. and for some retarded reason my dad and my SIL each decided to get another dress made for me for bakra eid. god! i dont understand why they dont get that i will probably never wear half the dresses in there cuz i already know next time i go to khi ill be getting new dresses made.

the only times ive worn the dresses were when i went to a few dawats in paksitan right after the wedding and then i came back and have worn 2-3 more dresses in nyc. i really only wear them on eid or when we go to family dinners/parties where everyone would be wearing shalwar kameez. i think u should try to get the least amount made!

its really of no use to make such a large number of dresses when u know in fact u r not going to wear them on frequent basis...

dresses from my mother's side were around 40-50 and some of them i stitched and the rest is still packed at my in laws ...bcz ur parents have to give u and i didnt want to miss those elegant indian sarees and lovely indian suits..so i still have them and they r unstitched and whenever i want i can get them stitched...and i feel i did right...

from my in-laws..there were around 20-25 dresses in total...bcz right after my marriage i had to leave so its been almost 4 yrs. mashallah and i still have not worn all of those..not even the ones from my mother's side ..those kaam walay suits.....also ur size,trends,fashion ...they do change...

ya uetian is rite in sm aspect as i olso want 40- 50 dresses fo ma wedding ;) wana avail d chance (greedy me)

WK i was wondering the same things, the other issue is bring them back frm Pakistan to the US...i will prob. have to ship mine since well be going to honeymoon on our way back and dont want to carry all that extra luggage. Anyways another thing i thgt of was to not get really really heavy suits made...since i wont get to wear the heavy stuff at all. so maybe have 20-30 outfits but simple once so if needed they could be wore at a small gathering of friends. i wouldn't bring more thn that since fashion ll change and i wouldn't wanna wear the old style
n as sadzz said it earlier have a designer frm there make u outfits for needed

I think i had around 35 from my ammi and about 8-10 from my hub's family. I feel that these are a lot, MaashaAllah, and i do wear shalwar suits on a regular basis. But dresses from my parents' side included lawn kay suits, cotton, kaam walay kapray, casual silk suits etc as well. Not everything was kaam wala.

My sister on the other hand is about to get married InshaAllah and she doesnt like to wear shalwar suits all that often. So she is getting a lot less made from parents' side but instead getting kurtis made to wear with jeans. She is also getting skirts etc since thats what she will wear most of the time.

I got abut 25 from my mom - I wore a lot of them and they weren't very heavy but quite expensive because of the thread work. Unfortunately I HATED eveything that I got in my bari so ended donating all of them.

I wish I didn't make so many lenghas, sharara type because I only wore then ONCE and what a waste of money and kapra!

^^ donated them all...wow, i knw my bari isn't going to be all that either, but i think my hubby would get upset if i donated without at least wearing them once.

ur husband didn't mind???

101 pieces? is tht like including the shalwar, kameez and duppata seperate? coz otherwise wont the outfit's go out of style?

One of my family friend's recently got married and bought 120+ outfits. And I asked her...do you really think you will wear all of them?? And she's like no, I just liked them! Some people think that since you have money it's acceptable to buy things you know you'll never use. What has the world come to???

I don't think its that big of a deal of how many outfits you get. If i have the money and i liked 100 + outfits i'd get em all too. You only get married once, and if your outfits are all classi go for it!!

rabia3983 - my hubby doesn't excatly KNOW ;)

Dont take toOo many - New fashion alwaiz comez nd 100 suitz will last u couple of yearz sooo hpe u undastand wht am sayinnn :D xXx