How long will it take for a Pakistani company? to reach where Toyota is right now.

Re: How long will it take for a Pakistani company? to reach where Toyota is right now

Is it an irony or an excuse (to not work).

Re: How long will it take for a Pakistani company? to reach where Toyota is right now

You should be asking that of the lazy American workers, who are just not fit enough to do the hard jobs that Chinese, Indians and others are doing now.

Re: How long will it take for a Pakistani company? to reach where Toyota is right now.

yaar you are not getting it, see Britishers are also busy in suicide bombing, too bad they can’t do it in their uniforms in Iraq, working towards civil wars a la tribals who antiobl holds a grudge against, it was so simple you see, so British example is no use :nono:

Re: How long will it take for a Pakistani company? to reach where Toyota is right now.

Retort of the day :D !!!

British automotive companies are considered amongst the best in their field,eg, Rolls Royce, Jaguar, etc

engineering or scientific excellence cannot happen in 4 or 5 years....according to me it takes atleast 1 generation. What USA, japan etc have achieved in terms of technology, they had been doing it for quiet some time. Besides china is doing big in automobiles not just because of their hard work, but also mainly because of outside help. We should see chinese companies colloborating with foreign multinationals like GM, Toyota etc which are usually japanese, american and german companies.

but they have not captured the market share as much as Japanese, plus they are not as profitable. btw, Jaguar is now owned by Ford :)

and rolls royce is owned by BMW, i guess.

Each region of the world can teach you something (if you are willing to learn). If you want to be a Munshi, go to Bharat. If you want to be an industrial power go check out Japan, South Korea, and China. If you want to be a lazy @rse biddu, go check out Palestinians.

British can certainly teach us the art of diplomacy.

This reminds me of a joke about Canada. A Canadian journalist narrated: We in Canada had an opportunity to learn specific traits form three great nations. American technology, British politics, and French culture. Unfortunately what we got was American culture, British technology, and worst of all French politics.

and Bentley as well.

First, to make such giant, its will only be possible if people accept own products are as good as japanese.

in reality,

a normal motor part in 3 qualities, all actually made in Pakistan is marketed as,

1. Japanese,
  2. Taiwan
  3. Taiwan/China

just see the difference if all sold as Made in Pakistan. our vendors are hurting our own image and promoting other countries makes and providing them free marketing and image projection.

Pakistan do have potential to create such companies,

First take pride whatever you make a simple bolt how bad or how good it is. this will build acceptability, confidence too.
many motor parts are actually exported out from Pakistan.

Allow local industry to transfer of technology instead of assembling kits.

prime example is Proton from Malaysia. intially got technology from Mitsubishi. now design and build own cars.
to surprise to all of , this Proton now owns Lotus sports cars group, UK. that provide real support to its new cars.

Right now Toyota in terms of market cap(175 billion) is bigger then the next 3-4 car companies combined. One of the reason for that is they are making good profits. Daimler chrysler comes 2nd in terms of market cap at 55 billion. GM right now is the no.1 producer of cars but since it is not performing well, it's market cap has reduced to 15 billion. Tata motors has a market cap of 8 billion.

I think u have to start from somewhere. Most asian countries started with making cheap cars and then gradually go up the chain.

Yeap! you got it.

Asian manufacturers started making cheap cars but they made real money in selling these cars in "Huge" markets of US (and to a lower degree) in the EU markets.

We certainly have lot of talent and skilled workforce.. I think tech/auto industry are too crowded and fiercly competitive for us right now. We can begin by making capital and once we are rich enuf, we can jump into the fields of technology and automobiles.. The greatest strength of Pakistan is its vast knowledge of Islam and its teaching and the entire middle-east/central asia are huge markets. We can publish books on teachings of Islam/hadith and sell them to muslim countries..
It is pretty annoying everytime I propose this to a Pakistani, he/she strongly disagrees :(

Oh No! Bi Billie Chooha Landora he bhala! (Oh dear cat, little mouse is just fine without this Islamic tail).

Yet another Taj company in the making Mulz! And we are better off without such tajs and hats.

You can earn a lot by exporting, but it is not that easy to sell your product in the west straight away. You have to first have a domestic market for at least 6-7 years. A company would be able to improve the quality of their car gradually, with every year’s exp.

I give you example of Tata motors in India. They did have exp. in making trucks/buses before but nothing much in term of cars. When they first came up with indica, Indians were not happy with the quality. The car did have quite a few problems because at that time they did not have much exp. They did get the feedback from customers and did more testing, reengineered it and came up with Indica V2 in 2 years time which did become popular in India. In around 2003, they started exporting to uk under the brand of rover, and it wasn’t a successful launch. Coz the cars were still not good enough for the European market. Right now they are exporting to South Africa and it is fairly successful there.

The problem with automobile industry is that it is really capital intensive. That is the reason why after more then 100 years of cars, we still have very few car companies world wide. You have to spend million and millions just in r&d and design b4 you can come up with a car. Then you have to have reasonable sale figures in order to recoup the money. Luckily tata motors was backed by Tata industrial group and so they were able to survive in the early stages. I remember tata motors had made a loss of around Rs.500 crores in 2001. But gradually their financial balance improved and now they are making good profits and have revenue of around $ 5 billion.

Janab Antiobl saab, There’s no problem that we need to attack as far as our economy goes.. I guess ppl in Pakistan are much well-fed than the Indians.. We have far more #s of rich in Lahore than Delhi or Bombai put together. Roads, transportation, technology- we are atleast 15-20 years ahead of the Indians. Sikhs who come to visit Nanaka Sahib or Hasanabdal say Pak Punjab is 3-4 times richer and sophisticated than the Indian Punjab and Indian punjab is India’s most successful state :hehe:- If Pakistan does nothing for 15-20 years than it’ll be like India :smiley: I am not in favor of big industries in Pakistan cuz it’ll create economic classes and problems. But I really like your patriotism.. hats off

I never knew that they had a successful motor company in India. They import all their cars from Japan and South Korea. Tata makes oil and soaps :hehe:

The car industry in india is big and is growing quite fast. Most cars in india are manufactured in india. The biggest manufacturers are Maruti, Tata and hyundai. 80% of the cars sold in india are actually manufactured in india. Maruti alone has the market share of 50% in india and all in it’s car are made in india

u joking right…I could not find a single person from Pakistan in the Forbes billionaire list. → forbes.com/billionaires/ There are 23 Indians with net worth of more then 1 billion.

And for your information, in 3 months time there will be 3 indians in the richest top 10 people globally. U must have heard of laxmi mittal at no. 5 with $ 25 billion of net worth. Recently we had an IPO of reliance, which now makes Mukesh Ambani’s net worth $19.9 billion making him the 9th richest person on the planet. Next month there will be the biggest IPO in India’s history of the DLF group. After the ipo, Kushal Pal singh net worth can be anywhere between $19-21 billion.

These are real facts not something I have made up. Stop living in your dream world. I am here not trying to show india is great and pakistan is not. But if u try and show how great is pakistan and keep insulting india, atleast know your facts before you type :).

you brought india into the topic,

:rotfl: …you dont know anything about indian autosector…for your information, tatas took over daewoos truck unit.

http://www.tatamotors.com/

tell me in which sector they are not there…

whether it is software, consulting, engineering services, steel, insurance , oil and what not…and they dont make soaps

Let me draw some parallels for u bhai,we were colonized for how long?80 yrs by the British and that was probably a golden age for us.If u read Middle eastern history,the brits after taking control of Egypt didnt allow egyptians into social and natural sciences and were restricted to vocational and technical colleges bcoz they had seen what educating ur colonized population could do(create muhammad ali jinnahs).
but does that mean we shud have remained a colony forever?that is the real question.I dont think the idea was wrong,but the execution was horrible,since the movement was hijacked immediately after its success by blood sucking parasites and corrupt ppl,from every part of the country.j
and as others have pointed out,japan was way more advanced than other countries by the 1940s,so u can really say that they have a century of experience.Japan isnt a threat to the U.S. now for several reasons.
They arent allowed an army and the U.S. has permanent bases there.They were never allowed A JIHAD as u put it there.the U.S. never threatened their sovereignity bcoz it didnt need any resource.The war with them only started bcoz of Japans industrial ambitions which conflicted with the U.S.'s interest.It didnt want the Japanese to built another army which could threaten their status(japan had the man power to do that) and it has achieved in doing that.
The case in ME is different,there are resources to be exploited and also they fear the rise of another block and an unifying ideology to come from this area.Im not the hizb tehrir enthusiats who wants caliphate to return but theres little denying that given total freedom,the muslim countries would probably cme much close and prosper and become an important economic and industrial hub,damaging their industry by reducing the stuff they sell us and by creating another competitor.
our problems have internal and external causes,but i do agree that its both and the one which we shud handle are the internal problems and then we can turn our attention else where.But unlike most ppl here,i dont believe mushy is the long term answer.he has proven to be dispensable and accomodating.q