ok I get it now .. so basically this dough should be hard knead so that it doesnt turn into a paste, specially if dipped in oil hai na ? I wonder if we have any youtube video’s of this stuff ..
thanks so much Muzna, I am gonna try it for sure In shaa Allah ..
I am sure it works Muzna, ok yes some stuff said my elders may seem like old wives tales .. but I can frankly say that there is no denying the experience that makes the elders believe this stuff .. my mom’s nani did this stuff on her and my mother hasnt had a hair on her arms or legs ! and me, my mother didnt do that magic stuff on me so I was born a chimpanzee and have lived like a chimp too
ammi did the lo’ee for at least the first 40 days..(every day for the first couple of weeks and then at least 3 times a week for the rest)…more if she had control of the child.
and no…doing this will not impact their ability to grow a beard…that’s genes and hormones.
thanks Muzna, I saw that massage video, aunty jee nai aata bana ki rakh dia baby ka but loved watching it .. question : isnt she using too much force on the baby though? … despite the force the baby is looking really happy so I am guessing it doesnt hurt at all .. but still wanted to ask if that kind of force is ok to use on the baby?
Also regards the loee you mentioned .. when is it advisable to start? like after one week of birth or immediately from day one?
no…she’s not using too much force. in fact sometimes the baby does complain and as long as he/she does not start wailing in pain (you will know if this happens) you are okay…provided all things are normal with your baby in shaa Allah.
in fact…ammi used to be a little more rough…she would hold the baby’s head in her hands by gripping just beneath the lower jaw and let the rest of the baby’s body swing…this is meant to lengthen the neck (and we all know that a long neck is a sign of beauty)
not only does this not hurt at all…the babies love it!
it helps with elimination, especially of gas/air and stretches the limbs of the baby as they are so accustomed to being tightly wound up in the belly and in swaddling.
the best timed massages are just before the bath.
wake up from nap → enjoy massage/exercise → bathe → feed → sleep soundly
ok , yeah i just watched another few massage video’s as well and they all use some heavy hand on massage , i guess it helps with the blood flow ..
That neck thing, MIL asked me to do it , but I am scared coz at this point I havnt even handled a baby, let alone let them hang about I guess I will take the less riskier steps , that stretch in the end is really good stuff .. that helps with the muscles as well ..
Not sure about bed rest CB and there is a lot of differing opinions about pillows. To, be on the safe side I bought a cleva mama pillow from Amazon as I’ve heard no pillow can cause flat head. For my nephew we, made a pillow filled with rice. It was not very thick and I have to say MashALLAH he has a gorgeous head.
most people i know have round heads. when my nephew was born he had round head but he was always sick and in hospital most of the time and doctors put him on side as he had issues with airflow, so his head became long. now he is 6 MA and when he has hair cut you can see his head pressed on both sides and his forehead slightly out.
with my daughter i tried to keep her flat most of the time and had dupatta under her neck with knots on the end. i was nt very strict with this but avoided putting her on sides at least for first few months and she doesnt have perfect round head but its luks normal. at least its not long.
its very imp to keep baby flat and slightly press forehead for first few months. i have seen the result of not doing this.
have baby’s head on flat hand, never on arm and while he/she is on your flat hand gently press. try several times every day and never leave your baby on side for long.
i have seen several cases where forhead is more noticable than rest of facial features. and it luks ugly.
when you go out or are close to kids start noting their heads, forehead, you will see what i am trying to say.
^astaghfirullah..facial features of a baby can’t be ugly. I have seen the forehead being prominent but I think she is a beautiful young girl nonetheless.
I asked my mother if she did the nose thingy one me, she said no as sometimes the nose becomes too long after doing it, so even she did nothing, I do have a nice nose mA and so do my kids mA even if we did nothing. My ammi did not do the aata and oil thing and just like muzna I have little hair on my legs or arms so only wax after 3 months.
the hand on the fore head I did not do, but if u think its needed so no harm to try it out.
My MIL does all these things, as she told me about it, the hand on the forehead, nose pressing, pressing of the upper lip area, but I did not go into all that, what mattered to me was the round and gol head, for that I did the pagri method. Oil message is good to but I was very gentle with the baby.
my BIL’s wife told me about atta,nose shaping,lips and forehead,…all these things were new to me…our family doesnt have these rituals…except for head shaping…i had vaginal delivery…i havent applied any of those on my baby…and his head shape was perfect so i didnt need that totka either…
but i have a son…maybe i have done the atta process if i had a daughter:)
we have to remember that above all the genes our baby inherits are of utmost importance and cannot be overridden. if your mother didn’t have a problem with body hair and neither did you then there is a likelihood that your child will not either…provided of course this gene is not prominent in your husband’s family.
so all of these “totkay” are provided as precautions in the event that you need them…not necessarily to do it regardless of need.
^ exactly what Muzna said, there are always high chances that none of these totka’s are required , but incase they are , one could always use them ..
I was talking to a friend this morning and telling her all this knowledge I have collected off here .. she delivered just two weeks back and said the forehead of the baby was fine so didnt use the forehead totka .. but she has major issues with the shape of the head , so told her to read this thread
Knowledge is bliss, using is when its needed is a winner approach. We dont have to use everything , all the time on a baby ..
I don’t think that anyone is saying the child is ugly.
Waisay tau Allah ki bana’ee hui koi bhi cheez ko ugly kehna ghalat aur nashukrapan hai.
But by social standards and norms there are features that, if left unattended, can appear unattractive.
All the babies shown above mA are beautiful in their own way. All of them make you go awwwwww…
Why leave any child with this to live with when it can be remedied…?
Muzna..I have never seen such extreme cases..I will actually blame the doc who forgot to pay attention to such details considering the number of times babies go to the doctor!
Rest assured, I have seen not so round head and I never ever thought that oh I wish their parents had done something!