How important is the financial status?

Re: How important is the financial status?

Of course it matters. The wife has to come with a lot of jahez.

Han yeh bhi hai, kyunnnn nahi sure sure akhir bv ne sari zindagi ghar baith k khaana hi tu hai sirf :halo:.

How important is the financial status?

Financial status dosnt mean that the person has a ton of money. For me it means they are financially stable and will be able to provide for me and Insha'Allah our future family. Also job/business security isn't guaranteed especially in the current economic climate. So I would ensure I look for someone who was hardworking so if something was to go wrong then they would be a)skilled/educated enough to be able to find other work. As in this job wasn't given as a favor or fluke. And b) hardworking/determined enough to get up and look.
All other aspects are of equal importance and striking a balance of all things is crucial.

Yeah, it's important, but go back to the Quran if you're going to dump this on Islam. Allah asks you to find someone steadfast in their deen. I dont recall anything about how much he needs to make.

This beats the argument that it's ok for young guys to get married while they're still in college, a trend that has already been acknowledged in other threads that it's common for guys 20-24 to be looking for a spouse before they even have a degree.

And mind you, you cannot be ENLIGHTENED about your deen without proper schooling. So the person who tends to know a lot of Islamic academics, also tends to be academic, in other words, prizes knowledge, and prefers to get an education, rather than just getting out there to make money, getting himself "financially stable" running a gas station, meanwhile has no etiquette on even speaking.

ahh........you all want guy who is either established, stable, and whatnot........

but if some guy/in-laws look for a girl's potential to be a good care taker / home manager........ you all get offended........how dare they asked/considered about cooking/home making skill

kya akheer qisam ki hypocrite qaum hai.............and then you keep shor machaing k why don't u get rishtay.......

At least one of them should be rich if e other is not ..

Chalo phir theek hai. Can i suggest my driver's son for you? He's educated, religious and he won't have any issues with you working. Please let me know if you are interested so i can pm you the details. They have been dying to find someone as open minded as you who has no issues with how much the guy earns as long as he is good in the other areas.

Financial Stability is a better term to use instead of status.

In Islam, men is the primary bread and butter provider for the household. Its important that if you are marrying someone, he is capable of fulfilling your basic needs (shelter, food, cloths etc). Financial stability should not be the ONLY criteria but it should be one of the things girls and/or their parents should look at.

I'd even go a step farther and say that if you are raised in a RICH family and by nature you are not compromising, you should look for a RICH guy. That will save 2 lives from becoming hell.

p.s par agar rich guy na mile tu :chai:

^ tou koi bhi (excessive ghairat kay baghair) laoo aur ussay ghar jawaaee banoo

Why it's pathetic?

Peace ZareenKhan

Financial Status is not a league for marriage, where you are paired up with members of your own pocket. The only place where it matters is for the woman considering a man for marriage, that if he suffers from deficiency in attractive looks or family name then his good financial status presents itself as a “clue” to his stability.

Financial status of the girl should be immaterial for the man, since he is the breadwinner. If the set of values, principles and beliefs are not compatible then “financial status” is of no importance. So there is obviously an order present here.

Some people gauge “education” as a parameter - but really “education” is another word for “set of values/principles/religion” because from education we formulate our opinions and outlook.

If on the other hand a man a really good looking, has no real financial status, then for a woman from a high background needs to make a sacrifice in order to marry him, in return he should be prepared to maintain her lifestyle as much as possible, but she needs to be prepared to continue sacrificing her habits and create new ones. If he comes from a family of poor reputation the chances are he will not be able to meet her requirements and hence the marriage would lead to divorce or some other disaster.

So:

The make or break reason for marriage is:

1. Deen

But if the Deen is in tact and compatible then you consider the other points:

If a man has none of the three traits:

2), 3) or 4) then the chances are the marriage will collapse so it is not advised to chase such a marriage. Depending on how a woman is orientated i.e. if she is driven by her emotions, or if she is driven by her familial needs or if she is driven by her status these points rise or falls in importance … Thus a woman who is emotionally orientated and the man lacks the ability to be attractive to his wife, then he must have 3) and 4) in order to make it work. However, if he attractive then he needn’t have 3) or 4) and just 2) in order for the marriage to work.

And so on and so forth … Basically I agree “financial status” is a parameter - but in isolation it should not be treated as a deal breaker or deal maker for that matter.

Its pathetic because of the increased incidences of sex before marriage even amongst Muslims. Is it not pathetic?

I'm surprised if the lecturer said 'financial STATUS' was important in marriage. As far as I am aware, scholars recommend getting married asap to avoid haram, on traits such as deen, akhlaaq and so on, despite what the boy is earning because rizq is from Allah and He has determined it for everybody. Of course, in a situation where you have two proposals, both religious and both dependable with the only difference one being more stable than the other, then the choice would be your own and people would prefer someone who has a career/ is able to provide for the family.

Money comes and money goes, what remains is taqwah and good naturedness. :)

nomica
half the time i dont post because you have already said it

well done!

aur agar aapko ghairat bhi kafi aziz ho, tu? :snooty:

I appreciate your taking out your precious time and giving such a detailed reply. However if i understood your post right, you are basically saying the same thing i did?! I never said money is the only criteria but it is one of the important ones. Neither do I think that if other areas are not meeting, you should go ahead and marry somoene just because they are financially stable.

Ok one should get married to avoid haram even if it means you will end up getting divorced quite soon :halo: Which Quran suggests this? Atleast mine don’t.

Not to offend you/anyone but in order to truly understand Quran one has to think logically. Quran is said to have answer/help for each and every matter but that doesn’t mean that it literally will have a list of answers to each and every problem like “hey this is what you have to do if you can’t get a job, etc etc”…You have to connect things and consider the basic principles and moral grounds while seeking direction.

Btw, you are 100% right that rizq is from Allah so why don’t we all just stop working for it? Sit at home and wait to be awarded rizq cuz after all he has promised us that? Kya khayal hai?

Again, i am not saying money is THE most important thing but it definately is important but i would never prioritise it over a better muslim and a better human being.

financial security is very important so the guy can easily afford 4 wives at a time.